France continues team sprint tradition

Germany comes apart, British pull together in finale

The men's team sprint went the way one might have expected, with France continuing its season-long domination of the three-man, three-lap discipline. For Germany the gold medal final was frought with mistakes, while for the French it was another picture perfect performance at warp speed.

It was team sprint gold number five and the sixth rainbow jersey for 26-year-old Grégory Baugé, while for Kévin Sireau, it was the third rainbow jersey in the discipline. It was a special victory which Sireau dedicated to his young son, who was born while the 23-year-old was racing the World Cup in Cali, Colombia.

Michaël d'Almeida, also 23, gained his first career rainbow jersey and became part of a continuing tradition of French sprint champions - the country has now claimed 6 of the last 10 team sprint titles.

The French set a 43.867 en route to gold, a solid wallop to the German's 44.483.

The win was especially sweet for d'Almeida after being part of the team that fell to Germany in the gold medal final last year. "Last year I had the fastest last lap, but our team still took second, and the other years when France won I was not on the team, so this is very satisfying," d'Almeida.

Germany's Max Levy was annoyed that he and his teammates Stefan Nimke and Rene Enders didn't live up to their potential to defend last year's world title. "We didn't show what our main strength is today - to ride as a team - everyone was riding alone so we're not so happy.

"The first lap was great, but I couldn't follow the way I should, and same as our guy in third position. Everyone did a single race, and it's a team sprint - not a single sprint.

"We have to ride as a team again - like we did last year. It's necessary to train together more, more, more. We need some more power training so we can go as a team and everyone can have the slipstream of the rider in front of him."

Sir Chris Hoy led the British squad with Jason Kenny and Matthew Crampton to its second world bronze medal in a row, but rather than show disappointment, the Scot saw the result as a progression and focused on the team's time (44.235 to Australia's 45.241), and looked toward defending the team's 2008 Olympic medal instead.

"I think it's encouraging. The gap [to the other teams] is coming down. Pre-Beijing we didn't win the world title - we haven't won a world title since 2005. I'd happily trade in any gold medals between now and London for the important one in the Olympics.

"I think Jason was a fraction down on the French and Germans at the start, but I think it's our best performance as a team since Beijing. We may have won the odd World Cup, but not been against the strongest opposition, so it's good to get a proper marker of where we are.

"There's a lot of work to be done, we're not unrealistic in that respect, but I think it's encouraging and we'll be looking for areas to improve."

France fastest in qualifying

France has been the fastest group of sprinters throughout the season, and they showed they're still on form by setting the quickest qualifying time in the team sprint, a 43.951.

The big surprise came from Germany, who pipped Great Britain by 27 thousandths of a second to enter the gold medal final. It is the second consecutive year the Olympic champions have failed to contend for the rainbow bands.

It was also Britain's second disappointment of the night after its men's pursuit team was knocked to the bronze medal final. They set a 44.128 to Germany's 44.101, while Australian was at a fairly distant 44.501 to nudge out Russia for the last spot in the final round.

Qualifying Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Michaël D'Almeida  
 Gregory Bauge  
 Kévin Sireau  
 Rene Enders  
 Maximilian Levy  
 Stefan Nimke  
3Great Britain0:00:44.128 
 Matthew Crampton  
 Chris Hoy  
 Jason Kenny  
 Jason Niblett  
 Scott Sunderland  
 Daniel Ellis  
5Russian Federation0:00:44.805 
 Sergey Kucherov  
 Denis Dmitriev  
 Pavel Yakushevskiy  
6New Zealand0:00:45.032 
 Sam Webster  
 Edward Dawkins  
 Ethan Mitchell  
 Hugo Haak  
 Roy Van Den Berg  
 Teun Mulder  
8People's Republic of China0:00:45.112 
 Miao Zhang  
 Lei Zhang  
 Changsong Cheng  
 Kamil Kuczynski  
 Damian Zielinski  
 Maciej Bielecki  
 Kazuki Amagai  
 Yudai Nitta  
 Kazunari Watanabe  
11Czech Republic0:00:45.913 
 Denis Spicka  
 Tomas Babek  
 Adam Ptacnik  
12United States Of America0:00:46.190 
 Dean Tracy  
 Michael Blatchford  
 Giddeon Massie  
 Juan Peralta Gascon  
 Ruben Donet Gregori  
 Itmar Esteban Herraiz  
 Angel Ramiro Pulgar Araujo  
 Cesar Mervin Marcano Sanchez  
 Hersony Gadiel Canelon Vera  
 Josiah Ng Onn Lam  
 Muhammad Edrus Md Yunos  
 Mohd Rizal Tisin  
 Christian Leandro Tamayo Saavedra  
 Ruben Dario Murillo Minota  
 Puerta Zapata Fabian Hernando  
 Konstantinos Christodoulou  
 Zafeirios Volikakis  
 Christos Volikakis  
 Scott Mulder  
 Hugo Barrette  
 Thomas Hums  
Team sprint finals - Gold medal round
 Michaël D'Almeida  
 Gregory Bauge  
 Kévin Sireau  
 Rene Enders  
 Maximilian Levy  
 Stefan Nimke  
Team sprint finals - Bronze medal round
3Great Britain0:00:44.235 
 Matthew Crampton  
 Chris Hoy  
 Jason Kenny  
 Daniel Ellis  
 Matthew Glaetzer  
 Jason Niblett  


Back to top