Serpa wins Trofeo Laigueglia

Lampre man out-sprints Sinkewitz in Liguria

José Serpa continued Lampre-Merida's fine start to the 2014 season by winning the Trofeo Laigueglia, beating Patrik Sinkewitz (Meridiana-Kamen) in a two-up sprint, while Andrea Pasqualon (Team Area Zero) led the chasers home in 3rd place.

Serpa laid the foundations for his victory by following Sinkewitz's attack on the day's final major climb, the Cima Paravenna, in the company of Matteo Rabottini (Neri Sottoli-YellowFluo). The pace soon proved too much for Rabottini, but Sinkewitz's forcing helped to pull Serpa away from the reduced main peloton.

"Sinkewitz was the strongest on the climb, and Rabottini and I struggled to hold his wheel," Serpa admitted afterwards.

By the summit of the Paravenna, with over 35 kilometres still to race, they held a 34-second margin over Rabottini, while Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Merida) led the bunch over the top a further 14 seconds back.

On the long, sweeping descent back towards the coast, Serpa and Sinkewitz extended their advantage over the bunch still further, and they led by some 1:08 with 25 kilometres to go.

At the base of the descent, the chasing group, which now contained 26 riders, finally began to arrange itself into some semblance of cohesion, with the Cannondale team of Marco Marcato and Davide Villella making particular efforts to peg back the two leaders. By contrast, with Serpa up the road, Lampre-Merida’s two leaders Cunego and Diego Ulissi were able to comfortably in the chasing group, poised in the event of a catch.

Try as they might, however, the pursuers could not make sufficient inroads into Serpa and Sinkewitz's lead. With 8 kilometres remaining, their lead was down to 45 seconds, but they put up fierce resistance over the final hillock, the Capo Santa Croce, to maintain almost 30 seconds of that margin by the time they entered the final kilometre.

In a tense sprint in Laigueglia, Serpa had just too much for Sinkewitz, thus claiming Lampre’s second win in the race in as many years after Filippo Pozzato’s victory twelve months ago.

Andrea Pasqualon won the sprint for third, 13 seconds later, holding off Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF), Ulissi and Villella.

The race took place on a route that was slightly altered from the traditional parcours due to a recent landslide on the Capo Mele, but in general terms, the character of the ambient Ligurian race maintained unchanged.

The early exchanges were enlivened by a break featuring Robinson Chalapud (Colombia), Simone Petilli (Zero Pro), Songezo Jim (MTN-Qhubeka) and Christophe Laborie (Bretagne-Séché), who went clear on the Balestrino. Once their lead hit the 7-minute mark, Neri Sottoli-YellowFluo and Cannondale began to take up the chase in earnest, and their 105km-long escape was brought to an end on the run-in to the foot of the Parvenna.

Once on the climb proper, Serpa and Sinkewitz picked up the baton and began to force the issue, and the pair would go on to decide the race in Laigueglia.

"I was even dropped with two kilometres to go, but fortunately Sinkewitz didn't realise and even lowered the pace," Serpa admitted, according to Tuttobici. “"When I got back on I didn't collaborate because I had a big responsibility to Ulissi behind, who could have won. The sprint was easy, because Sinkewitz was very tired."


Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Lampre-Merida6:17:43 
2Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Meridiana Kamen Team  
3Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team0:00:12 
4Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
5Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
6Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale  
7Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale  
8Marco Marcato (Ita) Cannondale  
9Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Yellow Fluo  
10Franco Pelizzotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
11Mauro Finetto (Ita) Yellow Fluo  
12Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Colombia  
13Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement  
14Sergei Pomoshnikov (Rus) Rusvelo  
15Guillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
16Fabio Taborre (Ita) Yellow Fluo  
17Nicola Gaffurini (Ita) Vega - Hotsand  
18Axel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
19Luca Wackermann (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
20Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team  
21Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
22Patrick Facchini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
23Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida  
24Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Cannondale  
25Jarlinson Pantano Gomez (Col) Colombia  
26Angelo Pagani (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:00:18 
27Carlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia0:00:20 
28Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale0:00:39 
29Fabio Chinello (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team0:02:37 
30Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
31Romain Feillu (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement  
32Martin Reimer (Ger) MTN - Qhubeka  
33Jeffry Johan Romero Corred (Col) Colombia  
34Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Marchiol Emisfero  
35Rafael Andriato (Bra) Yellow Fluo  
36Stefano Tonin (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team  
37Matteo Collodel (Ita) Team Idea  
38Viesturs Luksevics (Lat) Amore & Vita - Selle SMP  
39Mads Christensen (Den) Cult Energy Vital Water  
40Gianluca Mengardo (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team  
41Alessandro Mazzi (Ita) Utensilnord  
42Alessandro Malaguti (Ita) VIN  
43Daniel Paulus (Aut) VIN  
44Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) AG2R La Mondiale  
45Kanstantsin Klimiankou (Blr) Amore & Vita - Selle SMP  
46Leonardo Fabio Duque (Col) Colombia  
47Pierpaolo De Negri (Ita) VIN  
48Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Christina Watches Powered By Dana  
49Christophe Laborie (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement  
50Jay Robert Thomson (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
51Stake Vegard Laengen (Nor) Bretagne - Seche Environnement  
52Pierre Luc Perrichon (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement  
53Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
54Johann Van Zyl (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
55Alessandro Pettiti (Ita) Team Idea  
56Lorenzo Di Remigio (Ita) MG Kvis - Trevigiani  
57Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
58Julian Kern (Ger) AG2R La Mondiale  
59Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale  
60Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Christina Watches Powered By Dana  
61Francesco Failli (Ita) Yellow Fluo  
62Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
63Benoit Jarrier (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement  
64Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
65Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
66Simone Petilli (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team  
67Niccolò Bonifazio (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
68Matej Mohoric (Slo) Cannondale  
69Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani CSF0:02:45 
70Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) Team Idea0:02:50 
71Davide Mucelli (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team  
72Francesco Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
73Matteo Busato (Ita) MG Kvis - Trevigiani  
74Enrico Rossi (Ita) Christina Watches Powered By Dana  
75Simone Antonini (Ita) Marchiol Emisfero0:06:40 
76Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodr (Rus) Lokosphinx0:07:43 
77Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle SMP0:08:05 
78Matteo Spreafico (Ita) Team Idea  
79Gennaro Maddaluno (Ita) Utensilnord  
80Constantino Zaballa Gutierr (Spa) Christina Watches Powered By Dana  
81Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN - Qhubeka  
82Marc Garby (Den) Christina Watches Powered By Dana  
83Troels Ronning Vinther (Den) Cult Energy Vital Water  
84Andrei Solomennikov (Rus) Rusvelo  
85Artem Topchanyuk (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Selle SMP  
86Ivan Balykin (Ita) Rusvelo  
87Evgeny Shalunov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
88Alexander Vdovin (Rus) Lokosphinx  
89Michael Reihs (Den) Cult Energy Vital Water  
90Juraj Sagan (Svk) Cannondale  
91Emanuel Kiserlovski (Cro) Meridiana Kamen Team  
92Michael Woods (Can) Amore & Vita - Selle SMP  
93Alessio Camilli (Ita) Vega - Hotsand  
94Lasse Bochmann (Den) Cult Energy Vital Water  
95Alessio Taliani (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
96Christian Delle Stelle (Ita) Team Idea  
97Alessandro Riccardi (Ita) Vega - Hotsand  
98Robinson Eduar Chalapud Gome (Col) Colombia  
99Ricardo Pichetta (Ita) Team Idea  
100Luca Chirico (Ita) MG Kvis - Trevigiani  


Related Articles

Back to top