Moseley wins third World Cup in Mont-Sainte-Anne

British racer blazes to another victory on course where she became world champ

World Cup leader Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing) took her third win of the season at Mont-Sainte-Anne, Quebec, to extend her lead in the overall standings after four rounds of racing. Moseley, who had qualified first by an impressive 11.5 seconds, had more of a battle on her hands in the final, with second-ranked Floriane Pugin (Scott 11) finishing 1.850 seconds behind.

Canadian national champion Micayla Gatto was the first to go under 5:40, but she was quickly supplanted by Emmeline Ragot (Team GR). Sabrina Jonnier (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) was next to sit in the hot seat, taking the time down to 5:21. Her time would hold until the final three riders came down the course, with each bumping the other out of the lead.

Rachel Atherton (Commencal) took a second off of Jonnier's time, but even she knew that wouldn't be enough, and Pugin came in nearly five seconds faster. But Moseley was faster still - over two and half seconds up at the first split, and an additional second up by the second split. She lost a bit of time in the lowest part of the course, but still comfortably took the win, to extend her lead over Pugin to 140 points with three events remaining.

"I've definitely got good memories from Mont-Sainte-Anne, when I won [the world title] here last year," said Moseley. "But the course changed completely yesterday after it had been so wet all week. It had some big holes and was possibly the roughest Mont-Sainte-Anne I have ever raced. It's really great to get the win here again, but it's the same top three every race, so I can't count on the title yet."

Moseley now has 910 points to Pugin's 770, with Atherton in third at 580 points. Manon Carpenter (Madison Saracen) continues to lead the Junior World Cup, with 200 points.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing0:05:12.980 
2Floriane Pugin (Fra) Scott 110:05:14.830 
3Rachel Atherton (GBr) Commencal0:05:20.510 
4Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain0:05:21.474 
5Myriam Nicole (Fra) Riding Addiction Commencal0:05:22.441 
6Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 110:05:28.543 
7Petra Bernhard (Aut) Alpine Commencal Austria0:05:30.959 
8Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Team GR0:05:31.039 
9Céline Gros (Fra) Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie0:05:34.759 
10Micayla Gatto (Can)0:05:37.853 
11Jacqueline Harmony (USA)0:05:41.576 
12Jill Kintner (USA)0:05:44.445 
13Jessica Stone (GBr)0:05:46.270 
14Manon Carpenter° (GBr) Madison Saracen0:05:48.781 
15Miranda Miller (Can)0:05:53.389 
16Miriam Ruchti (Swi)0:05:56.101 
17Darian Harvey (USA)0:05:59.238 
18Gabriela Williams (Cze)0:06:10.944 
19Anne Laplante (Can)0:06:37.222 
20Fionn Griffiths (GBr)0:10:11.917 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Trek World Racing101 pts
2Santa Cruz Syndicate64 
3Scott 1157 
4Giant Factory Off-Road Team52 
5Lapierre International51 
6Mondraker Factory Team37 
7Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz36 
8MS Evil Racing35 
10Devinci Global Racing30 
11Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain26 
12Riding Addiction Commencal22 
13Alpine Commencal Austria18 
14Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof18 
15Team GR17 
16Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team15 
17Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie14 
Elite women downhill World Cup standings after four rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing910 pts
2Floriane Pugin (Fra) Scott 11770 
3Rachel Atherton (GBr) Commencal580 
4Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain535 
5Myriam Nicole (Fra) Riding Addiction Commencal419 
6Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 11353 
7Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Team GR340 
8Petra Bernhard (Aut) Alpine Commencal Austria328 
9Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Team GR287 
10Céline Gros (Fra) Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie245 
11Jill Kintner (USA)210 
12Manon Carpenter° (GBr) Madison Saracen200 
13Mio Suemasa (Jpn)181 
14Micayla Gatto (Can)175 
15Miriam Ruchti (Swi)130 
16Jacqueline Harmony (USA)115 
17Morgane Charre (Fra) Passion Velo Thiers Stemtee85 
18Harriet Rucknagel (Ger)80 
19Anita Ager-Wick (Nor)80 
20Miranda Miller (Can)60 
21Jessica Stone (GBr)40 
22Fanny Lombard (Fra)35 
23Joanne Muoser (Swi) SC - Intense30 
24Rika Olivier (RSA)25 
25Darian Harvey (USA)20 
26Maria Michalogiannaki (Gre) Unior Tools Team20 
27Gabriela Williams (Cze)15 
28Sandra Reynier° (Fra) CK Racing Santacruz15 
29Anne Laplante (Can)10 
30Emily Horridge (GBr)10 


Back to top