Griffiths rides to four cross win

Beerten, Buchanan crash in final.

Czech rider Jana Horakova managed to hold onto her World Cup series lead after the second round of the four cross World Cup, despite not making the final round of racing in Maribor on Saturday. Extremely muddy conditions led to an upset the women's race, with Fionn Griffiths (Norco World Team) taking the win.

The incredibly sloppy conditions meant that riders were sliding and crashing in every round. A strong start at least kept a rider out of the battle behind, but was no guarantee that an error wouldn't take her out anyway. In the 16-rider women's field, defending World Cup champion Anneke Beerten (Suspension Centre) and World Champion Caroline Buchanan (Commencal) each won their respective opening heats and then went one-two in the semi-final to make the final four.

Griffiths finished second in each of her first two rides, but it was enough to move on to the final, along with Australian Sarsha Huntington.

World Cup leader Jana Horakova ended up sixth in the final standings.

In the final, Griffiths and Buchanan bumped into each other, with the World Champion Buchanan going down, and Beerten crashing into her. This gave Griffiths a clear run to the finish line.

"It could have gone either way," said Griffiths, "so I'm very happy to get this result. My gates are not great, as everyone knows, so I hung back a bit to see how things would work out. She [Buchanan] bobbled on a corner and bumped into me. I pushed back a bit, she went the other way and went down. Then I just pedalled as hard as I could."

Horakova continues to hold onto the World Cup lead, followed by Huntington, with Beerten in third.

Full Results

Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team  
2Sarsha Huntington (Aus)  
3Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center  
4Caroline Buchanan (Aus)  
5Anita Molcik (Aut)  
6Jana Horakova (Cze)  
7Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center  
8Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)  
9Mio Suemasa (Jpn)  
10Katy Curd (GBr)  
11Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut) RC Alpine Commencal Austria  
12Steffi Marth (Ger)  
13Lucia Oetjen (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team  
14Romana Labounkova (Cze)  
15Tereza Votavova (Cze)  
16Stephanie Teltscher (Ger) Dr-Gravity Union  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team96 pts
2Norco World Team40 
3Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team38 
4Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team35 
5Suspension Center30 
7Rc Alpine Commencal Austria6 
Elite women - World cup individual standings after two rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jana Horakova (Cze)120 pts
2Anita Molcik (Aut)105 
3Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team100 
4Sarsha Huntington (Aus)95 
5Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center90 
6Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center60 
7Caroline Buchanan (Aus)40 
8Romana Labounkova (Cze)30 
9Katy Curd (GBr)10 
10Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)5 
11Lucia Oetjen (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team5 
Teams - World Cup standings after two rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1RSP 4 Cross Racing Team160 pts
2Suspension Center75 
3Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team75 
4Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team54 
5Norco World Team40 
7Agang Racing30 
8Rocky Mountain UK20 
9RC Alpine Commencal Austria12 
102Stage Factory5 
11Thoemus Racing Team3 


Back to top