Nibali wins Trofeo Melinda

Liquigas rider beats Borisov and Visconti in finale

Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Doimo) has won the Trofeo Melinda and staked a claim for a place in Paolo Bettini's Italian team for the world championships in Australia. The Sicilian was among the pre-race favourites and in the final rise to the line at Fondo he proved too strong for Vladislav Borisov (Amore & Vita) and Italian champion Giovanni Visconti (ISD-Neri) to take a fine victory.

“This victory brings me happiness and tranquillity,” Nibali said afterwards. “In a week’s time, I’m facing an important challenge at the Vuelta a España and I couldn’t have asked for a better confidence booster.”

It was a hard-fought victory for the Liquigas rider in the hills of Trentino. Just 43 riders finished the race, with Giro d’Italia winner Ivan Basso among those to abandon. Entering the final kilometre, Patrick Sinkewitz (ISD-Neri) was alone in front, but just as he was captured, his teammate Visconti jumped past on the final drag to the line. For a moment it looked as though he was about to repeat last year’s victory in this race, but instead it was Nibali who timed his effort to perfection to take a great win.

“I won with my legs and with my head,” Nibali explained. “My teammates were fantastic in bringing back the breakaway and I didn’t want their work to be in vain. In the finale I brought back Pozzovivo and Visconti, and then I went early to surprise Borisov. I knew I only had one chance and I didn’t waste it.”

The Trofeo Melinda was Nibali’s sixth win of a fine season that has already seen him finish on the podium at the Giro d’Italia. “I’ve gained more faith in my own potential, as well as the knowledge that I can compete with everybody,” the Sicilian said. “This year I’m winning a lot and I’m winning well, and I hope to be able to get some more satisfaction between now and the end of the season.”

One contented onlooker was Italian national coach Paolo Bettini. He had been vocal in his criticism of the Italian riders at the Tre Valli Varesine during the week, but he was a considerably happier man at the finish line in Fondo after Visconti’s impressive display. “I have no negative remarks in my notebook, I enjoyed it,” Bettini smiled at the finish line. “You only have to look at Vincenzo’s results, as well as his shape and performances to realise how reliable he is by now.”



#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo4:49:00 
2Vladislav Borisov (Rus) Amore & Vita - Conad  
3Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD - Neri  
4Francesco Failli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
5Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
6Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) ISD - Neri  
7Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Miche  
8Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
9Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Androni Giocattoli0:00:15 
10Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
11Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
12Maxime Monfort (Bel) Team HTC - Columbia  
13Thomas Peterson (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
14Cristiano Salerno (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:00:30 
15Francesco Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:00:32 
16Luca Zanasca (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere0:00:36 
17Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) ISD - Neri0:00:45 
18Giairo Ermeti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:00:46 
19Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
20Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
21Jure Golcer (Slo) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:01:00 
22Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli0:01:15 
23Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli0:01:40 
24Giogrio Brambilla (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:02:50 
25Michele Scarponi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
26Tejay Van Garderen (USA) Team HTC - Columbia0:03:20 
27Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone0:05:10 
28Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
29Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:05:15 
30Reto Hollenstein (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
31Ruslan Pydgornyy (Ukr) ISD - Neri  
32Christian Meier (Can) Garmin - Transitions  
33Aristide Ratti (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
34Diego Caccia (Ita) ISD - Neri  
35Bernardo Colex Tepoz (Mex) Amore & Vita - Conad  
36Luciano Barindelli (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
37Alexander Mironov (Rus) Itera-Katusha  
38Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
39Cayetano José Sarmiento Tunarrosa (Col) Acqua & Sapone  
40Andrea Tonti (Ita) CarmioOro NGC0:06:00 
41Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team HTC - Columbia  
42Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) Team HTC - Columbia  
43Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  


Related Articles

Back to top