Australia's Matthews grabs home turf title

Degenkolb secures silver as Phinney sneaks into bronze

Michael Matthews gave Australia its first rainbow of these world championships in the men's under 23 road race on Friday. Matthews outkicked a small field to take the win ahead of John Degenkolb of Germany. In an interesting twist, Guillaume Boivin of Canada literally tied with Taylor Phinney of the United States for third, after digital photo finish equipment could not find a difference between the two on the line. It is the first documented time in the history of the road world championships that there has been a tie for a medal.

"I was really surprised," Matthews said afterwards. "It basically all just came down perfectly for me. A couple of guys hit out a bit early and then the bunch softly started their sprint and I just made sure I got a good run off Phinney's wheel and came round pretty fast. It was a perfect sprint for me."

Taylor Phinney had no complaints about Matthews’ victory. "I was just kind of cross-eyed [in the sprint], and there were a couple of French people around me doing some questionable things," he explained. "I just tried to find an opening and tried to get out there, and then there was this white, yellow and green flash that went by me. But I just focussed on that line and gave it the biggest lunge that I could."

Meanwhile, 3rd-placed Guillame Bouvin was disappointed that he was forced to delay launching his sprint. "It was a perfect [type of] sprint for me, I think," he said. "That is what I am good at. To get a bronze medal is good but it is a bit of a bittersweet feeling, because I knew once I got to the sprint I could win. But I kinda got boxed in and I wasn't able to sprint until 100 metres to go. I gave it my best from there and passed a couple of guys and threw my bike on the line."

How it unfolded

American Ben King started the action in the ten-lap, 159-kilometre race with an attack from the gun that was reminiscent of his winning move in the U.S. Pro Road Championships just two weeks ago. King steadily rode away from the disinterested peloton, with only another Ben King - from Australia - in pursuit. The Australian King was caught by a small chase group and absorbed back into the peloton, but the American King stayed out in front for three-quarters of the race, with his lead growing to over four minutes.

Moreno Moser of Italy eventually bridged up to King, dropping him on one of the climbs, and stayed off the front until the ninth lap, when the Australian team led the leaders across.

A few riders attempted to break away in the final lap and a half, but the top contenders quickly shut them down, setting the stage for an uphill sprint finish. Coming out the final corner for the last 500 metres, the Italian team led out, with Phinney then moving to the front. Matthews came off of Phinney's wheel with 300 metres to go and rocketed to the front, opening a gap that was big enough to allow him to sit up and coast across the line with his arms in the air.

“I just looked to the left and saw that I got it, so it was a perfect sprint for me," a jubilant Matthews explained.

Meanwhile, Degenkolb had a lock on second, but the battle for third saw Boivin surge up the left side and make a tremendous throw at the line to match Phinney. "To the pixel", as one official put it.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michael Matthews (Australia)4:01:23 
2John Degenkolb (Germany)  
3Taylor Phinney (United States Of America)  
3Guillaume Boivin (Canada)  
5Arnaud Demare (France)  
6Sonny Colbrelli (Italy)  
7Laurens De Vreese (Belgium)  
8Sebastian Lander (Denmark)  
9Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spain)  
10Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Russian Federation)  
11Luke Rowe (Great Britain)  
12Siarhei Papok (Belarus)  
13Blaz Jarc (Slovenia)  
14Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania)  
15Stefano Agostini (Italy)  
16David Boily (Canada)  
17Sylwester Janiszewski (Poland)  
18Mikel Landa Meana (Spain)  
19Yonathan Monsalve (Venezuela)  
20Egidijus Juodvalkis (Lithuania)  
21Arnaud Papillon (Canada)  
22Yannick Eijssen (Belgium)  
23Nélson Oliveira (Portugal)  
24Georg Preidler (Austria)  
25Massimo Graziato (Italy)  
26Rafal Majka (Poland)  
27George Bennett (New Zealand)  
28Dmitriy Ignatyev (Russian Federation)  
29Sebastian Balck (Sweden)  
30Vegard Stake Laengen (Norway)  
31Joel Zangerle (Luxembourg)  
32Blaz Furdi (Slovenia)  
33Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodriges (Russian Federation)  
34Ki Ho Choi (Hong Kong, China)  
35Tom Jelte Slagter (Netherlands)  
36Andi Bajc (Slovenia)  
37Daniel Schorn (Austria)  
38Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Colombia)  
39Tobias Ludvigsson (Sweden)  
40Jesus Herrada Lopez (Spain)  
41Piotr Gawronski (Poland)  
42Eduard Alexander Beltran Suarez (Colombia)  
43Adrian Honkisz (Poland)  
44Higinio Fernandez (Spain)  
45Romain Hardy (France)  
46Ho Ting Kwok (Hong Kong, China)  
47Kanstantsin Klimiankou (Belarus)0:00:28 
48Ying Hon Yeung (Hong Kong, China)  
49Enrico Battaglin (Italy)0:00:42 
50Tony Gallopin (France)0:00:46 
51Jimmi Sorensen (Denmark)0:01:04 
52Malcom Rudolph (Australia)  
53Pawel Poljanski (Poland)  
54Javier Eduardo Gomez Pineda (Colombia)  
55Vegard Robinson Bugge (Norway)  
56Jonathan Mcevoy (Great Britain)  
57Sébastien Reichenbach (Switzerland)  
58Chris Butler (United States Of America)  
59Julien Vermote (Belgium)  
60Jelle Wallays (Belgium)  
61Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eritrea)  
62Christopher Juul Jensen (Denmark)0:02:01 
63Joseph Lewis (Australia)0:02:22 
64Alex Howes (United States Of America)  
65Shem Rodger (New Zealand)0:02:40 
66Arman Kamyshev (Kazakhstan)  
67Vladislav Gorbunov (Kazakhstan)  
68Daniil Fominykh (Kazakhstan)  
69Jean-Lou Paiani (France)  
70Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Japan)  
71Ronan Van Zandbeek (Netherlands)0:02:50 
72Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Colombia)0:03:07 
73Andreas Hofer (Austria)0:03:13 
74Michel Koch (Germany)  
75Alexei Tsatevitch (Russian Federation)  
76Rohan Dennis (Australia)  
77Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland)  
78Philipp Ries (Germany)  
79Boy Van Poppel (Netherlands)0:05:30 
80Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands)  
81Marko Kump (Slovenia)  
82Matthias Krizek (Austria)0:05:35 
83Enzo Moyano (Argentina)0:05:39 
84Silver Schultz (Estonia)0:05:40 
85Moreno Moser (Italy)0:05:46 
86Geoffrey Soupe (France)0:06:04 
87Jovan Zekavica (Serbia)0:08:52 
88Andrei Krasilnikau (Belarus)0:10:07 
89Marco Sérgio Dias Coelho (Portugal)  
90Domingos André Maciel Gonçalves (Portugal)  
91Luka Mezgec (Slovenia)  
92Arthur Van Overberghe (Belgium)  
93Hugo Houle (Canada)0:12:38 
94Recep Unalan (Turkey)0:16:40 
95Evaldas Siskevicius (Lithuania)0:17:12 
96Daniel Egeland Jarstø (Norway)0:21:32 
97King Lok Cheung (Hong Kong, China)  
DNFDavid Hesselbarth (Germany)  
DNFMaximilian May (Germany)  
DNFLuke Durbridge (Australia)  
DNFCoen Vermeltfoort (Netherlands)  
DNFPim Ligthart (Netherlands)  
DNFBenjamin King (Australia)  
DNFFábio Silvestre (Portugal)  
DNFRyohei Komori (Japan)  
DNFKohei Uchima (Japan)  
DNFDaniel Diaz (Argentina)  
DNFJan Tratnik (Slovenia)  
DNFAlex Dowsett (Great Britain)  
DNFAndrew Fenn (Great Britain)  
DNFBenjamin King (United States Of America)  
DNFJohan Le Bon (France)  
DNFOystein Stake Laengen (Norway)  
DNFRasmus Christian Quaade (Denmark)  
DNFSilvan Dillier (Switzerland)  
DNFMichaël Baer (Switzerland)  
DNFMichael Vink (New Zealand)  
DNFAndrew Talansky (United States Of America)  
DNFNikita Novikov (Russian Federation)  
DNFAriel Sivori (Argentina)  
DNFMartin Mahdar (Slovakia)  
DNFCarter Jones (United States Of America)  

Related Articles

Back to top