Contador wins Milano-Torino

Ulissi, Kessiakoff complete podium at Italy's oldest Classic

Alberto Contador (Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) won the Milan-Turin race thanks to a powerful acceleration one kilometre from the finish at the summit of the Superga climb overlooking Turin.

The oldest race on the Italian race calendar finished atop the Superga after a first passage and a short final circuit. Contador was unstoppable on the final part of the climb, attacking and winning alone. Italy’s Diego Ulissi (Lampre-ISD) finished second, Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana Pro Team) was third, with Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha Team) fourth.

Saxo Bank worked hard for Contador all race, chasing down the early break by Federico Rocchetti (Utensilnord Named) and Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini-Selle Italia) and then pulling back a six-rider move after the first climb of the Superga sparked by Eros Capecchi (Liquigas-Cannondale).

It was Contador's first one-day race victory since he turned professional in 2002. All his other victories have come in stage races.

"This is a great win. My teammates believed I could do it from the start of the race and so I couldn't mess it up. After all the work they did for me at the Vuelta, I still feel indebted to them and wanted to pay them back with another win," Contador said.

“This morning, when I woke up, weighed 2.4kg more than at the Vuelta, I knew there were 190 kilometres of racing and that I hadn't trained yesterday and had only done 40km the day before. But the point was to get to the finish line with some strength in my legs.

“I had to make a full-on effort. Joaquim [Rodriguez] had taken a few metres and I had to work to catch him. I took a few breaths on his wheel and then tried to go. I'm very, very happy to win, especially in Italy."

Contador dedicated his victory to Victor Cabedo –the young Basque rider who was recently killed in an accident while out training.

Ulissi was disappointed that he was unable to go with Contador in the final kilometre of the race but his ride boosted his confidence for Saturday's Il Lombardia.

"I'm sorry I didn’t manage to finish off a good race with the win," he said in a press release from his Lampre-ISD team.

" I raced well, dosing my energy and reading the race carefully. I didn’t have a great moment on the first climb of the Superga but I felt better on the final climb. I followed Kessiakoff and kept him within distance and then got on Rodriguez's wheel. But when Contador went it was game over even though I tried to close the gap. Still, at least I'm confident I'll be in the action at Il Lombardia."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank4:32:12 
2Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD0:00:15 
3Fredrik Carl Wilhelm Kessiakoff (Swe) Pro Team Astana0:00:24 
4Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team0:00:36 
5Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone  
6Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:00:43 
7Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:00:45 
8Chris Anker Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank  
9Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
10Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:53 
11Christopher Horner (USA) Radioshack-Nissan  
12Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin-Sharp  
13Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
14Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team  
15Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
16John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:06 
17Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes0:01:11 
18Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:16 
19Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:01:18 
20Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) Lampre - ISD0:01:20 
21Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Pro Team Astana  
22Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
23Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin-Sharp  
24Kevin De Weert (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quickstep  
25Fabio Aru (Ita) Pro Team Astana  
26Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
27Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
28Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named  
29Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
30Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Utensilnord Named  
31Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale  
32Jan Bakelants (Bel) Radioshack-Nissan  
33Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Radioshack-Nissan  
34Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
35George Bennett (NZl) Radioshack-Nissan  
36Alessandro Proni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
37Luca Dodi (Ita) Team Idea  
38Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank  
39Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
40Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Garmin-Sharp  
41Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
42Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat  
43Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
44Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
45Patxi Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Utensilnord Named  
46Tanel Kangert (Est) Pro Team Astana  
47Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
48Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
49Francesco Failli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
50Alfredo Balloni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
51Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
52Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ-Big Mat  
53Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
54Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
55Roberto Giacobazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
56Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes  
57Matthew Lloyd (Aus) Lampre - ISD  
58Ben Hermans (Bel) Radioshack-Nissan  
59Luca Barla (Ita) Team Idea  
60Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes  
61Dries Devenyns (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quickstep  
62Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Katusha Team  
63Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Katusha Team  
64Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha Team  
65Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha Team  
66Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes  
67Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes  
68Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
69Fabio Piscopiello (Ita) Utensilnord Named  
70Serge Pauwels (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quickstep  
71Michael Rodriguez Galindo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes  
72Bruno Pires (Por) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank  
73Simone Ponzi (Ita) Pro Team Astana  
74Cristian Cominelli (Ita) Team Idea  
75Mads Christensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank  
76Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia  
77Sergio Lagana (Ita) Utensilnord Named  
78Thierry Hupond (Fra) Argos - Shimano  
79Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
80Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat  
81Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
82Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat  
83Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat  
84Michal Golas (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quickstep  
85Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Argos - Shimano  
86Thomas Damuseau (Fra) Argos - Shimano  
87Aristide Ratti (Ita) Team Idea  
88Sylvain Georges (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
89Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
90Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
91Warren Barguil (Fra) Argos - Shimano  
92Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat  
93Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Argos - Shimano  
94Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
95Stiven Fanelli (Ita) Utensilnord Named  

Related Articles

Back to top