Neff claims Albstadt World Cup victory

Swiss rider extends World Cup lead

Jolanda Neff (Stoeckli) extended her lead in the women's Cross-country World Cup with her second straight victory on Sunday, in Albstadt, Germany.

Known for its steep climbs and tricky descents, Albstadt has caught many riders by surprise after going out too hard in the early laps and then fading.

Neff attacked on the first climb and no one could stay with her. Defending Albstadt champion Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabo Liv) led the chase for one lap but then had to pull out of the race due to an injury she has been dealing with. However, at that point Neff was already 56 seconds ahead of her chasers.

Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Multivan Merida) and world champion Pendrel took up the chase, but for the first half of the race could only manage to hold Neff at a minute. In the second half of the race they began to slowly reel the Swiss rider in, but it was 'too little, too late', as Neff rolled across the line to take her second win. Dahle Flesjaa outsprinted Pendrel to take second.

"Well, I didn't start so quickly," explained Neff. "I waited the whole start loop, and I only went in the first big lap. So I think that made a bit of a difference, so I could save myself some energy at the beginning of the race and I could pull through to the finish."

"That's the way I like it best [riding alone at the front], because then I never have to fight for the downhill to be first and I can always ride my speed. That makes it very good for me to find my own rhythm and hopefully don't blow myself up."

"It is absolutely awesome that I will be riding in the leader's jersey in Lenzerheide [Round 3], which is my home World Cup. That's a big goal for me and I am looking forward very much to that race."

Neff leads the overall standings with a perfect score of 500 points, followed by Dahle Flesjaa with 400 and Pendrel at 310.

Full results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jolanda Neff (Swi) Stoeckli Pro Team1:36:07 
2Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor) Multivan Merida Biking Team0:00:28 
3Catharine Pendrel (Can) Luna Pro Team0:00:30 
4Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing0:01:16 
5Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) Kross Racing Team0:01:27 
6Helen Grobert (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing0:01:41 
7Irina Kalentyeva (Rus) Moebel Maerki Mtb Pro Team0:01:44 
8Rebecca Henderson (Aus) Trek Factory Racing0:01:59 
9Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Racing0:02:09 
10Esther Suss (Swi) Wheeler - Ixs Team0:02:18 
11Sabine Spitz (Ger)0:02:36 
12Blaza Klemencic (Slo) Habitat Mountainbiketeam0:03:04 
13Linda Indergand (Swi) Focus Xc Team0:03:14 
14Annika Langvad (Den) Specialized Racing0:03:35 
15Githa Michiels (Bel) Versluys Team0:03:51 
16Yana Belomoina (Ukr) Betch.Nl Superior Brentjens Mtb Racing Team0:04:13 
17Eva Lechner (Ita) Team Colnago Sudtirol0:04:27 
18Anne Terpstra (Ned) Habitat Mountainbiketeam0:04:38 
19Barbara Benko (Hun) Focus Xc Team0:04:50 
20Kate Fluker (NZl)0:05:12 
21Annie Last (GBr)0:05:30 
22Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Rose Vaujany Fueled By Ultrasports0:05:59 
23Erin Huck (USA) Scott-3Rox Racing  
24Corina Gantenbein (Swi) Haibike Oetztal Pro Team0:06:33 
25Tanja Zakelj (Slo) Unior Tools Team0:06:51 
26Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team0:07:28 
27Chloe Woodruff (USA)0:07:38 
28Ekateryna Anoshina (Rus) Rusvelo0:07:41 
29Adelheid Morath (Ger) Bh-Sr Suntour-Kmc0:07:56 
30Alice Pirard (Bel) Merida-Wallonie Mountain Bike Team0:08:21 
31Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Haibike Oetztal Pro Team0:08:46 
32Jovana Crnogorac (Srb) Salcano Cappadocia0:09:02 
33Marine Groccia (Swi)0:09:23 
34Peta Mullens (Aus)0:09:26 
35Katrin Leumann (Swi) Ghost Factory Racing0:10:22 
36Hanna Klein (Ger) Bh-Sr Suntour-Kmc0:10:42 
37Serena Calvetti (Ita)0:11:05 
38Sandra Walter (Can)0:11:15 
39Janka Keseg Stevkova (Svk)  
40Raiza Goulao-Henrique (Bra)  
41Mikaela Kofman (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing  
42Nina Wrobel (Ger)  
43Karla Stepanova (Cze)  
44Agustina Maria Apaza (Arg)  
45Sabrina Enaux (Fra)  
46Laura Metzler (Fra) Btwin Mtb Racing Team  
47Mary Mcconneloug (USA)  
48Jitka Skarnitzlova (Cze)  
49Anna Oberparleiter (Ita)  
50Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)  
51Isabella Moreira Lacerda (Bra)  
52Anna Villar Argente (Spa)  
53Hielke Elferink (Ned)  
54Rocio Martin Rodriguez (Spa)  
55Aurelia Perry (Fra)  
56Mariske Strauss (RSA) Novus Omx Pro Team  
57Cindy Montambault (Can)  
58Florence Darbellay (Swi)  
59Nadine Rieder (Ger)  
60Lucie Vesela (Cze) Gt Bikeplac Opportunity  
61Katrin Schwing (Ger)  
62Helle Haugaard Jessen (Den)  
63Noelia Rodriguez (Arg)  
64Cherie Vale (RSA) Novus Omx Pro Team  
65Lucia Vazquez Crespo (Spa)  
66Marta Pastore (Ita) Team Piemonte Fci  
67Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr)  
DNFAleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol)  
DNFElisabeth Osl (Aut) Ghost Factory Racing  
DNFClaudia Galicia Cotrina (Spa)  
DNFPauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Raboliv  
DNFKerry Macphee (GBr)  
DNFTereza Hurikova (Cze) Superior Mtb Team  
DNFChengyuan Ren (Chn) China Jiangsu Zgl Mtb Team  
World cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jolanda Neff (Swi) Stoeckli Pro Team500 pts
2Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor) Multivan Merida Biking Team400 
3Catharine Pendrel (Can) Luna Pro Team310 
4Irina Kalentyeva (Rus) Moebel Maerki Mtb Pro Team250 
5Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing235 
6Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) Kross Racing Team235 
7Helen Grobert (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing230 
8Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Racing220 
9Rebecca Henderson (Aus) Trek Factory Racing220 
10Annika Langvad (Den) Specialized Racing218 
11Linda * Indergand (Swi) Focus Xc Team170 
12Blaza Klemencic (Slo) Habitat Mountainbiketeam163 
13Esther Suss (Swi) Wheeler - Ixs Team161 
14Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Raboliv160 
15Sabine Spitz (Ger)160 
16Eva Lechner (Ita) Team Colnago Sudtirol144 
17Githa Michiels (Bel) Versluys Team138 
18Annie Last (GBr)138 
19Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team134 
20Tanja Zakelj (Slo) Unior Tools Team132 
21Barbara Benko (Hun) Focus Xc Team132 
22Yana Belomoina (Ukr) Betch.Nl Superior Brentjens Mtb Racing Team130 
23Anne Terpstra (Ned) Habitat Mountainbiketeam110 
24Chloe Woodruff (USA)106 
25Erin Huck (USA) Scott-3Rox Racing104 
26Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Rose Vaujany Fueled By Ultrasports98 
27Adelheid Morath (Ger) Bh-Sr Suntour-Kmc98 
28Peta Mullens (Aus)90 
29Corina Gantenbein (Swi) Haibike Oetztal Pro Team81 
30Isabella Moreira Lacerda (Bra)77 
31Marine Groccia (Swi)74 
32Alice Pirard (Bel) Merida-Wallonie Mountain Bike Team73 
33Jovana Crnogorac (Srb) Salcano Cappadocia70 
34Elisabeth Osl (Aut) Ghost Factory Racing68 
35Karla Stepanova (Cze)67 
36Kate Fluker (NZl)66 
37Ekateryna Anoshina (Rus) Rusvelo66 
38Raiza Goulao-Henrique (Bra)66 
39Anna Oberparleiter (Ita)65 
40Hanna Klein (Ger) Bh-Sr Suntour-Kmc64 
41Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Haibike Oetztal Pro Team61 
42Chengyuan Ren (Chn) China Jiangsu Zgl Mtb Team58 
43Nina Wrobel (Ger)58 
44Janka Keseg Stevkova (Svk)58 
45Sandra Walter (Can)52 
46Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol)48 
47Sabrina Enaux (Fra)47 
48Jitka Skarnitzlova (Cze)45 
49Agustina Maria Apaza (Arg)43 
50Mary Mcconneloug (USA)39 
51Mikaela Kofman (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing38 
52Katrin Leumann (Swi) Ghost Factory Racing36 
53Serena Calvetti (Ita)32 
54Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)31 
55Hielke Elferink (Ned)29 
56Paula Gorycka (Pol) 4F-Scott Racing Team26 
57Cindy Montambault (Can)26 
58Anna Villar Argente (Spa)24 
59Laura Metzler (Fra) Btwin Mtb Racing Team22 
60Pavlina Sulcova (Cze)21 
61Nataliia Krompets (Ukr) Isd Mtb Team20 
62Rocio Martin Rodriguez (Spa)14 
63Aurelia Perry (Fra)13 
64Mariske Strauss (RSA) Novus Omx Pro Team12 
65Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut) Habitat Mountainbiketeam12 
66Florence Darbellay (Swi)10 
67Tereza Hurikova (Cze) Superior Mtb Team10 
68Nadine Rieder (Ger)9 
69Cherie Vale (RSA) Novus Omx Pro Team9 
70Lucie Vesela (Cze) Gt Bikeplac Opportunity8 


Back to top