Degenkolb snatches win in Frankfurt

German HTC ace storms to victory

John Degenkolb of HTC-Highroad won the sprint in downtown Frankfurt to take Rund um den Finanzplatz Eschborn-Frankfurt. The young German went for the sprint early and beat Jerome Baugnies (Topsport Vlaanderen) by a wheel's length, with Michael Matthews of Rabobank third.

The overjoyed winner was greeted at the finish line by fellow German Erik Zabel, who won the race three times and works as an advisor to HTC. It was the third win this season for the 22-year-old, who is only in his first ProTeam season.

“I am overjoyed,” Degenkolb said, “and thankful that the whole team worked hard for me.”

“I actually didn't feel well the last time on the Mammolshain. I was the next to last rider over it,” he admitted. “Then I saw that we were all fairly close together and I trusted in my team to do it, and it all worked out.”

All out attack

There were numerous breaks and attempted breaks in the race on this sunny day, but none was able to seriously establish itself. Johnny Hoogerland of Vacansoleil was one of the most active, getting away numerous times. Paul Martens (Rabobank) was also very active in the latter part of the race.

With 50 to 60 km to go, a group finally established itself. The group continued to go through a number of changes along the way. As they tackled the short but steep Mammolshainer climb for the second time, Hoogerland got away, joined by Maartens. But they too were unable to really do anything, and were caught again with 29 km to go, with defending champion Fabian Wegmann (Leopard Trek) helping to lead the chase.

Rabobank then sent Tom Slagter down the road, and he dangled some ten seconds ahead of the field for a while. Stefan Schäfer of Team Brandenburg was the next to give it a try. The 24-year-old from the Continental team gave it his best, but the peloton kept him in check, too.

Schäfer was caught at the start of the first of three laps of the closing circuit. Another youngster took off, Mathias Belka of the newly formed Team TT Raiko. He led the way across the finish line as they started the second lap, only to be caught seconds later.

The closing circuit was a city course, winding its way through the narrow streets of downtown Frankfurt. The many corners and road construction sites helped to keep the speed down.

Thins picked up as the field went into the bell lap, only 4 km to go. The peloton was strung out through the city streets, led by HTC-Highroad.

The group galloped together into the final two km, with HTC working hard to control things and bring Degenkolb into position.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 John Degenkolb (Ger) HTC-Highroad 4:50:49  
2 Jerome Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
3 Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team    
4 Davy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
5 Laurent Pichon (Fra) Bretagne Schuller    
6 Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
7 Laurent Mangel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun    
8 Simon Geschke (Ger) Skil - Shimano    
9 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team NetApp    
10 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Deutsche Nationalmannschaft    
11 Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
12 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Ag2R - La Mondiale    
13 Stefan Schaefer (Ger) LKT Team Brandenburg    
14 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
15 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
16 Robert Retschke (Ger) Team NetApp    
17 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Veranda`s Willems - Accent    
18 Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team NetApp    
19 Dirk Müller (Ger) Nutrixxion Sparkasse    
20 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone    
21 Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
22 Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Ag2R - La Mondiale    
23 Phillip Ries (Ger) Team Heizomat    
24 Geert Verheyen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
25 Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
26 Marek Rutkiewicz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
27 Dirk Bellemakers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet    
28 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team NSP    
29 Stefan Ganser (Ger) Team Eddy Merckx - Indeland    
30 Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Team NSP    
31 Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
32 Pieter Serry (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
33 Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
34 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto    
35 Thomas Degand (Bel) Veranda`s Willems - Accent    
36 Tristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis, le credit en ligne    
37 Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
38 Jean-Lou Paiani (Fra) Saur - Sojasun    
39 Jacek Morajko (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
40 Johan Coenen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
41 Johannes Frohlinger (Ger) Skil - Shimano    
42 Ben Gastauer (Lux) Ag2R - La Mondiale    
43 Sebastien Joly (Fra) Saur - Sojasun    
44 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Ag2R - La Mondiale    
45 Hubert Dupont (Fra) Ag2R - La Mondiale    
46 Mariusz Witecki (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
47 Michal Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
48 Dariusz Batek (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice    
49 Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
50 Jean Marc Marino (Fra) Saur - Sojasun    
51 Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team NetApp    
52 Julian Kern (Ger) Seven Stones    
53 Sander Armee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
54 Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
55 Jean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne Schuller    
56 Mathias Belka (Ger) TT Raiko - Argon 18    
57 Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis, le credit en ligne    
58 Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
59 Grischa Niermann (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team    
60 Jens Voigt (Ger) Leopard-Trek    
61 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
62 Stefan Denifl (Aut) Leopard-Trek    
63 Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team    
64 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne Schuller    
65 Johan Lebon (Fra) Bretagne Schuller    
66 Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
67 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, le credit en ligne    
68 Jan Bakelants (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto    
69 Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne Schuller 0:00:16  
70 Maxim Belkov (Rus) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:00:26  
71 Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone 0:00:28  
72 Dominique Nerz (Ger) Deutsche Nationalmannschaft 0:00:39  
73 Marcus Burghardt (Ger) Deutsche Nationalmannschaft    
74 Michael Albasini (Swi) HTC-Highroad 0:00:44  
75 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) HTC-Highroad    
Back to top