Powers wins back-to-back at Gran Prix of Gloucester

Teammates Trebon and Johnson complete podium

Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) upped his game on the final two laps of the Gloucester Grand Prix and capped off the weekend with his second win. Cannondale teammates Ryan Trebon and Tim Johnson worked mightily to keep Powers in check but had to settle for second and third respectively, finishing just four seconds behind. Ben Berden (Raleigh Clement) was in the mix all weekend and finished fourth. Stephen Hyde (JAM Fund/ NCC/ Vittoria) came from nowhere this year to be battling the top riders for podium spots. He finished fifth today.

The Sunday Gloucester course was fast and very dusty in spots. It was difficult for riders to break away since drafting and team tactics were in play. Powers took the hole-shot but then a whole series of riders led during the initial 50 minutes of the race. Initially Craig Richey (VOmax) led, but Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh Clement), Ben Berden, Jeremy Durrin (Optum Pro Cycling), Tim Johnson, and Ryan Trebon all took shots at the front.

Trebon's attack appeared like it might stick as he opened a gap with two other riders on the lower part of the course. It all came together, however, on the pavement. Tim Johnson opened an 11-second gap with three laps to go, but Powers himself closed down the dangerous move.

As Trebon led Johnson and Powers through the start/finish area with one lap to go, Powers made the winning move. Worried about the team tactics he might be subjected to by the Cannondale boys, he shot by them both just as they left the pavement for the last time.

Powers said, "I did skirt right by them right here (as they left the pavement) and that was probably the move that saved the race for me for sure. It was well timed. It was really loud in the crowd, so I knew they wouldn't be able to hear my bike coming by."

As it turned out, Johnson had to make a bike change on the final lap which probably cost him any chance of challenging for the win.

Although Powers could be seen riding as far back today as eighth position, he did not feel that he was in danger. He said, "I went within my zone all day and added a little bit in the end. I didn't feel bad....yesterday I was a little bit too far back. Even with two to go you're seeing six, seven guys. It's a fast, tight track today so you're going to see a group and there is nothing you can really do about that."

He added, "The young guys are getting their respect and the old guys are just out there doing their thing. I call myself one of the old guys now."

Full Results
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 1:01:18  
2 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com 0:00:04  
3 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com 0:00:07  
4 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement 0:00:17  
5 Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 0:00:18  
6 Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:00:46  
7 James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement 0:01:10  
8 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar 0:01:22  
9 Shawn Milne (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:01:30  
10 Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:01:43  
11 Lukas Winterberg (Swi) Muller Landscape-BH Bikes 0:01:44  
12 Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement 0:02:04  
13 Mike Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel 0:02:07  
14 Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team 0:02:10  
15 Craig Richey (Can) VOmax-SponsorConnected.com 0:02:12  
16 Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 0:02:13  
17 Jeremy Martin (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team 0:02:18  
18 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com 0:02:22  
19 Leandre Bouchard (Can) Cyclone d'Alma-Devinci 0:02:23  
20 Brendan Rhim (USA) KMS-Start House Cycling Team 0:02:24  
21 Adam Myerson (USA) Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis    
22 Christian Favata (USA) TRT Bicycles p/b Stan's NoTubes 0:02:27  
23 Garrett McLeod (Can) Team H&R Block 0:02:42  
24 Evan McNeely (Can) Norco Factory Team 0:02:45  
25 Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes 0:02:52  
26 Jerome Townsend (USA) BikeReg.com-Joe's Garage 0:03:11  
27 Nicholas Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:03:24  
28 Derrick St. John (Can) Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery 0:03:25  
29 Thomas Sampson (USA) Adigga Racing 0:03:44  
30 Manny Goguen (USA) RACE CF 0:03:50  
31 Peter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada 0:04:01  
32 Todd Bowden (USA) Expowheelmen 0:04:05  
33 Michael Van Den Ham (Can) Cycle-Smart 0:04:13  
34 Jesse Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:04:22  
35 Adam St. Germain (USA) ENGVT-Specialized 0:04:25  
36 Andrew l'Esperance (Can) Norco Factory Team 0:04:27  
37 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 0:04:34  
38 Sam O'Keefe (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co. 0:04:36  
39 Max Judelson (USA) Giant Cycling World Boston 0:04:51  
40 Tyler Wren (USA) Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home 0:05:12  
41 Michael Wissell (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2 0:05:15  
42 Evan Huff (USA) Crossresults.com 0:05:22  
43 Sean Pantellere (USA) STAMPEDE! p/b Budd Bike Works 0:05:23  
44 Evan Murphy (USA) NYC Velo p/b The Cannibal 0:05:29  
45 Daniel Chabanov (USA) House Industries-Richard Sachs-RGM 0:05:34  
46 Matt Timmerman (USA) Cannondale 0:05:49  
47 Aroussen Laflamme (Can) Xprezo-Borsao 0:05:57  
48 Alexandre Vialle (Can) Espresso Sport 0:05:59  
49 Sheldon Miller (USA) Bikeman.com 0:06:00  
50 Aaron Oakes (USA) NYCross-Vomax 0:06:24  
51 Christopher Hamlin (USA) Bicycle Express-Kona Bikes 0:06:39  
52 Kurt Belhumeur (USA) Stampede! 0:06:44  
53 Matthew Means (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co. 0:06:50  
54 Chris Field (USA) Essex County Velo 0:07:19  
55 Conor O'Brien (Can) Stevens Racing p/b the Cyclery 0:07:50  
56 Andrew Lysaght (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2  -1lap  
57 Adam Sullivan (USA) Embrocation-Gaulzetti Cicli    
58 John Burns (USA) Burns Racing    
59 Devin Wagner (USA) NYCross.com p/b Vomax    
60 Tyler Berliner (USA) BikeReg.com-Joe's Garage    
61 Jesse Quagliaroli (USA) Expowheelmen  -2laps  
62 Cary Fridrich (USA) Mad Alchemy-Verge Rider Cooperative    
63 Ian Schon (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2    
64 Jacob Harris (USA) Createx-Benidorm    
65 David Devine (USA) Cannondale  -3laps  
66 Christopher Algar (USA) Cape Cod Cycling Club    
67 Timothy Durrin (USA) NYCross  -4laps  
68 Andrew Loaiza (USA) RMRC    
69 Joseph Near (USA) Massachusetts Institute of Technology    
DNF Alistair Sponsel (USA) Cumberland Transit Cycling    
DNF Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus    
DNF Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX    
DNF Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
DNF Jesse Anthony (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
DNF Edwin Bull (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team    
DNF Luke Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross    
DNF Colin Reuter (USA) crossresults.com    
DNF Sylvain Jean (Can) Icebreaker Merino    
DNF Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Can) Trek Cyclocross Collective    


Back to top