Bronzini wins Chongming Island World Cup

Third World Cup win for Wiggle-Honda in 2015

Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle-Honda) won the fifth round of the World Cup series at Chongming Island in China on Sunday. The Italian, former world champion, won the bunch sprint to the finish line ahead of Kirsten Wild (Hitec Products) and Fanny Ribérot (France).

“We were together for the lead out for Chloe [Hosking] but there was some chaos before the last corner that divided us, so I remained with Nettie [Edmondson] in my wheel,” Bronzini said. “At 700 metres to go the best thing was go out in the right side to pull for a sprint, but I had no space so I decided to wait.

“At 300 metres to go I checked behind me and also Nettie wasn't in my draft so I decided to defend my position and keep Wild’s wheel,” she said “Fortunately for me there was a strong head wind and she had to take a long sprint, so I could come out the last moment.”

Current World Cup series overall leader Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) was not present at the event, however, there was no change to the standings. She is still leading the series with 290 points, Annemiek van Vleuten (Bigla) has 226 and Jolien D’hoore (Wiggle-Honda) has 220 points. Bronzini's win marks the third World Cup win for Wiggle-Honda after D'hoore won the opening round at the Ronde van Drenthe and Elisa Longo Borghini won Tour of Flanders.

The Chongming Island World Cup, which followed the Tour of Chongming Island won by Wild on Friday, offered a 125km race that started and finished in Chongming. Much of the race was active with many attacks but none were successful in holding time on the field. The most successful breakaway included Hongyu Liang (China Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling) and Anastasia Chulkova (Bepink Laclassica), who managed to gain one minute but they were reeled back in with seven kilometres to go.

Teams Hitec Products, with defending champion Wild, Bigla with their sprinter Shelley Olds and Wiggle-Honda with Bronzini and Hosking held the race together in anticipation of a fierce bunch kick.

Bronzini relied on her Wiggle-Honda lead-out train to take her with in a few hundred metres of the finish line, where she was relatively uncontested for the World Cup victory in the final sprint.

“I really think that that win depended on the amazing sprit that there is in the team with staff too,” Bronzini said. “Together we can!”

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda3:09:45 
2Kirsten Wild (Ned) Hitec Products  
3Fanny Riberot (Fra) France  
4Shelley Olds (USA) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
5Lotta Lepistö (Fin) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
6Kim De Baat (Ned) - Zannata  
7Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
8Annalisa Cucinotta (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
9Roxane Fournier (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
10Jutatip Maneephan (Tha) Thailand  
11Larisa Pankova (Rus) Astana - Acca Due O  
12Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
13Yue Bai (Chn) ChIndonesia Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling  
14Aude Biannic (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
15Hyunji Kim (Kor) Korea  
16Michela Pavin (Ita) Servetto Footon  
17Hyeong-Yeong Kang (Kor) Korea  
18Annette Edmondson (Aus) Wiggle Honda  
19Iris Sachet (Fra) France  
20Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) France  
21Chloe Hosking (Aus) Wiggle Honda  
22Huang Ting Ying (Tpe) Taiwan  
23Eugénie Duval (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
24Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
25Daria Egorova (Rus) Russia  
26Supaksorn Nuntana (Tha) Thailand  
27Soline Lamboley (Fra) France  
28Mei Yu Hsiao (Tpe) Taiwan  
29Alexandra Chekina (Rus) Russia  
30Kseniia Dobrynina (Rus) Astana - Acca Due O  
31Simona Frapporti (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
32Ju-Hee Lee (Kor) Korea  
33Jaruwan Somrat (Tha) Thailand  
34Natalya Saifutdinova (Kaz) Astana - Acca Due O  
35Marzhan Baitleuova (Kaz) Astana - Acca Due O  
36Xiao Ling Luo (Chn) ChIndonesia Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling  
37Irina Molicheva (Rus) Russia  
38Fitriyani Fitriyani (Ina) Indonesia  
39Charlotte Becker (Ger) Hitec Products  
40Yao Pang (HKg) Hong Kong  
41Annelies Dom (Bel) - Zannata  
42Makhabbat Umutzhanova (Kaz) Astana - Acca Due O  
43Evgeniya Romanyuta (Rus) Russia  
44Anna Potokina (Rus) Servetto Footon  
45Hye-Seon Moon (Kor) Korea  
46Zhao Juan Meng (HKg) ChIndonesia Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling  
47Dong Yan Huang (Chn) ChIndonesia Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling  
48Yali Jing (Chn) China  
49Wing Yee Leung (HKg) Hong Kong  
50Dahlina Rosyida (Ina) Indonesia  
51Khalista Rezky Helfiana (Ina) Indonesia  
52Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle Honda  
53Qianyu Yang (HKg) Hong Kong  
54Baofang Zhao (Chn) China  
55Coralie Demay (Fra) France  
56Riska Agustin (Ina) Indonesia  
57Tereza Medvedova (Svk) Bepink Laclassica  
58Ju Mi Lee (Kor) Korea  
59Anastasiya Chulkova (Rus) Bepink Laclassica  
60Nicole Hanselmann (Swi) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
61Hsiao Chia Tseng (Tpe) Taiwan  
62Greta Richioud (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
63Bo Yee Leung (HKg) Hong Kong  
64Lisa Klein (Ger) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
65Elise Delzenne (Fra) France  
66Yekaterina Yuraitis (Kaz) Astana - Acca Due O  
67Wilaiwan Kunlapha (Tha) Thailand  
68Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
69Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) Servetto Footon  
70Hongyu Liang (Chn) ChIndonesia Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling  
71Vittoria Bussi (Ita) Servetto Footon  
72Pannaray Rasee (Tha) Thailand  
73Xiu Jie Jiang (Chn) ChIndonesia Chongming-Liv-Champion System Pro Cycling  
74Yuni Indah (Ina) Indonesia  
75Elena Franchi (Ita) Servetto Footon0:00:16 
76Ilaria Bonomi (Ita) Bepink Laclassica0:00:17 
77Ana Maria Covrig (Rom) Bepink Laclassica  
78Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products  
79Eileen Roe (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:00:20 
80Nina Kessler (Ned) - Zannata  
81Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) - Zannata0:00:23 
82Beatrice Bartelloni (Ita) Ale Cipollini0:00:28 
83Caroline Baur (Swi) Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:00:32 
84Di Jin (Chn) China0:00:44 
85Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Hitec Products0:00:48 
86Evy Kuijpers (Ned) - Zannata0:00:49 
87Emilie Aubry (Swi) Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:00:53 
88Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products  
89Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Bepink Laclassica0:01:18 
90Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Russia0:02:23 
91Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor) Hitec Products0:02:44 
92Jia Yun Li (Tpe) Taiwan0:02:49 


Related Articles

Back to top