Dawit Haile wins stage 3 in Muhanga

Ndayisenga remains overall race leader

A final corner crash just 200m before the finish line on stage three of the Tour of Rwanda brought down race leader Valens Ndayisenga along with four other riders who were undone by the slippery roads. Dawit Haile remained upright to win the 127.5km stage with the fallers all given the same time as the Eritrean.

The top four riders on general classification remaining unchanged with Rwanda Karisimbi riders occupying the podium positions.

"I was disappointed. I did not anticipate the corner, we were moving at a high speed. But again my spirits were lifted when people came and lifted me up. I am encouraged that we still have the yellow jersey," race leader Ndayisenga said after the stage.

"Hopefully tomorrow I will have recovered well to compete for Muhanga-Rubavu stage, even though I know it is the longest and most challenging."

Stage four takes the riders from Muhanga in the Southern Province to the Western Province district of Rubavu 126.4km later.



Stage 3 brief results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dawit Araya Haile (Eri) Eritrea3:30:34 
2Jean-Bosco Nsengimana (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi  
3Thomas Terrettaz (Sui) Team Meubles Decarte  
4Berhane Melake (Eri) AS.BE.CO Cycling Team  
5Patrick Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda-Akagera  
6Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi  
7Amanuel Ghebreizgabhier (Eri) AS.BE.CO Cycling Team  
8Valens Ndayisenga (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi  
9Million Amanuel (Eri) Eritrea  
10Lahcen Saber (Mar) Maroc  
General classification after stage 3
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Valens Ndayisenga (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi10:02:48 
2Jean-Bosco Nsengimana (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:00:59 
3Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:01:03 
4Mekseb Debesay (Eri) Bike Aid-Ride for Help  
5Amanuel Ghebreizgabhier (Eri) AS.BE.CO Cycling Team0:01:09 
6Aron Debretsion (Eri) AS.BE.CO Cycling Team  
7Million Amanuel (Eri) Eritrea0:01:12 
8Bereket Yemane (Eri) Eritrea0:01:13 
9Patrick Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda-Akagera0:01:21 
10Dawit Araya Haile (Eri) Eritrea0:01:32 


Back to top