Cavendish wins Saitama Criterium

Tour de France stars take part in exhibition race in Japan

Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) won the 2017 Saitama Criterium, outsprinting the Japanese duo of Fumiyuki Beppu (Tour de France Japan Team) and Yusuke Hatanaka (Team Ukyo).

Despite standing second on the all-time hierarchy of stage winners at the Tour de France, this was Cavendish's first appearance at the end-of-season event that sees a flavour of the Tour exported to the Asian market.

He was a hit with the local fans the previous day as he caught and cooked Unagi eels, and he was showcased once again as he won the bunch sprint after 19 laps of the 3.1km circuit in Saitama, north of Tokyo.

Like last week's Shanghai criterium, Saitama featured numerous breakaway attempts, again with a late move containing Chris Froome, Warren Barguil, and Rigoberto Uran. The powers that be, however, pulled it back together for a bunch sprint.

A bumper day of entertainment for the many local fans – who have taken this event to their hearts – included a sprint event and a team time trial. Marcel Kittel (QuickStep) won the sprint event, while Utsunomia Blitzen claimed the team time trial. 

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mark Cavendish (GBr) Dimension Data1:25:07 
2Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Tour de France Japan Team  
3Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
4Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb  
5Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac  
6Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky  
7Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
8Julien Vermote (Bel) Quick-Step Floors  
9Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data  
10Hayato Okamoto (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
11Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team  
12Rei Onodera (Jpn) Utsunomia Blitzen  
13Shotaro Watanabe (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
14Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Bridgestone-Anchor  
15Marcel Kittel (Ger) Quick-Step Floors  
16Amaël Moinard (Fra) BMC Racing Team  
17Kota Sumiyoshi (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
18Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team  
19Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomia Blitzen  
20Atsushi Oka (Jpn) Utsunomia Blitzen  
21Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Team Sunweb  
22Ryu Suzuki (Jpn) Bridgestone-Anchor0:00:09 
23Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Tour de France Japan Team  
24Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac  
25Jaco Venter (RSA) Dimension Data  
26Petr Vakoc (Cze) Quick-Step Floors  
27Hideto Nakane (Jpn) Nippo-Vini Fantini  
28Kenny Elissonde (Fra) Team Sky  
29Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Quick-Step Floors  
30Simon Clarke (Aus) Cannondale-Drapac  
31Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Sunweb  
32Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb  
33Michal Golas (Pol) Team Sky  
34Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky  
35Kazushige Kuboki (Jpn) Nippo-Vini Fantini  
36Ryohei Komori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
37Michimasa Nakai (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
38Yuma Koishi (Jpn) Nippo-Vini Fantini  
39Kosuke Takeyama (Jpn) Special Team Japan For Saitama  
40Takayuki Abe (Jpn) Utsunomia Blitzen  
41Sho Hatsuyama (Jpn) Bridgestone-Anchor  
42Keisuke Kimaru (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team  
43Takahiro Koyama (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:00:17 
44Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
45Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Dimension Data0:00:26 
46Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac  
47Yuya Akimura (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:00:34 
48Marino Kobayashi (Jpn) Nippo-Vini Fantini0:02:12 
49Daichi Tomio (Jpn) Special Team Japan For Saitama  
50Kakeru Mizutani (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:02:40 
51Jin Okubo (Jpn) Bridgestone-Anchor  
DNFKohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Special Team Japan For Saitama  
DNFSawada Toki (Jpn) Special Team Japan For Saitama  
DNFYukinori Hishinuma (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
Points Race
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Group A
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marcel Kittel (Ger) Quick-Step Floors  
2Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Tour de France Japan Team  
3Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Special Team Japan For Saitama  
4Kakeru Mizutani (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team  
Group B
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jin Okubo (Jpn) Bridgestone-Anchor  
2Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac  
3Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Team Ukyo  
4Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team  
Group C
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb  
2Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Tour de France Japan Team  
3Hayato Okamoto (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team  
4Kazushige Kuboki (Jpn) Nippo-Vini Fantini  
Group D
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mark Cavendish (GBr) Dimension Data  
2Atsushi Oka (Jpn) Utsunomia Blitzen  
3Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marcel Kittel (Ger) Quick-Step Floors  
2Mark Cavendish (GBr) Dimension Data  
3Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb  
4Jin Okubo (Jpn) Bridgestone-Anchor  
Team Time Trial
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Utsunomia Blitzen0:03:09 
2Team Sunweb0:00:02 
3BMC Racing Team0:00:05 
4Dimension Data  
5Bridgestone - Anchor0:00:07 
6Aisan Racing Team0:00:10 
7Team Sky0:00:13 
8Team Ukyo0:00:16 
9Special Team Japan For Saitama0:00:17 
10Shimano Racing Team0:00:18 
11Quick Step Floors0:00:21 
12Nippo - Vini Fantini0:00:22 
13Cannondale - Drapac0:00:28 
Women's Individual Time Trial
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Misuzu Shimoyama (Jpn)0:03:46 
2Maria Fujita (Jpn)0:00:16 
3Yuri Nakagawa (Jpn)0:00:18 
4Yuka Matsui (Jpn)0:00:20 
Paracycling Individual Time Trial
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Masaki Fujita (Jpn)0:03:36 
2Shota Kawamoto (Jpn)0:00:25 
3Keiko Noguchi (Jpn)0:00:34 
4Naohiko Okumura (Jpn)0:00:48 
5Kazuhiko Shimada (Jpn)0:00:59 
6Miho Fujii (Jpn)0:01:15 
7Kazuha Fukui (Jpn)0:02:14 
Junior Men Individual Time Trial
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tetsuo Yamamoto (Jpn)0:03:24 
2Shoi Matsuda (Jpn)0:00:01 
3Shuichiro Shiojima (Jpn)0:00:16 

Related Articles

Back to top