April 3, 2016, Brugge, Flanders, Road - WorldTour

The Tour of Flanders celebrates its 100th edition in 2016 with two three-time winners, Tom Boonen and Fabian Cancellara both starting as favourites for another title. The Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg climbs were the decisive climbs in the parcours that was virtually the same to that of 2015.

But it was world champion Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) who took the initiative in the race, attacking his rivals well before the final two ascents and then distancing his companions Michal Kwiatkowksi and Sep Vanmarcke to claim his first career Monument victory.

Read the live report and the full race report.

Read also:

2016 Tour of Flanders Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team6:10:37 
2Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek-Segafredo0:00:25 
3Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:00:28 
4Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha0:00:49 
5Luke Rowe (GBr) Team Sky  
6Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
7Imanol Erviti (Spa) Movistar Team  
8Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step  
9Dimitri Claeys (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
10Niki Terpstra (Ned) Etixx - Quick-Step  

Tour of Flanders 2015 | Tour of Flanders 2014 | Tour of Flanders 2013 | Race history

Back to top