Vermunt scores solo women's win

Lowe tops Under 19 field

Invercargill physiotherapist Gabby Vermunt claimed the biggest win of her career when she won the RaboPlus national women’s club road cycling title near Nelson today. Vermunt, who broke away with Nelson’s Karen Fulton for 90kms today, cleared out on the final lap to claim the title, upsetting favourites including time trial winner Bronwen Frazer (Star & Garter Tasman) and defending champion Serena Sheridan (Ramblers), who also used to ride for the local Tasman club.

It proved a master stroke for Vermunt who went into the 128km race wanting to get a break on the greyhounds in the pack. “I wanted to get away and I knew Karen would want to be in a break. I kept an eye on her. We both tried once and it didn’t work but we tried again on the second lap and got clear,” Vermunt said. “Karen was really strong and we managed to get clear.”

Vermunt said the freshening winds played in the favour of the breakaway pair, rather than the lumpy 16km lap in the Upper Moutere hills. “We put our head down and lapped it out in the winds and got an advantage on the pack. I was hanging out to get the two minute board and once we got that, I thought we would be able to hold them off,” she said.

The Southland rider said she waited for the hill on the final lap to make her move, going on to win in 3:48.41. Fulton finished nearly one minute behind in second with her Star & Garter Tasman club mate Lana King sprinting clear of the pack to claim third.

“It was awesome. I was fourth in the time trial last year and thought that was pretty good but this is very cool,” she said.

Vermunt will now use the race as a platform for next month’s Oceania track championships in her home city.

Talented Taupo rider Patrick Bevin took out the under-19 championship with a powerful finish from Thomas Hubbard (Pegasus) after the pair went clear, while Tauranga’s Courteney Lowe r(Tauranga) won the under-19 girls in a bunch sprint from Philippa Sutton 9Hamilton City) and Kate Chilcott (North Harbour).


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Elite 128km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gabrielle Vermunt (Cycling Southland)3:48:41 
2Karen Fulton (Star & Garter Tasman)0:00:50 
3Lana King (Star & Garter Tasman)0:03:00 
Under-19, 64km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Courteney Lowe (Tauranga)1:54:11 
2Philippa Sutton (Hamilton City)  
3Kate Chilcott (North Harbour)  
35-39 years, 80km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Borthwick (Tinwald)2:31:08 
2Rhonda Murphy (Cuddon Marlborough)  
40-44 years, 80km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Cathy Hamer (Hokitika)2:31:07 
2Julie Turner (Star & Garter Tasman)0:00:01 
3Amanda Minty (Papanui)  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Under 19, 128km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Patrick Bevin (Taupo)3:16:45 
2Thomas Hubbard (Pegasus)0:00:02 
3Cameron Karwowski (Cycling Southland)0:00:30 
35-39 years, 128km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Craig Lawn (Port Nicholson Poneke)3:34:02 
2Ian Smallman (Pegasus)  
3Brent Allnutt (Pegasus)  
40-44 years, 96km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Craig Scott (Papanui)2:34:00 
2Nick Batt (Star & Garter Tasman)1:00:20 
3Nigel Vaiese (Pegasus)  
45-49 years, 96km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kerry Harford (Ramblers)2:35:05 
2Stewart Imrie (Counties Manukau)  
3Andrew Chappell (Papanui)0:00:01 


Back to top