Pieters wins elite women's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Johansson and Armitstead round out top three

Amy Pieters (Team Giant-Shimano) won the women’s edition Omloop Het Nieuwsblad in Belgium on Saturday beating Emma Johansson (Orica – AIS) and Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) into second and third, respectfully.

The trio broke clear midway through the race and despite a concentrated effort to reel in the break they survived with Liesbet De Vocht (Lotto Belisol Ladies) leading home the bunch in fourth.

The win was Pieters second triumph of the season so far after she also won a stage at the Ladies Tour of Qatar last month.

“Four of us got away on the Paterberg and then on the Paderstraat it dropped to three. I knew they were good sprinters too but I was confident in myself and knew that if it came back together we had Kirsten [Wild] behind.

“I started the sprint from the front and it really was all or nothing. What a start to the season. The team work was fantastic again today. It’s great to be part of such a good group and to have the support that we do.

With Wild in such strong form following her overall success and dominance in Qatar, (Team Giant-Shimano) played the perfect tactic with Pieters in the move and Wild covering from behind.

“The tactics for today were for Amy to be the leader. It worked out really well and when she was in front we were in the great situation of having Kirsten Wild and Maaike Polspoel behind to keep the pressure on the other teams,” said their team coach.

“We expected that the break would go early but we didn’t think that such a small group would make it all the way to the finish. The gap went out to 1’50″ at which point we put some pressure on behind to make sure that we still had other cards to play. It worked out perfectly and it’s amazing that we still have a 100% win record. It’s like a dream.”



Elite women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Amy Pieters (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano 3:30:15  
2 Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica - AIS    
3 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
4 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies 0:00:06  
5 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano    
6 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata    
7 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Specialized - Lululemon    
8 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Hitec Products    
9 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team    
10 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
11 Irene San Sebastian Lasa (Spa)    
12 Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
13 Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
14 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
15 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo    
16 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team    
17 Latoya Brulee (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata    
18 Jessie Daams (Bel) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
19 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team    
20 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized - Lululemon    
21 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Team Giant-Shimano    
22 Audrey Cordon (Fra) Hitec Products 0:00:11  
23 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica - AIS    
24 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:13  
25 Janneke Ensing (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:22  
26 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:03:53  
27 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products    
28 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products 0:06:22  
29 Daniela Gass (Ger) Autoglas Wetteren Cycling Team    
30 Elise Delzenne (Fra) Specialized - Lululemon    
31 Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata    
32 Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano    
33 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team    
34 Samantha Schneider (USA) Tibco / To The Top    
35 Kaat Van Der Meulen (Bel) Keukens Redant Cycling Team    
36 Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) Tibco / To The Top    
37 Esra Tromp (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team    
38 Evy Kuijpers (Ned) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata    
39 Anouska Koster (Ned) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata    
40 Hanna Nilsson (Swe) Autoglas Wetteren Cycling Team    
41 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata    
42 Francesca Cauz (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
43 Lucy Garner (GBr) Team Giant-Shimano    
44 Jessy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo    
45 Sarah Roy (Aus) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.    
46 Lauren Stephens (USA) Tibco / To The Top    
47 Ines Klok (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team    
48 Mary Rose Postma (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team    
49 Celine Van Severen (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
50 Femke Van Kessel (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team    
51 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team    
52 Valerie Demey (Bel) Keukens Redant Cycling Team    
53 Alexis Ryan (USA) Usa National Team    
54 Mirthe Wagenaar (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team    
55 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized - Lululemon    
56 Charlotte Becker (Ger) Wiggle Honda    
57 Ann-Sophie Duyck (Bel) Autoglas Wetteren Cycling Team    
58 Sarah Rijkes (Aut) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
59 Anna Knauer (Ger) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team    
60 Willeke Knol (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano    
61 Stephanie De Croock (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen    
62 Jessie Maclean (Aus) Orica - AIS    
63 Lauren Komanski (USA) Usa National Team    
64 Mayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Wiggle Honda    
65 Maura Kinsella (USA) Usa National Team    
66 Anna Sanchis Chafer (Spa) Wiggle Honda    
67 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:06:29  
68 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Orica - AIS    
69 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team    
70 Julia Soek (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano    
71 Jeanne Koorevaar (Ned) Jan Van Arckel    
72 Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team 0:06:32  
73 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Estado De Mexico Faren 0:06:38  
74 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.    
75 Steffy Van Den Haute (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen 0:08:50  
76 Kelly Markus (Ned) Team Rytger 0:08:52  
77 Isabelle Beckers (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
78 Nathasja Nieuwenhuizen (Ned) Endura Lady Force    
79 Emma Grant (GBr) Tibco / To The Top    
80 Nina Kessler (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
81 Kelly Van Den Steen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo    
82 Irene Bitto (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
83 Marion Rousse (Fra) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
84 Roxane Fournier (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.    
85 Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86.    
86 Chiara Pierobon (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
87 Nike Beckeringh (Ned) Jan Van Arckel    
88 Tamina Oliver (GBr) Endura Lady Force    
89 Kim De Baat (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team    
90 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle Honda    
91 Carlee Taylor (Aus) Orica - AIS    
92 Anisha Vekemans (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
93 Lensy Debboudt (Bel) Keukens Redant Cycling Team    
94 Giada Borgato (Ita) Estado De Mexico Faren    
95 Marjolein Claessen (Ned) Endura Lady Force    
96 Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica - AIS    
97 Asja Paladin (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
98 Amanda Miller (USA) Tibco / To The Top    
99 Rikke Lønne (Den) Team Rytger 0:10:30  
100 Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team    
101 Mieke Leeman (Bel) Wielerclub De Sprinters Malderen    
102 Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products    
103 Melanie Späth (Irl) Team Rytger    
104 Lucy Coldwell (GBr) Scotland    
105 Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Estado De Mexico Faren    
106 Judith Bloem (Ned) Jan Van Arckel    
107 Hilde Oudman (Ned) WV Breda Ladies Team    
108 Emily Collins (NZl) Wiggle Honda    

Related Articles

Back to top