Baestaens best in Belgium

Belgian sprints to victory over Meisen, takes World Cup lead

Vincent Baestaens (Belgium) won the first round of the UCI's cyclo-cross World Cup for the Men Under 23 riders in Koksijde, Belgium. The Belgian won a two-man sprint from Marcel Meisen (Germany). European champion Lars van der Haar (Netherlands) completed the podium.

In cold but sunny weather six riders separated themselves from the rest of the field early on. At halfway Vinnie Braet (Belgium) got dropped while Meisen and Wietse Bosmans (Belgium) were struggling to keep up with the pace set by Van der Haar, Baestaens and Belgian champion Jim Aernouts.

None of these three riders was able to set a pace that created definitive gaps and on the home straight the pace always dropped back.

For Meisen, that was the moment to rejoin the leaders. The German did that almost every lap until the group hit the final lap. Then the German moved up and in the difficult sand section he even took the lead. Behind him mistakes were made and suddenly it seemed Meisen would win the World Cup round.

“I choose to ride at the back of the group to save energy. During the last lap the sand section was crucial and the win was almost in the bag but then I made a mistake,” Meisen told Cyclingnews.

Baestaens caught up with Meisen before the final obstacles and in the sprint he easily powered away from the German.

“Today I was a bit lucky but I did take the race in my hands. I believed in my chances and in the finale I was able to get back to the leader on my own. The sprint wasn't fast. The one with the most left in his tank won it,” Baestaens said.

As a result Baestaens will sport the jersey of World Cup leader on home soil in Kalmthout during the second round of the Men U23 World Cup.

1Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Belgium0:55:42 
2Marcel Meisen (Ger) Germany  
3Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Netherlands0:00:04 
4Jim Aernouts (Bel) Belgium0:00:15 
5Wietse Bosmans (Bel) Belgium0:00:39 
6Joeri Adams (Bel) Belgium0:00:47 
7Vinnie Braet (Bel) Belgium0:00:58 
8Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Netherlands0:00:59 
9Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Belgium-B0:01:04 
10Tijmen Eising (Ned) Netherlands0:01:23 
11Sean De Bie (Bel) Belgium0:01:38 
12Matthieu Boulo (Fra) France0:01:46 
13Marek Konwa (Pol) Poland0:01:47 
14Micki Van Empel (Ned) Netherlands0:01:53 
15Sven Beelen (Bel) Belgium-B0:02:01 
16Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Czech Republic0:02:10 
17Matteo Trentin (Ita) Italy0:02:46 
18Ole Quast (Ger) Germany0:02:47 
19Angelo De Clercq (Bel) Belgium-B  
20Melvin Rulliere (Fra) France0:02:49 
21Jens Adams (Bel) Belgium-B0:02:51 
22Irwin Gras (Fra) France0:02:58 
23Théo Dumanchin (Fra) France0:03:00 
24Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Netherlands0:03:18 
25Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Netherlands0:03:27 
26Michael Schweizer (Ger) Germany0:03:37 
27Mirko Tabacchi (Ita) Italy0:03:39 
28Kenneth Hansen (Den) Denmark0:03:43 
29Matthias Bossuyt (Bel) Belgium-B0:03:49 
30Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Belgium-B0:03:58 
31Michael Winterberg (Swi) Switzerland0:05:11 
32Luca Braidot (Ita) Italy0:05:21 
33Alexandre Billon (Fra) France0:05:34 
34Radek Polnicky (Cze) Czech Republic0:05:35 
35Michael Boros (Cze) Czech Republic0:05:39 
36Valentin Scherz (Swi) Switzerland0:06:12 
37Théo Vimpere (Fra) France0:06:14 
38Jan Nesvadba (Cze) Czech Republic0:07:12 
39Daniel Summerhill (USA) United States of America0:07:57 
40Max Walsleben (Ger) Germany0:08:12 
41Emilien Barben (Swi) Switzerland0:08:20 
42Elia Silvestri (Ita) Italy0:08:38 
43Dario Stauble (Swi) Switzerland0:08:45 
44Jerome Townsend (USA) United States of America  -2laps
45Jeremy Ferguson (USA) United States of America  
46Scott Thiltges (Lux) Luxembourg  
47Vincent Dias Dos Santos (Lux) Luxembourg  
48Wojciech Herba (Pol) Poland  -3laps
DNFBryan Falaschi (Ita) Italy  
DNFJonas Schau Guddal (Den) Denmark  
DNFArnaud Grand (Swi) Switzerland  
DNFTomas Paprstka (Cze) Czech Republic  
DNFKarel Hnik (Cze) Czech Republic  
World Cup standings after round 1
1Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Belgium60pts
2Marcel Meisen (Ger) Germany50 
3Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Netherlands45 
4Jim Aernouts (Bel) Belgium40 
5Wietse Bosmans (Bel) Belgium35 
6Joeri Adams (Bel) Belgium30 
7Vinnie Braet (Bel) Belgium28 
8Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Netherlands26 
9Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Belgium-B24 
10Tijmen Eising (Ned) Netherlands22 
11Sean De Bie (Bel) Belgium20 
12Matthieu Boulo (Fra) France19 
13Marek Konwa (Pol) Poland18 
14Micki Van Empel (Ned) Netherlands17 
15Sven Beelen (Bel) Belgium-B16 
16Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Czech Republic15 
17Matteo Trentin (Ita) Italy14 
18Ole Quast (Ger) Germany13 
19Angelo De Clercq (Bel) Belgium-B12 
20Melvin Rulliere (Fra) France11 
21Jens Adams (Bel) Belgium-B10 
22Irwin Gras (Fra) France9 
23Théo Dumanchin (Fra) France8 
24Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Netherlands7 
25Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Netherlands6 
26Michael Schweizer (Ger) Germany5 
27Mirko Tabacchi (Ita) Italy4 
28Kenneth Hansen (Den) Denmark3 
29Matthias Bossuyt (Bel) Belgium-B2 
30Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Belgium-B1 
Back to top