JJ jumps locals to claim Köln win

Greipel second in hometown race

Team Saxo Bank rider Juan Jose Haedo upset the local favourites to win Rund um Köln on Easter Monday. The Argentinean outsprinted local rider André Greipel of HTC-Columbia, with Enrico Rossi (Ceramica Flaminia) taking third.

Teams Milram and Rabobank led the field into the last kilometre, wth the Dutch squad pulling through to lead the charge up towards the finish line. And as HTC-Columbia's sprint train failed to fire, Haedo was able to edge out Greipel at the line.

"It was a superior sprint from JJ [Haedo] and Greipel was not even close to taking the win as he didn't get away from Haedo's wheel," said Saxo Bank directeur sportif Bradley McGee. "It's obvious that JJ has taken his sprint to another level this year.

"Normally, sprinters need a great deal of confidence to participate in these mass sprints. Not only has he got the confidence, he now has the power to beat the very best in the peloton."

The first part of the race was marked by an escape group, as five riders got away early and built up a lead of over five minutes. The field was happy enough to let Oscar Pujol (Cervelo TestTeam), Dimitry Claeys (Team NetApp), Gregory Joseph (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator), Michael Berling (Glud & Marstrand) and Josef Benetseder of Vorarlberg-Corratec go in the early part of the race.

They were caught about two-thirds into the race, with various groups then counter-attacking. Team Milram, the only German ProTour team and HTC-Columbia took charge of the race as they led the peloton around Köln and refused to let any of the escapees build up a substantial lead. The last of the would-be breaks were caught within the last kilometres, setting up the expected mass sprint.

Full Results
1Juan José Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank4:56:08 
2André Greipel (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia  
3Enrico Rossi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
4Daniele Colli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
5Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank  
6René Weissinger (Ger) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
7Jure Kocjan (Slo) Carmiooro NGC  
8Tim Mertens (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
9Dominic Klemme (Ger) Team Saxo Bank  
10Robert Förster (Ger) Team Milram  
11Baptiste Plackaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
12Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team Netapp  
13Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank  
14Kasper Jebjerg (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water  
15Maximilian May (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team  
16Filippo Baggio (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
17Alessandro Raisoni (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
18Luc Hagenaars (Ned) Team Kuota - Indeland  
19David Hesselbarth (Ger) THF  
20Mathias Belka (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
21Michael Reihs (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water  
22Robin Chaigneau (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
23Tino Meier (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg  
24Peter Schulting (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
25Timon Seubert (Ger) Team Netapp  
26Oleksandr Martynenko (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
27Emmanuel Van Ruitenbeek (Ned) Team Kuota - Indeland  
28Mark Cassidy (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  
29Egidijus Juodvalkis (Ltu) Palmans - Cras  
30Edoardo Girardi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
31Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
32Clemens Fankhauser (Aut) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
33Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
34Benjamin Gourgue (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
35Dominique Cornu (Bel) Skil - Shimano  
36Maarten De Jonge (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
37Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Skil - Shimano  
38Ronan Mc Laughlin (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  
39Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team Netapp  
40Peter Wrolich (Aut) Team Milram  
41Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
42Laurent Beuret (Swi) Carmiooro NGC  
43Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank  
44Denys Karnulin (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
45Timothy Vangheel (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
46Dirk Müller (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
47Paul Voss (Ger) Team Milram  
48Stijn Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
49Stefan Ganser (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland  
50Piergiorgio Camussa (Ita) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
51Sergey Firsanov (Rus) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water  
52Dirk Bellemakers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
53Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Rabobank  
54Sander Armee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
55Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
56Benny De Schrooder (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
57Roger Kluge (Ger) Team Milram  
58Tejay Van Garderen (USA) Team HTC - Columbia  
59Pim De Beer (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
60Rostislav Mykhaylov (Ukr) ISD Continental Team0:00:10 
61Kim Borry (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly0:00:11 
62Donato Cannone (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
63Marc Goos (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:00:13 
64Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team Netapp  
65Stefan Van Winden (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
66Björn Glasner (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland  
67Lasse Bochmann (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning  
68Niki Ostergaard (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning  
69Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Rabobank  
70Jan Barta (Cze) Team Netapp  
71Jonas Schmeiser (Ger) THF  
72Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram  
73Stef Clement (Ned) Rabobank  
74Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank  
75Vitaliy Popkov (Ukr) ISD Continental Team  
76Oscar Pujol Munoz (Spa) Cervelo Test Team  
77Alexandre Usov (Blr) ISD Continental Team  
78Dmitry Kozontchuk (Rus) Rabobank  
79Sébastian Baldauf (Ger) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
80Luke Roberts (Aus) Team Milram  
81Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning  
82Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
83Richie Porte (Aus) Team Saxo Bank  
84Bert Grabsch (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia  
85Adam Hansen (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia  
86Dominik Roels (Ger) Team Milram0:00:39 
87Eric Berthou (Fra) Carmiooro NGC0:00:42 
88Frederik Wilmann (Nor) Skil - Shimano0:01:16 
89Mads Christensen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning0:01:40 
90Frantisek Rabon (Cze) Team HTC - Columbia0:01:58 
91Cheng Ji (Chn) Skil - Shimano0:08:29 
92Michael Berling (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning0:08:41 
93Franz Schiewer (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg0:08:42 


Back to top