Summerhill takes the win for K-Edge/Felt

Johnson in second, Eckmann third

Daniel Summerhill (K-Edge/Felt Bicycles) has won the second of two races on day two of the Trek CXC Cup on Sunday. The more flowing and open course on day two made for thrilling racing and resulted in a tight three-up sprint with Summerhill coming in ahead of Timothy Johnson (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and Yannick Eckmann (California Giant Berry Farms/Sp).

Ryan Trebon (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld) took the hole shot, but it was Danny Summerhill (K-Edge-Felt) who went to work early to establish a lead group of eight.

Summerhill took a decidedly relaxed approach to racing on day two, "The less pressure I can put on myself the more fun I can have with it, and generally, the better the outcome for me," said Summerhill. "Today I didn't even warm up or anything, I was just doing wheelies in the parking lot, not really thinking about the race, and it was heaps better than what I could pull out yesterday."

Notably absent from the lead group was day one race winner Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus). On the third lap a group of three emerged containing Tim Johnson (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld), Yannick Eckman
(Cal-Giant-Specialized) and the hard charging Summerhill. Raleigh-Clement riders Ben Berden and Jamie Driscoll headed up the chase group of six.

With seven to go the group of three swelled to five with Berden and Driscoll joining Summerhill, Eckman, and Johnson. At five to go Driscoll was driving the lead group with Powers surging to close the gap to the leaders.

With four laps to go the lead group was shrunk to three again with the familiar faces of Summerhill, Johnson, and Eckman at the front. At the Bontrager ride up, Trebon had nearly closed up the gap with Berden, Driscoll, and Shawn Milne (Keough Cyclocross p/b Felt) in close attendance.

Tim Johnson's attack with two to go sorted out the final selection and Eckman and Summerhill were able to follow the elder statesman's wheel. "The course was pretty relentless," said Johnson. "Stand-up, sit down, stand-up, brake, always on the gas. Danny started off great and he finished great.

Really I had no chance coming around him. I tried to get up next to him going into the final straight away, but we hit the straight away and he just powered away."

At the bell lap, the challenging off-camber section saw a group of four emerge with Berden joining the lead group. The group of four stayed together for the final and in the four-up sprint, it would be Summerhill who took the win, Johnson second, Eckman third, Berden fourth. Trebon rolled in for fifth.


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Daniel Summerhill (USA) K-Edge/Felt Bicycles 1:01:15  
2 Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld    
3 Yannick Eckmann (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Sp    
4 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement 0:00:03  
5 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld 0:00:09  
6 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 0:00:18  
7 James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement 0:00:24  
8 Shawn Milne (USA) Keough Cyclocross p/b Felt Bicy 0:00:57  
9 Allen Krughoff (USA) Donnelly Sports 0:01:28  
10 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit St 0:01:40  
11 Tristan Schouten (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit St 0:01:44  
12 Isaac Neff (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:02:00  
13 Tobin Ortenblad (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Sp 0:02:13  
14 Matt Shriver (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:02:51  
15 Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Sp 0:03:17  
16 Corey Stelljes (USA) RACC pb GG 0:03:24  
17 Eric Thompson (USA) Mt Borah Epic Team/Appleman Bic 0:03:27  
18 Jeff Kluck (USA) Queen City Cycling 0:03:47  
19 Tom Burke (USA) Wolverine Sports Club 0:04:05  
20 Kevin McConnell (USA) Mercy-Specialized 0:04:39  
21 Chad Hartley (USA) RACC pb GG 0:04:44  
22 Kevin Bradford-Parish (USA)    
23 Dan Teaters (USA) Racers Against Childhood Cancer 0:05:30  
24 Alexander Martin (USA) KS Energy Services / Team Wisco 0:05:52  
25 Matthew Allen (USA) Behind-Bars/LGR -1 laps  
26 Travis Braun (USA) Magnus -2 laps  
27 Micah Moran (USA) Trek Midwest Team -2 laps  
28 Dallas Fowler (USA) KUHL -2 laps  
29 Bryan Fosler (USA) KS Energy Services / Team Wisco -3 laps  
30 Maxwell Ackermann (USA) ISCorp p/b Intellgentsia Coffee -3 laps  
31 Lionel Rocheleau (USA) Racers Against Childhood Cancer -3 laps  
32 Mark Norton (USA) KS Energy Services / Team Wisco -4 laps  
33 Ross White (USA) Team Wisconsin -4 laps  
34 William Street (USA) KUHL -5 laps  
DNF Colin Osborn (USA) Honey Stinger/Bontrager Off Roa    
DNF David Reyes (USA) Heritage Race Club    
DNS Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus    
DNS Robert Kendall (USA) Papa John's Racing Team    
DNS Jesse Rients (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective    
DNS Spencer Haugh (USA) Behind-Bars/LGR    
DNS Lee Unwin (USA)    


Back to top