Wild wins Ronde van Gelderland

Bronzini, Hosking trail behind Dutch sprinter

Argos-Shimano's sprinter Kirsten Wild took home her eighth victory of the season in the Ronde van Gelderland, sprinting to victory ahead of Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda) and Chloe Hosking (Hitec Products) in Apeldoorn.

The Argos-Shimano team and the other sprinters' teams led the chase of solo escapee Shara Gillow (Orica-AIS), who opened up a gap of 90 seconds with 30km left to race. As Gillow's gap fell, Annemiek van Vleuten (Rabobank) countered, but both were brought back, setting up the bunch sprint.

"It was a very tough race," said Wild. "In the end, we were forced to take control and the whole team, especially Willeke Knol and Amy Pieters, made sure the break was caught and we could prepare ourselves for the sprint. I am really satisfied about our performance today."

Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling directeur sportif Simon Cope was pleased with his team's performance, although Bronzini was not quick enough to pull off the win. “The team put Giorgia into the best position possible in that last couple of kilometres,” Cope said. “The last kilometre had three turns in it, so it was technical.

“Everyone did their job and delivered Giorgia onto Kirsten’s wheel,” he added. “I think she actually got by her, but I think Wild looked at her and went again; which is what Mark Cavendish does to people, so what more can you do.”

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kirsten Wild (Ned) Argos - Shimano3:31:04 
2Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling  
3Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products UCK  
4Carmen Small (USA) Team Specialized- Lululemon  
5Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) GSD Gestion - Kallisto  
6Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products UCK  
7Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Team Specialized- Lululemon  
8Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica - AIS  
9Jolien D'Hoore (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
10Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Rabobank-Liv Giant  
11Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team  
12Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Rabobank-Liv Giant  
13Moniek Tenniglo (Ned)  
14Monique Van De Ree (Ned) CyclelivePLUS-Zannata Ladies Team  
15Yulia Blindyuk (Rus) RusVelo  
16Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
17Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) RusVelo  
18Amy Pieters (Ned) Argos - Shimano  
19Ana Bianca Schnitzmeier (Ger) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling  
20Nina Kessler (Ned) Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team  
21Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Rabobank-Liv Giant  
22Annette Edmondson (Aus) Orica - AIS  
23Inge Roggeman (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
24Danielle King (GBr) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling  
25Katie Colclough (GBr) Team Specialized- Lululemon  
26Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team  
27Isabelle Soderberg (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
28Jessie Maclean (Aus) Orica - AIS  
29Julie Leth (Den)  
30Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) CyclelivePLUS-Zannata Ladies Team  
31Emily Collins (Aus) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling  
32Carlee Taylor (Aus) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
33Beatrice Bartelloni (Ita) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling  
34Vera Koedooder (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
35Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
36Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team  
37Adrie Visser (Ned) Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team  
38Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica - AIS  
39Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Orica - AIS0:00:24 
40Nike Beckeringh (Ned)  
41Janine Van Der Meer (Ned) Team Futurumshop.nl  
42Jermaine Post (Ned)  
43Anouska Koster (Ned) Team Futurumshop.nl  
44Nicole Vernhout (Ned)  
45Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Hitec Products UCK  
46Samantha Van Steenis (Ned)  
47Inge Klep (Ned)  
48Jessy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Bioracer  
49Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
50Loren Rowney (Aus) Team Specialized- Lululemon  
51Lucy Garner (GBr) Argos - Shimano  
52Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)  
53Geerike Schreurs (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
54Willeke Knol (Ned) Argos - Shimano  
55Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (RSA) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
56Marissa Otten (Ned) CyclelivePLUS-Zannata Ladies Team  
57Kim Schoonbaert (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
58Marijn De Vries (Ned) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
59Ine Beyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Bioracer  
60Rachel Neylan (Aus) Hitec Products UCK  
61Annelies Dom (Bel) CyclelivePLUS-Zannata Ladies Team  
62Emily Kachorek (USA)0:00:43 
63Natalie Van Gogh (Ned)  
64Thalita De Jong (Ned) Rabobank-Liv Giant  
65Anastasiya Chulkova (Rus) RusVelo  
66Iris Slappendel (Ned) Rabobank-Liv Giant  
67Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling  
68Ines Klok (Ned)0:00:57 
69Tayler Wiles (USA) Team Specialized- Lululemon  
70Judith Bloem (Ned)0:01:08 
71Hanna Nilsson (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
72Rozanne Slik (Ned)  
73Iris Van Der Stelt (Ned)  
74Lauren Hall (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies  
75Sarah Lena Hofmann (Ger) Team Futurumshop.nl0:01:17 
76Elena Bocharnikova (Rus) RusVelo0:01:21 
77Shara Gillow (Aus) Orica - AIS  
78Anne Ewing (GBr)0:01:29 
79Jitske Kuiper (Ned)  
80Kirsten Niessen (Ned)  
81Lina-Kristin Schink (Ger) GSD Gestion - Kallisto  
82Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products UCK  
83Aagtje Dijkman (Ned)  
84Latoya Brulee (Bel) CyclelivePLUS-Zannata Ladies Team  
85Ingeborg Kreuze (Ned)  
86Femke Verstichelen (Bel)  
87Amy Bradley (Aus)  
88Lisanne Soemanta (Ned)  
89Stephanie Roorda (Can) GSD Gestion - Kallisto  
90Mascha Mulder (Ned)  
91Ivana Tiessens (Ned)  
92Janneke Busser Kanis (Ned) Argos - Shimano  
93Mayra Del Rocio Rocha Guerrero (Mex) GSD Gestion - Kallisto  
94Kirsten Peetoom (Ned)  
95Esra Tromp (Ned) Argos - Shimano0:04:03 
96Mary Rose Postma (Ned)0:05:10 
97Tone Hatteland (Nor) Hitec Products UCK  
98Ingrid Lorvik (Nor)  
99Linnea Sjöblom (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
100Jessica Cutler (USA)  
101Nancy Van Der Burg (Ned)  
102Ann-Sophie Duyck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
103Silke Kogelman (Ned)  
104Anne Terpstra (Ned)  
105Trieneke Fokkens (Ned)  
DNFLaura Murray (GBr)  
DNFThrude Natholmen (Nor)  
DNFMelissa Van Neck (Ned)  
DNFJohanna Nilsson (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
DNFCharlotte Peeters (Ned)  
DNFAnnet Pit (Ned)  
DNFPenny Rowson (GBr)  
DNFKendall Ryan (USA)  
DNFAstrid Schuitema (Ned)  
DNFMelissa Slewe (Ned)  
DNFCorinne Smit (Ned)  
DNFJessica Smits (Ned)  
DNFWinanda Spoor (Ned)  
DNFRowena Van De Klundert (Ned)  
DNFSimone Van Der Star (Ned)  
DNFMarjan Stokman (Ned)  
DNFRebecca Talen (Ned) Rabobank-Liv Giant  
DNFHanne Tersmette (Ned)  
DNFHester Wagenaar (Ned)  
DNFRuth Winder (USA)  
DNFGenevieve Whitson (Aus)  
DNFHenriette Woering (Ned)  
DNFYukiyo Hori (Jpn)  
DNFMaria Mishina (Rus) RusVelo  
DNFDanielle Meijering (Ned)  
DNFKristin Mcgrath (USA) Exergy Twenty16  
DNFDaniëlle Lissenberg (Ned)  
DNFMiriam Lassche (Ned)  
DNFHarriet Koorn (Ned)  
DNFTessa De Moyer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Bioracer  
DNFJessica Kihlbom (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
DNFFemke Van Kessel (Ned)  
DNFNathalie Van Katwijk (Ned)  
DNFLaura Van Der Kamp (Ned) Team Futurumshop.nl  
DNFNathalie Jolink (Ned)  
DNFSigrid Jochems (Ned)  
DNFGilke Croket (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Bioracer  
DNFYvonne Van Dam (Ned)  
DNFCharlene Delev (Ger) GSD Gestion - Kallisto  
DNFDaisy Depoorter (Bel) CyclelivePLUS-Zannata Ladies Team  
DNFKelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Bioracer  
DNFVibeke Dybwad (Nor)  
DNFKaren Elzing (Ned) Team Futurumshop.nl  
DNFAafke Eshuis (Ned)  
DNFMichelle Geoghegan (Irl)  
DNFAlie Gercama (Ned) Team Futurumshop.nl  
DNFGillian Carleton (Can) Team Specialized- Lululemon  
DNFJanicke Gunvaldsen (Nor)  
DNFHanna Helamb (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
DNFNatalie Van Der Hoeven (Ned)  
DNFGina Hofland (Ned)  
DNFSofie Van Horik (Ned)  
DNFBritt Jansen (Ned)  
DNFKirsten Coppens (Ned)  
DNFAmanda Bongaards (Ned)  
DNFElse Belmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Bioracer  
DNFAshlynn Van Baarle (Ned) Faren-Let's Go Finland  
DNFKim De Baat (Ned) Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team  
DNFJane Barr (GBr)  
DNFLauren Arnouts (Ned)  
DNFTina Andreassen (Nor)  


Related Articles

Back to top