Brosnan defends world championship title

Silver and bronze medals go to Austria and France

Australia's Troy Brosnan successfully defended his junior downhill world championship title on Sunday afternoon in Champery, Switzerland. David Trummer (Austria) won silver while Guillaume Cauvin (France) earned bronze."It was raining all morning but I wanted to attack it like it was dry," said Brosnan. "I didn't have any mistakes, and I won. I'm so happy. I can't believe it."

Cauvin was the first of the medallists to race. He was timed at 4:15.945.

Trummer set the bar high with a relatively early run down the slippery, wet mountain. He stopped the clock at 4:03.691 as the 20th rider to compete. He run came just after the racing action was paused for about one hour while an injured rider was taken off the mountain by a helicopter.

It wasn't until Brosnan went, as the third to last rider, that Trummer had to step down from the hot seat. The Aussie, who is also the junior downhill World Cup champion, finished in 3:51.503, just over 12 seconds faster than Trummer. He was the only junior to break four minutes.

Brosnan had a clean run overall. "I had a good run today and tried to stay smooth. The other juniors crashed, but I kept it on my two wheels and came across the line in front," he said.

"This season has been good. I got my first World Cup podium [including the elites - ed.] in Val di Sole and was eighth overall. Getting the junior world championship capped off a good season."

"I couldn't ask for more. Going into next season with the big boys is going to be fun," said Brosnan, who will move up in 2012.

Neko Mulally (United States) won silver last year, but finished 47th today. "I took it like a run I thought I could. It was really slick and I don't think anyone expected that. I got caught up in the nets toward the top, and I couldn't come back from that - I lost so much time getting out. It was a difficult race, but I tried my best."

Full Results

Junior men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Troy Brosnan (Australia)0:03:51.503 
2David Trummer (Austria)0:00:12.188 
3Guillaume Cauvin (France)0:00:19.294 
4Lewis Buchanan (Great Britain)0:00:20.796 
5Loic Bruni (France)0:00:22.235 
6Rafael Gutiérrez (Colombia)0:00:22.635 
7Luke Stevens (Canada)0:00:23.781 
8Reuben Olorenshaw (New Zealand)0:00:27.233 
9Arthur Parret (France)0:00:30.282 
10Slawomir Lukasik (Poland)0:00:31.062 
11Faustin Figaret (France)0:00:33.613 
12Jan Uruba (Czech Republic)0:00:35.806 
13Ludovic Oget (France)0:00:36.079 
14Connor Fearon (Australia)0:00:36.287 
15Mark Scott (Great Britain)0:00:37.177 
16Phillip Piazza (Australia)0:00:38.499 
17Juan Manuel Orrego Castano (Colombia)0:00:39.385 
18David Mcmillan (Australia)0:00:40.558 
19Daniel Franks (New Zealand)0:00:43.536 
20Carlo Caire (Italy)0:00:45.799 
21Brandon Yrttiaho (Australia)0:00:49.582 
22Riley Suhan (Canada)0:00:49.844 
23Ben Power (Australia)0:00:50.634 
24Dan Sheridan (Ireland)0:00:51.119 
25Tiaan Odendaal (South Africa)0:00:54.532 
26Maxime Chapuis (Switzerland)0:00:55.530 
27Gavin Carroll (Ireland)0:00:57.112 
28Rudy Cabirou (France)0:00:58.172 
29Ville Ormo (Finland)0:00:58.390 
30Reece Potter (New Zealand)0:00:59.740 
31Freddy Hunziker (Switzerland)0:01:03.952 
32Carlos Castro (Portugal)0:01:04.462 
33Nick Bygate (New Zealand)0:01:05.073 
34Joe Vejvoda (Australia)0:01:08.164 
35Antoine Bagnoud (Switzerland)0:01:10.807 
36Jonas Bernet (Switzerland)0:01:14.285 
37Kyle Sangers (Canada)0:01:19.339 
38Christian Wright (United States Of America)0:01:20.625 
39Adi Van Der Merwe (South Africa)0:01:20.810 
40Jan Cepelak (Czech Republic)0:01:21.193 
41Peter Mlinar (Slovenia)0:01:21.421 
42Tim Hedman (Sweden)0:01:31.401 
43Philipp Bünnemann (Germany)0:01:33.948 
44Martin Knapec (Slovakia)0:01:39.176 
45Jordan Hodder (Canada)0:01:50.691 
46Joonas Savolainen (Finland)0:01:52.533 
47Neko Mulally (United States Of America)0:01:54.841 
48Alasdair Fey (South Africa)0:01:59.556 
49Ondrej Stepanek (Czech Republic)0:02:17.609 
50Christopher Mcglinchey (Ireland)0:02:24.267 
51Ilya Bogachev (Russian Federation)0:03:10.563 
52Isak Leivsson (Norway)0:03:40.219 
DNFStanislav Sehnal (Czech Republic)  
DNFJay Barrett (New Zealand)  
DNFKiran Mackinnon (United States Of America)  
DNFRomain Contreres (France)  
DNSAustin Hackett Klaube (United States Of America)  
DNSAram Raoof (Poland)  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1France154 pts
5Great Britain95 
8Czech Republic70 
10South Africa59 
15United States Of America29 
21Russian Federation6 


Back to top