Voeckler victorious at Route du Sud

Frapporti wins final stage in L'Isle-Jourdain

Marco Frapporti (Androni-Venezuela) claimed victory on the final stage of the Route du Sud in L’Isle Jourdain while Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) sealed the general classification.

Voeckler carried a lead of just four seconds into the stage and he was attentive when Ag2r-La Mondiale’s Romain Bardet – 4th at 9 seconds – tried to slip away on the Côte d’Aurignac after 48 kilometres.

After 85 kilometres, twelve riders who posed little threat to Voeckler’s lead managed to forge clear of the peloton but they were never able to stretch their advantage out much beyond 1:30 and they were recaptured in the final hour of racing.

From that point on, and in spite of a flurry of attacks, a sprint finish seemed inevitable, and Frapporti duly saw off the challenges of Danilo Napolitano (Accent Jobs-Wanty), Benjamin Giraud (La Pomme Marseille) and Adrien Petit (Cofidis) to take the win.

Thomas Voeckler secured final overall victory, four seconds ahead of Franco Pellizotti (Androni-Venezuela) and six clear of John Gadret (Ag2r-La Mondiale).


Brief Results
1Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli3:14:35 
2Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Accent Jobs-Wanty  
3Benjamin Giraud (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
4Adrien Petit (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
5Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ  
6Christian Knees (Ger) Sky Procycling  
7Roy Jans (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty  
8Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ  
9Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
10Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
11Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Procycling  
12Timo Thömel (Ger) Team NSP-Ghost  
13Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Movistar Team  
14Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
15Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
16Yannick Martinez (Fra) La Pomme Marseille  
17Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
18Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
19Steven Tronet (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
20David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
Final general classification
1Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar17:56:02 
2Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:04 
3John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:06 
4Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:09 
5Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:20 
6Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Movistar Team  
7Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
8Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Sky Procycling0:00:26 
9Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:28 
10Fabrice Jeandesboz (Fra) Sojasun  
11David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
12Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
13Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Movistar Team  
14Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) Sojasun0:01:12 
15Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
16Stéphane Rossetto (Fra) BigMat-Auber 93  
17Amets Txurruka (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:01:31 
18Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
19Thomas Degand (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty0:03:51 
20Christian Knees (Ger) Sky Procycling0:04:16 
Back to top