TechPowered By

More tech

November 24, Junior Men: Koksijde

Van der Poel cruises to victory in Koksijde

Brecht Decaluwé
November 24, 2012, 11:17 GMT,
November 24, 2012, 15:22 GMT

Hermans and Budding second and third

Dutch ace Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) continued his winning streak in the junior men’s category this season by taking his 13th victory of the season at the Cyclo-cross World Cup in Koksijde. On the same sand course where he captured the world championship title back in January, Van der Poel slaughtered the opposition in the third World Cup round of the season.

“It’s going well,” Van der Poel said. “I took a good start and rode a quick first lap. I tried to make sure the gap grew straight away.”

Once again Quinten Hermans (Belgium) was best of the rest, 1:35 behind the winner. Martijn Budding (Netherlands) joined his compatriot van der Poel on the podium, finishing two minutes later.

Van der Poel thus strengthens his lead in the World Cup, holding the maximum of 180 points after three rounds. Hermans lies second overall with 150 points. Budding and Logan Owen (USA) are tight in third place with 115 points. “Fifth isn’t great but on the course that suits me worst of all it’s not bad,” Owen said of his showing in Koksijde.

After the first lap, van der Poel had twenty seconds on first chaser Hermans, with Owen confirming his good results by riding in third position. “They tried to make me chase van der Poel early on but it’s not up to me to do that,” Owen told Cyclingnews. The American faded back to fifth place during the second lap with Budding and Yannick Peeters (Belgium) leaving him behind. “I was unable to use all gears but didn’t want to switch bikes as it was too fast at the pit,” Owen said. Nicolas Cleppe (Belgium) put the pressure on Owen for fifth place, nearly catching up after the third lap.

Meanwhile, after his super fast first lap, van der Poel shifted back although he was still clocking steadily fast lap times while his rivals kept going slower. “A couple of times I got frustrated with myself because some passages didn’t go too well. It’s a challenge to be up there every time,” van der Poel said after grabbing his thirteenth consecutive win.

The positions in the top 6 remained the same from the third lap on until the finish after six laps of racing in the Koksijde dunes. The battle for seventh place was fought out between a group of seven riders, including Curtis White (USA). “I felt really good early on but paced myself because I felt I was probably overdoing it. In the final lap I attacked the group but bobbled. I caught back on but didn’t have anything left for the finale,” White told Cyclingnews, shortly after finishing tenth in Koksijde.

Full Results
1 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Netherlands 0:45:17  
2 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Belgium 0:01:35  
3 Martijn Budding (Ned) Netherlands 0:02:02  
4 Yannick Peeters (Bel) Belgium 0:02:41  
5 Logan Owen (USA) United States 0:02:57  
6 Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Belgium 0:03:10  
7 Karel Pokorny (Cze) Czech Republic 0:03:33  
8 Kobe Goossens (Bel) Belgium 0:03:36  
9 Marco König (Ger) Germany 0:03:42  
10 Curtis White (USA) United States 0:03:48  
11 Thijs Aerts (Bel) Belgium-B 0:04:25  
12 Stijn Caluwe (Bel) Belgium-B 0:04:43  
13 Jan Vastl (Cze) Czech Republic 0:05:00  
14 Leo Vincent (Fra) France 0:05:15  
15 Elias Van Hecke (Bel) Belgium-B 0:05:23  
16 Richard Jansen (Ned) Netherlands 0:05:41  
17 Adam Toupalik (Cze) Czech Republic    
18 Dominic Grab (Swi) Switzerland 0:06:14  
19 Michal Paluta (Pol) Poland 0:06:22  
20 Thomas Joseph (Bel) Belgium 0:06:39  
21 Bjorn van der Heijden (Ned) Netherlands 0:07:22  
22 Ward Van Laer (Bel) Belgium-B 0:07:40  
23 Karel Svrcina (Cze) Czech Republic 0:07:50  
24 Gianni Van Donink (Bel) Belgium-B 0:08:08  
25 Jack Ravenscroft (GBr) Great Britain 0:08:19  
26 Adam King (GBr) Great Britain 0:08:22  
27 Sébastien Havot (Fra) France 0:08:39  
28 Jonas Degroote (Bel) Belgium-B 0:09:39  
29 Simon Vozar (Svk) Slovakia   -1lap  
30 Lukas Meiler (Ger) Germany    
31 Kamil Malecki (Pol) Poland   -2laps  
32 Lucas Wollenhaupt (Ger) Germany    
33 Valentin Ortillon (Fra) France    
34 Jake Womersley (GBr) Great Britain    
35 Sebastian Canecky (Svk) Slovakia    
36 Ken Mueller (Lux) Luxembourg    
37 Matthew Hargroves (GBr) Great Britain   -3laps  
38 Paul Lindenau (Ger) Germany    
39 Piotr Rzeszutek (Pol) Poland    
40 Luc Turchi (Lux) Luxembourg    
41 Manuel Müller (Ger) Germany    
42 Lukasz Manski (Pol) Poland    
43 Magnus Skjoth (Den) Denmark   -5laps  
World Cup standings after three rounds
1 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Netherlands 180 pts
2 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Belgium 150  
3 Martijn Budding (Ned) Netherlands 115  
4 Logan Owen (USA) United States 115  
5 Karel Pokorny (Cze) Czech Republic 99  
6 Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Belgium 95  
7 Kobe Goossens (Bel) Belgium 70  
8 Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Italy 58  
9 Ben Boets (Bel) Belgium 52  
10 Marco König (Ger) Germany 49  
11 Richard Jansen (Ned) Netherlands 45  
12 Jan Vastl (Cze) Czech Republic 44  
13 Clement Russo (Fra) France 44  
14 Adam Toupalik (Cze) Czech Republic 44  
15 Curtis White (USA) United States 42  
16 Bjorn van der Heijden (Ned) Netherlands 42  
17 Dominic Grab (Swi) Switzerland 41  
18 Yannick Peeters (Bel) Belgium 40  
19 Elie Gesbert (Fra) France 38  
20 Elias Van Hecke (Bel) Belgium 32  
21 Thomas Joseph (Bel) Belgium 31  
22 Benoit Cosnefroy (Fra) France 27  
23 Michal Paluta (Pol) Poland 24  
24 Lukas Meiler (Ger) Germany 23  
25 Thijs Aerts (Bel) Belgium 20  
26 Stijn Caluwe (Bel) Belgium 20  
27 Karel Svrcina (Cze) Czech Republic 20  
28 Leo Vincent (Fra) France 17  
29 Moreno Pellizzon (Ita) Italy 17  
30 Simon Vozar (Svk) Slovakia 13  
31 Adrian Auerbacher (Ger) Germany 12  
32 Giulio Franzolin (Ita) Italy 10  
33 Ward Van Laer (Bel) Belgium 9  
34 Manuel Müller (Ger) Germany 9  
35 Filip Kubin (Cze) Czech Republic 8  
36 Martin Dejmek (Cze) Czech Republic 8  
37 Gianni Van Donink (Bel) Belgium 7  
38 Jack Ravenscroft (GBr) Great Britain 6  
39 Dominik Vrana (Cze) Czech Republic 6  
40 Adam King (GBr) Great Britain 5  
41 Roman Lehky (Cze) Czech Republic 5  
42 Sébastien Havot (Fra) France 4  
43 Simon Vitzthum (Swi) Switzerland 4  
44 Jonas Degroote (Bel) Belgium 3  
45 Kamil Malecki (Pol) Poland 3  
46 Manuel Todaro (Ita) Italy 3  
47 Lukasz Manski (Pol) Poland 1