TechPowered By

More tech

January 18, Eliminator:

Fellows and O'Shea win eliminator

Cycling News
January 21, 2013, 15:27 GMT,
January 21, 2013, 15:34 GMT

Several favorites battle mechanicals

Andrew Fellows and Katherine O'Shea led the elite ranks in the 2013 Subaru All Mountain Cup National Series after day one's eliminator race at Mount Buller, Victoria.

O'Shea clinched the win in the women's group over Jaclyn Schapel and 17-Year-old Holly Harris.

"I really enjoyed the eliminator format," O'Shea said. "It suits my power and my style of racing. I got a new bike today, and I think it made the difference.

"It was hard enough getting through to the final because I was racing against Peta Mullens, who has been going so well on the road, and Nathalie Schneitter, who has won World Cups before.

"In the final, I knew I needed a really good start and I got that. Jaclyn was on my wheel the whole time and she really challenged me so it was a great race," O'Shea said.

O'Shea admitted that having the lead in the general classification would be tough to hold onto heading into stage 2's Olympic cross country.

"It's great to have a lead heading after the eliminator. Jenni King is performing really well in the cross country format, and I will be looking out for her tomorrow," O'Shea said of the AMC defending champion.

"I have been practicing a lot on the descents so I am hoping that will come into play tomorrow," the 33-year-old said.


In the men's event, Fellows suffered a mechanical in the eliminator final to finish with silver, yet the Queenslander managed to claim the overall lead after finishing highest ranked against his elite competitors.

However it was 17-year-old Ben Bradley who took it to the senior riders to claim victory in the stage over Fellows and Tristan Ward.

A three-time junior national champion, Bradley led the race from start to finish and said his experience racing in Europe had helped him with the format.

"I got a good jump off the gun which I had done for all my heats, I knew if I could get first off the line then I'd be pretty safe to get the win," the defending under 19 national champion said.

"Once you got to the first corner there was no passing, it was so fast that no one could get by," Bradley described.

With race heavyweights Sid Taberlay, Chris Jongewaard and Andrew Blair all suffering mechanicals in the heats, the door was left open for Bradley to take the win and top spot in the under 19 age category general classification.

"There were time bonus' up for grabs in the eliminator so it gives me a little bit of an advantage heading into the cross country tomorrow which everybody wants to win. It's a big confidence boost to be leading on the overall GC," Bradley said.

The short but exciting course consisted of gravel, pavement, road, hills, sweeping bends and stair descents and centred in Mount Buller's village square allowing riders to test and showcase their skills for the spectators.

The "eliminator" category has proven popular on the world stage and was introduced into the 2013 Australian National Series as a result.

Full Results

Elite men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Andrew Fellows    
2 Nicholas Morgan    
3 Nick Both    
4 Sid Taberlay    
5 Andrew Blair    
6 Luke Fetch    
7 Michael Illing    
8 Jarrod Quinn    
9 Jack Haig    
10 Chris Jongewaard    
11 Shaun Lewis    
12 Adrian Jackson    
13 Mark Tupalski    
14 Sam Chancellor    
DNS Andrew Arthur    
DNS Scott Needham    
DNS Joel Tracksdorf    
Elite women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Katherine O'Shea    
2 Jaclyn Schapel    
3 Lindsay Gorrell    
4 Peta Mullens    
5 Nathalie Schneitter    
6 Jenni King    
7 Tory Thomas    
8 Therese Rhodes    
9 Melissa Anset    
DNS Katie Chancellor    
U23 men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Benjamin Forbes    
2 Sebastian Jayne    
3 Brendan Johnston    
4 Jason Lowndes    
5 Alexander Meyland    
6 Tom Goddard    
7 Brendan Adair    
8 Harry Herne    
9 Billy Sewell    
10 Russell Nankervis    
11 Zack Agius    
12 Ben Comfort    
13 Michael Crosbie    
14 Jack Steele    
15 Lachlan Bakewell    
16 Rodger Pogson-Manning    
DNS Cameron Ivory    
DNS Tane Crosby    
DNS Torren Lamont    
DNS Casper Oxlee    
DNS Travis Parkley-Simpson    
U19 men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Ben Bradley    
2 Tristan Ward    
3 Felix Smalley    
4 Tasman Nankervis    
5 Jack Lavis    
6 Scott Bowden    
7 Chris Hamilton    
8 Mitchell Greenway    
9 Jordan Butler    
10 David Bleakley    
11 Hamish Prosser    
12 Jack Jude    
13 Simon Harrington    
14 Ethan Kelly    
15 Dean Madden    
16 Cameron Prosser    
17 Jack Gardner    
18 Alexander Yallouris    
19 Samuel Barnden    
20 Josh Abbey    
DNS Malte Adebahr    
DNS Austen Hawkins    
U19 women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Holly Harris    
2 Emily Parkes    
3 Ella Scanlan-Bloor    
4 Karlee Gibson    
5 Sophie Weston    
U17 men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Luke Brame    
2 Foley Lachal    
3 Liam Jeffries    
4 Ben Walkerden    
5 Guy Frail    
6 Callum Carson    
7 Michael Potter    
8 Dylan McKenna    
9 Tom Green    
10 Jet Turner    
11 Oliver Armstrong    
12 Jack Booth    
13 Joshua Sullivan    
14 Declan Prosser    
15 Mitchell Dosser    
16 Ben Read    
DNS Alex Lack    
U15 men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Kian Lerch-Mackinnon    
2 Charlie Brodie    
3 Cameron Wright    
4 Matthew Dinham    
5 Jasper Albrecht    
6 Josh Battye    
7 Joseph Simpson    
8 Oliver Gibson    
9 Tristan Miller    
10 Piper Albrecht    
11 Callum Inglis    
U15 women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Sally Potter    
2 Zoe Cuthbert    
Veteran men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Jarrod Moroni    
2 Lucas Sproson    
3 Brad Clarke    
4 Andrew Low    
5 Damien Enderby    
DNS Glen Cunial    
DNS Tim Ferres    
Veteran women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Philippa Rostrum    
Masters women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Justine Leahy    
2 Jennifer Enderby    
Super masters men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Martin Keir    
2 Craig Peacock    
3 Simon Ronalds    
DNS David Danks    
DNS Paul Darvodelsky    
Super masters women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Sharon Prutton    
Ultra masters men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Myles Higgins    
DNS Nicholas Bird    
Expert men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Greg Doerksen    
2 Gregory Manttan    
3 Gregory Ellis    
DNS Mark Raymond    
DNS Daniel Van Der Ploeg