TechPowered By

More tech

UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup #3 2010

Date range:
November 27, 2010

November 27, Elite Women:

Compton triumphs in Koksijde

Brecht Decaluwé
November 27, 2010, 13:31 GMT,
November 27, 2010, 18:46 GMT

Van den Brand takes over World Cup lead

Katie Compton (Planet Bike) won for the third time in her career at Koksijde, Belgium.

Katie Compton (Planet Bike) won for the third time in her career at Koksijde, Belgium.

view thumbnail gallery

US national champion Katie Compton (Planet Bike) won the third round of the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Koksijde, Belgium with a dominant ride on the sandy course.

The American beat runner-up Daphny van den Brand ( by 2:27, with Sanne van Paassen (BrainWash) rounding out the top three 19 seconds later. For Compton it was her third victory in Koksijde, which will host the 2012 world championships. It's her second World Cup win of the season and her eighth career victory in the World Cup. However, due to Compton's absence in Plzen, Van den Brand is the new leader of the World Cup.

“I felt good and my skills were on,” Compton said after her win. “After my not so good start I was patient until I had the space to move up. I waited half a lap and then I went forward. It's easier to be leading on a hard course like this one. I kept thinking that I got to keep pushing,” Compton said.

Van Paassen tried hard to stay with Compton but after completing the opening lap the young Dutch woman trailed the US-champion by eight seconds. Hanka Kupfernagel (Itera-Stevens) and Daphny van den Brand ( were chasing together twenty seconds further back.

From there on Compton kept clocking lap times that were at least half a minute faster than her rivals. She simply outclassed the competition with an impressive combination of great skills on and off the bike, combined with sheer power. European champion Van den Brand was able to bridge across to Van Paassen but they kept losing time to Compton. Van Paassen needed to finish second to secure her leader's place in the World Cup but she ran out of gas. Van den Brand claimed second place and the World Cup leader's jersey but lost almost two and a half minutes to Compton after just 45 minutes of racing.

“More than two minutes, that's a lot,” Van den Brand said. “I wouldn't consider it to be a fair showing of our ability. During the first laps I felt cold and I couldn't do anything. I also couldn't click into my right pedal which was bothered me a lot. I had to pedal with one leg and hop off the bike much earlier than wanted on the dunes. I didn't have my day,” Van den Brand said.

Cant wins the battle for fourth

Almost a minute behind Van Paassen the battle for fourth place was contested between Kupfernagel, Sophie de Boer (, Pavla Havlikova, Christel Ferrier-Brunea and young Belgian champion Sanne Cant (BKCP-Powerplus). Eventually it was the Cant who emerged to take fourth.

“I went better through the sand as the race went on. In the last lap I led the group but crashed. I expected everybody to pass me but when I looked back they were still trailing me by 50 metres,” Cant said.

Kupfernagel won the sprint for fifth place ahead of De Boer. She told Cyclingnews she lacked race rhythm and stamina, especially since the race went well over the forty minutes.

Full Results
1 Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike-Stevens Bikes 0:45:08  
2 Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 0:02:27  
3 Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash 0:02:46  
4 Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 0:03:21  
5 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Itera-Stevens 0:03:40  
6 Sophie de Boer (Ned) 0:03:41  
7 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team 0:03:48  
8 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 0:03:51  
9 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona 0:04:04  
10 Sabrina Schweizer (Ger) 0:04:34  
11 Linda van Rijen (Ned) 0:05:04  
12 Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team 0:05:07  
13 Caroline Mani (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 0:05:27  
14 Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) 0:05:36  
15 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:05:53  
16 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 0:06:18  
17 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash 0:06:24  
18 Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 0:06:28  
19 Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNER 0:06:38  
20 Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC    
21 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 0:06:58  
22 Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) APB Cycling Team 0:07:33  
23 Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 0:07:52  
24 Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) 0:07:56  
25 Martina Zwick (Ger) 0:08:28  
26 Helena van Leijen (Ned)  -1lap  
27 Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)    
28 Ellen Van Loy (Bel)    
29 Gertie Willems (Bel)    
30 Daniela Bresciani (Ita)    
31 Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team  -2laps  
32 Nikoline Hansen (Den)    
33 Nathalie Nijns (Bel)    
34 Katrien Thijs (Bel) Edegem Bicycle Club V.Z.W.    
35 Nicoletta Bresciani (Ita)    
36 Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Hitec Products UCK    
37 Vicki Thomas (Can) Disasterrecovery.Com    
DNF Suzie Godart (Lux) Fenixs-Petrogradets    
DNF Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)    
World Cup standings after 3 rounds
1 Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 150 pts
2 Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash 145  
3 Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike-Stevens Bikes 120  
4 Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 94  
5 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 90  
6 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona 89  
7 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team 87  
8 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 84  
9 Sophie de Boer (Ned) 78  
10 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Itera-Stevens 70  
11 Caroline Mani (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 66  
12 Linda van Rijen (Ned) 56  
13 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 52  
14 Sabrina Schweizer (Ger) 51  
15 Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) 44  
16 Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC 42  
17 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash 41  
18 Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team 40  
19 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 39  
20 Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 34  
21 Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNER 29  
22 Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru 28  
23 Amy Dombroski (USA) Luna Pro Team 24  
24 Martina Zwick (Ger) 23  
25 Jana Kyptova (Cze) 22  
26 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) 20  
27 Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 19  
28 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 15  
29 Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) APB Cycling Team 15  
30 Martina Mikulaskova (Cze) 13  
31 Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) 7  
32 Gertie Willems (Bel) 7  
33 Helena van Leijen (Ned) 5  
34 Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned) 4  
35 Daniela Bresciani (Ita) 3  
36 Dorota Warczyk (Pol) 2  
37 Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team 1  
38 Francesca Cucciniello (Ita) Guerciotti 1