Plaxton wins short track with last lap surge

Schultz, Kabush round out top three

Trailing by as much as one hundred feet with one lap to go, Max Plaxton (Specialized) fired the afterburners to hunt down Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek), who finished second. Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox Racing), one of the race aggressors, had to settle for third place. USA Champion Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek) finished a strong fourth, while Barry Wicks (Kona) raced at a new level to finish fifth.

Plaxton got off to one of the best starts in recent history. At the top of the first small hill, he already had opened a 30-foot gap. Burry Stander (Specialized) took up the chase with Horgan-Kobelski, Kabush, Todd Wells (Specialized), and Schultz all in tow.

During the second lap, the leaders all came together. Stander attempted to stamp his authority on the race but soon realized it was not his day. “From the first lap I felt a bit seized up and tired…after a few laps I knew I was not going to get up there for a win so I just sat up a bit and rode my own pace.”

Wells suffered some sort of chain problem early in the race, which doomed his chances of winning. While he chased valiantly for the rest of the race, he could not make up the ground to the leaders.

Kabush took a long turn at the front but was not able to dispatch anyone from the lead group. Schultz then took his first flier, but appeared to let up as he thought he was being caught.

“It’s always fun to feel good enough to make some moves," said Schultz. "I went into this race with the mentality that I was racing for the win. I’m trying to enter all the races with that attitude. It definitely helps."

With two laps to go, Schultz made another strong attack. “I could have sat on a bit more but with two laps to go, I decided to attack like it was the last lap,” said Schultz.

Unfortunately, that left him with little gas in the tank for the last lap. As Plaxton came through the start/finish, he passed Kabush and then flew up to Schultz in what seemed like just a few seconds.

"I felt good at the start and did a smart race," said Plaxton. "There were some tired legs out there at the end. I was saving something for one last good effort.”

Apparently Plaxton entered the race not knowing what to expect. “I didn’t have a plan. I haven’t been feeling great since before South Africa (which hosted round 1 of the World Cup), so I didn’t know how the legs would be.”

Wicks used to be seen at the front of short track races all the time. He is also a previous US short track national champion. But, in the past few years his emphasis on endurance stage races seemed to negatively affect his short track racing. He now seems to have benefited from his recent move back to Bend, Oregon, from Chicago, where he found it difficult to train properly.

Twenty-year-old Russell Finsterwald (Subaru-Trek) may have had the ride of the day, finishing an astonishing seventh. This gave the Subaru-Trek team three finishers in the top seven positions.

Sid Taberlay (H2O Overdrive), who finished ninth, and Colin Cares (Kenda-Felt), who finished 10th on his brand new Felt 29er, also had good rides.

The pro men will compete in cross country on Sunday.

Full Results

Elite men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Max Plaxton (Can) Specialized Racing    
2 Sam Schultz (USA) Subaru Trek    
3 Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing    
4 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru Trek    
5 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona    
6 Todd Wells (USA) Specialized Racing    
7 Russell Finsterwald (USA) Subaru Trek    
8 Sid Taberlay (Aus) Kenda/H20 Overdrive    
9 Burry Stander (RSA) Specialized Racing    
10 Colin Cares (USA)    
11 Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC MTN Bike Racing    
12 Howard Grotts (USA) Specialized Racing    
13 Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona    
14 Thomas Turner (USA) Jamis    
-1lap Alex Grant (USA) Cannondale Factory    
-4laps Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Off Road    
-4laps Troy Wells (USA)    
-4laps Andrew Watson (Can) Norco Factory Team    
-4laps Adam Morka (Can) Trek Canada    
-4laps Neal Kindree (Can) Specialized    
-4laps Kerry Werner (USA) BMC MTN Bike Racing    
-4laps Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona    
-4laps Mitchell Hoke (USA) Clif Bar    
-5laps Cory Wallace (Can) Kona Factory Team    
-5laps Jason Sager (USA) Jamis    
-5laps Cameron Jette (Can) Scott - 3 Rox Racing    
-6laps Drew Edsall (USA) Kenda-Felt    
-6laps Peter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada    
-6laps Andrew L'esperance (Can) Norco Factory Team    
-6laps Josh Carlson (Aus) Giant Factory Off Road    
-6laps Miguel Valadez (USA) Ellsworth    
-6laps Macky Franklin (USA)    
-6laps Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant    
-6laps Zach Valdez (USA) Whole Athlete-Specialized    
-6laps Onodera Ken (Jpn) Team Specialized    
-6laps Kevin Smallman (USA)    
-6laps Thomas Bundgaard (Den) Racing 29Ers    
-6laps Brendon Davids (USA) Sho-Air    
-6laps Jason Moeschler (USA)    
-7laps Yuki Ikeda (Jpn) Topeak Ergon Racing    
-7laps Brennan Wodtli (USA) All Access Racing/Gia    
-7laps Brady Kappius (USA) Clif Bar    
-7laps Scott Tietzel (USA)    
-7laps Robert Marion (USA)    
-7laps Tyson Wagler (Can) Scott-3 Rox Racing    
-7laps Jason Siegle (USA) SDG Felt    
-7laps Alex Wild (USA)    
-7laps Tanner Hurst (USA) American Classic    
-8laps Clint Claassen (USA)    
-8laps Jordan Kahlenberg (USA) Giant Midatlantic    
-8laps Nick Truitt (USA) Yeti/Pactimo Pro XC    
-8laps Ross Holbrook (USA)    
-8laps Sheng Shan Chiang (Tpe) Specialized Racing    
-8laps Travis Glysson (USA) AZ Devo    
-9laps Craig Wohlschlaeger (USA) The Hub/Giant    
-9laps Stephen Dempsey (USA) Freehub Magazine    
-9laps Chris Thibodeau (USA) Specialized/Curve    
DNF Derek Zandstra (Can) Scott-3 Rox Racing    


Related Articles

Back to top