Barta wins Rund um Köln

Bagdonis outsprints Marcynski for second place

Jan Barta brought in another win for both himself and Team NetApp, winning Rund um Köln in a solo effort. The Czech rider soloed to the win 2:02 ahead of Gediminas Bagdonas (An Post-Sean Kelly) and Tomasz Marczynski of Vacansoleil.

It was the third win of the season for Barta, 27, who earlier was part of the winning team time trial squad and won the overall title in the Settimana Coppi e Bartali. The team had won the team time trial for its first win in two years at the Professional Continental level.

“I am very happy, that I finally got through with a break attempt,” Barta told Cyclingnews.  “And then to do it at such a difficult race, where the weather conditions brought everyone to the limit.”

“It was very difficult for me to win today,” he continued.  “When I attacked, I had good legs and simply took off.  I figured I had a small chance, since the rain was making it hard for all the riders.  I speculated that the chasers would not work together.  In the second lap, I was pretty near my limit, but it was clear to me that I could win the race.”

The first group got an early start on the cool, rainy Easter Monday. Only eight kilometeres into the 196.7km race, Mark Renshaw (Rabobank), Pavel Brutt (Katusha), Tom Dumoulin (Argos-Shimano), Boy van Poppel (UnitedHealthcare), Nils Plötner (Raiko Stölting) und Jasper Hamelink (Cycling Team Jo Piels) got away. They were eventually joined by Laurens ten Dam (Rabobank), David Tanner (Saxo Bank), Gatis Smukulis (Katusha), Christian Knees (German national team), Matthias Brändle (NetApp), Michael Hümbert (LKT Team Brandenburg), Johannes Kahra (Thüringer Energie Team), Ralf Matzka (Thüringer Energie Team) and Gediminas Bagdonas (An Post-Sean Kelly).

The group managed to stay away, but never had more than a two-minute lead. Eventually Brutt and Bagdonas took off, and the rest of the group was absorbed back into the field.

With 83km to go, nine more riders broke away and joined the two leaders: Wilco Keldermann (Rabobank), Tomasz Marczynski (Vacansoleil-DCM), Jan Barta (NetApp), Matthias Brändle (NetApp), William Clarke (Champion System), Tom Dumoulin (Argos-Shimano), Ivan Ronny (RusVelo), Boy van Poppel (UnitedHealthcare) and Mauritius Lammertink (Cycling Team Jo Piels).

That group was the right one, and quickly built up a lead of five and a half minutes. Barta jumped on the final ranked climb, and took off. The group behind him fell apart, and seven riders gave chase, with the field six minutes back but chasing furiously.

Barta took his lead into the three laps of the closing 6.6km circuit course in downtown Köln, and with more than a minute gap at the start of the last lap, he knew he had the win.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Jan Barta (Cze) Team Netapp 5:05:58  
2 Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) An Post - Sean Kelly 0:02:02  
3 Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team    
4 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Katusha Team    
5 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Argos-Shimano    
6 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
7 Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
8 William Clarke (Aus) Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
9 Matthias Brandle (Aut) Team Netapp 0:06:29  
10 Ivan Rovny (Rus) Rusvelo 0:06:31  
11 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:06:43  
12 Kersten Thiele (Ger) Lointek 0:10:37  
13 Alexander Schmitt (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus 0:12:32  
14 Michael Jun. Hümbert (Ger) Lointek 0:12:44  
15 Yannick Bok (Ger) Raiko Stölting    
16 Victor Manakov (Rus) Rusvelo 0:13:23  
17 Robert Förster (Ger) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
18 Ralf Matzka (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team    
19 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
20 Michael Kurth (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland    
21 Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
22 Björn Schröder (Ger) Raiko Stölting    
23 Andreas Stauff (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland    
24 Michael Schweizer (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
25 Kevin Peeters (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
26 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team    
27 Mario Schoibl (Aut) Tirol Cycling Team    
28 Jonathan Breyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
29 Yukihiro Doi (Jpn) Argos-Shimano    
30 Alexander Mironov (Rus) Rusvelo 0:13:27  
31 Mario Vogt (Ger) Team Specialized Concept Store    
32 Sven Van Luijk (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
33 Sjors Roosen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels 0:13:30  
34 Jay Robert Thomson (RSA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
35 Stefan Ganser (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland    
36 Christoph Sokoll (Aut) Tirol Cycling Team    
37 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Argos-Shimano    
38 Ronan Mc Laughlin (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly    
39 Theo Bos (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
40 Christoph Springer (Ger) Team Specialized Concept Store    
41 Aaron Kemps (Aus) Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
42 Marius Jessenberger (Ger) Team Heizomat    
43 Sascha Weber (Ger) Team Differdange - Magic-Sportfood.De    
44 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quickstep 0:13:34  
45 Alexey Tsatevitch (Rus) Katusha Team 0:13:36  
46 Benjamin Dietrich (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team 0:13:38  
47 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team    
48 Jasper Hamelink (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels 0:13:40  
49 Robert Retschke (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland    
50 Tom Vermeer (Ned) Nutrixxion Abus    
51 Luke Roberts (Aus) Team Saxo Bank    
52 Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team Netapp    
53 Fabian Bruno (Ger) Team Heizomat    
54 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team    
55 Jacek Morajko (Pol) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team    
56 Fabio Nappa (Ger) Team Specialized Concept Store    
57 René Obst (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
58 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team Netapp    
59 Oleksandr Surutkovych (Aze) Team Specialized Concept Store    
60 Meran Russan (Eri) MTN Qhubeka    
61 Martin Wesemann (RSA) MTN Qhubeka    
62 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Team Specialized Concept Store    
63 Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
64 Harald Totschnig (Aut) Tirol Cycling Team    
65 Jacob Fiedler (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
66 Robert Bengsch (Ger)    
67 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
68 Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) Team Saxo Bank    
69 Sergej Fuchs (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
70 Juan José Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank    
71 Artem Ovechkin (Rus) Rusvelo    
72 Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank    
73 Koen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
74 Christopher Jones (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:13:53  
75 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
76 Martijn Keizer (Ned) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team    
77 Gatis Smukulis (Lat) Katusha Team    
78 Matthias Friedemann (Ger) Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
79 Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team Netapp    
80 Bradley Potgieter (RSA) MTN Qhubeka    
81 Bradley White (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
82 Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Team Saxo Bank    
83 Jonathan Clarke (Aus) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
84 Benjamin Sydlik (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
85 Jasha Sütterlin (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team 0:14:11  
86 Arran Brown (RSA) MTN Qhubeka    
87 Nils Plötner (Ger) Raiko Stölting    
88 Matthias Bertling (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland    
89 Martin Weiss (Aut) Tirol Cycling Team    
90 Patrick Clausen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - Lro 0:14:59  
91 Alexander Krieger (Ger) Team Heizomat    
92 Christian Mager (Ger) Team Heizomat    

Related Articles

Back to top