Van Der Haar dominates in Tabor

Silvestri, Teunissen step on podium

U23 world champion Lars van der Haar (Netherlands) lived up to the high expectations by dominating the first round espoir men's World Cup in Tabor.

Halfway through the race Van der Haar distanced Elia Silvestri (Italy) and then went on to build up a huge lead over the competition at the finish line. Silvestri barely managed to hold off Mike Teunissen (Netherlands) for second place. US rider Zach McDonald (Rapha Focus) finished tenth in Tabor.

Van der Haar simply crushed the opposition in Tabor. Silvestri did all he could to follow the Dutch rider who recently won Cross Vegas in the USA. Behind the leading duo a group of thirteen riders battled for third place. McDonald was among this group and in the third lap he set up a breakaway attempt together with Belgians Vinnie Braet and Wietse Bosmans.

While the leaders had a gap of half a minute, the trio was reeled back in by the other chasers during the fourth lap. In front Silvestri realized it wasn’t possible to stay with Van der Haar and the Italian took his foot from the gas. Silvestri quickly lost 15 seconds on Van der Haar but kept the same gap on the other chasers.

In that chase group, home rider Jan Nesvadba sneaked away, once again with Belgians Braet and Bosmans but also this attempt failed.

During the final laps Van der Haar simply extended his lead while Silvestri was starting to lose ground on the large chase group. Teunissen stormed forward in the penultimate lap together with Bosmans, Braet, Nipl Vojtech (Czech Republic), Gert-Jan Bosman (Netherlands) and McDonald.

Van der Haar eased off in the end and simply captured the win. Silvestri had just enough left in his tank to hold on to his second place. The battle for third place was won by Teunissen, just ahead of Bosmans and Arnaud Grand (Switzerland). McDonald was in the mix for third place all race long but lost ground in the final lap, finishing tenth.

Full results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.0:50:44 
2Elia Silvestri (Ita) Italy0:00:44 
3Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.0:00:47 
4Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:48 
5Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet - Fidea0:00:51 
6David Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus  
7Vojtech Nipl (Cze) TJ Stadion Louny  
8Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb Revor0:00:52 
9Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.  
10Zach McDonald (USA) Team Rapha-Focus0:00:54 
11Jan Nesvadba (Cze) Madeta - Fitness / Specialized0:00:56 
12Karel Hnik (Cze) Telenet - Fidea0:01:07 
13Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:01:08 
14Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb Revor0:01:24 
15Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) France  
16Stan Godrie (Ned) Netherlands  
17Micki Van Empel (Ned) Telenet - Fidea0:01:33 
18Tomáš Paprstka (Cze) Remerx Cycling Team Kolín  
19Lubomír Petruš (Cze) Kc Hlinsko0:01:47 
20Yannick Mayer (Ger)0:01:51 
21Luca Braidot (Ita) Italy0:01:53 
22Tim Merlier (Bel) Sunweb - Revor0:01:56 
23Igor Smarzaro (Ita) Italy0:01:57 
24Radek Polnický (Cze) Empella Czech Team0:02:01 
25Sven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb - Revor0:02:04 
26Michael Boroš (Cze) Cyklo Team Tábor0:02:05 
27Kenneth Hansen (Den)0:02:12 
28Bryan Falaschi (Ita) Italy0:02:27 
29Michael Schweizer (JR)0:02:59 
30Jakub Skála (Cze) Cyklo Team Tábor0:03:15 
31Irwin Gras (Fra) France0:03:26 
32Toni Bretschneider (Ger) Germany0:03:35 
33Marek Rauchfuss (Cze) Remerx Cycling Team Kolín0:03:42 
34Emil Arvid Olsen (Den)0:04:02 
35Max Walsleben (Ger) Germany0:04:25 
36Enno Quast (Ger)  
37Constantin Liebenow (Ger) Germany0:05:19 
38Domenico Maria Salviani (Ita) Italy0:05:49 
39Bartosz Pilis (Pol) Poland0:07:02 
40Marek Michalec (Svk) Slovakia0:07:15 
41 (-1 lap)Jaroslav Chalas (Svk) Dukla Trencin Merida  
42Patryk Kostecki (Pol) Poland  
43Wojciech Malec (Pol) Poland  
44 (-2 laps)Mateusz Chmurzewski (Pol) Poland  
45Matis Preimanis (Lat) Latvia  
46 (-3 laps)Kamil Wolkowicz (Pol) Poland  

U23 Men - World Cup standings after 1 round

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Netherlands60 pts
2Elia Silvestri (Ita) Italy50 
3Mike Teunissen (Ned) Netherlands45 
4Wietse Bosmans (Bel) Belgium40 
5Arnaud Grand (Swi) Switzerland35 
6David Van Der Poel (Ned) Netherlands30 
7Vojtech Nipl (Cze) Czech Republic28 
8Vinnie Braet (Bel) Belgium26 
9Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Netherlands24 
10Zach Mcdonald (USA) United States22 
11Jan Nesvadba (Cze) Czech Republic20 
12Karel Hnik (Cze) Czech Republic19 
13Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Belgium18 
14Tijmen Eising (Ned) Netherlands17 
15Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) France16 
16Stan Godrie (Ned) Netherlands15 
17Micki Van Empel (Ned) Netherlands14 
18Tomas Paprstka (Cze) Czech Republic13 
19Lubomir Petrus (Cze) Czech Republic12 
20Yannick Mayer (Ger) Germany11 
21Luca Braidot (Ita) Italy10 
22Tim Merlier (Bel) Belgium9 
23Igor Smarzaro (Ita) Italy8 
24Radek Polnicky (Cze) Czech Republic7 
25Sven Beelen (Bel) Belgium6 
26Michael Boros (Cze) Czech Republic5 
27Kenneth Hansen (Den) Denmark4 
28Bryan Falaschi (Ita) Italy3 
29Michael Schweizer(Jr) (Ger) Germany2 
30Jakub Skala (Cze) Czech Republic1 
Back to top