Contador wins Milano-Torino

Ulissi, Kessiakoff complete podium at Italy's oldest Classic

Alberto Contador (Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) won the Milan-Turin race thanks to a powerful acceleration one kilometre from the finish at the summit of the Superga climb overlooking Turin.

The oldest race on the Italian race calendar finished atop the Superga after a first passage and a short final circuit. Contador was unstoppable on the final part of the climb, attacking and winning alone. Italy’s Diego Ulissi (Lampre-ISD) finished second, Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana Pro Team) was third, with Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha Team) fourth.

Saxo Bank worked hard for Contador all race, chasing down the early break by Federico Rocchetti (Utensilnord Named) and Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini-Selle Italia) and then pulling back a six-rider move after the first climb of the Superga sparked by Eros Capecchi (Liquigas-Cannondale).

It was Contador's first one-day race victory since he turned professional in 2002. All his other victories have come in stage races.

"This is a great win. My teammates believed I could do it from the start of the race and so I couldn't mess it up. After all the work they did for me at the Vuelta, I still feel indebted to them and wanted to pay them back with another win," Contador said.

“This morning, when I woke up, weighed 2.4kg more than at the Vuelta, I knew there were 190 kilometres of racing and that I hadn't trained yesterday and had only done 40km the day before. But the point was to get to the finish line with some strength in my legs.

“I had to make a full-on effort. Joaquim [Rodriguez] had taken a few metres and I had to work to catch him. I took a few breaths on his wheel and then tried to go. I'm very, very happy to win, especially in Italy."

Contador dedicated his victory to Victor Cabedo –the young Basque rider who was recently killed in an accident while out training.

Ulissi was disappointed that he was unable to go with Contador in the final kilometre of the race but his ride boosted his confidence for Saturday's Il Lombardia.

"I'm sorry I didn’t manage to finish off a good race with the win," he said in a press release from his Lampre-ISD team.

" I raced well, dosing my energy and reading the race carefully. I didn’t have a great moment on the first climb of the Superga but I felt better on the final climb. I followed Kessiakoff and kept him within distance and then got on Rodriguez's wheel. But when Contador went it was game over even though I tried to close the gap. Still, at least I'm confident I'll be in the action at Il Lombardia."

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 4:32:12  
2 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD 0:00:15  
3 Fredrik Carl Wilhelm Kessiakoff (Swe) Pro Team Astana 0:00:24  
4 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 0:00:36  
5 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone    
6 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone 0:00:43  
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox 0:00:45  
8 Chris Anker Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
10 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:53  
11 Christopher Horner (USA) Radioshack-Nissan    
12 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin-Sharp    
13 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
14 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team    
15 Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
16 John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:06  
17 Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes 0:01:11  
18 Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:16  
19 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox 0:01:18  
20 Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) Lampre - ISD 0:01:20  
21 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Pro Team Astana    
22 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
23 Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin-Sharp    
24 Kevin De Weert (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quickstep    
25 Fabio Aru (Ita) Pro Team Astana    
26 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
27 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
28 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
29 Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
30 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
31 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale    
32 Jan Bakelants (Bel) Radioshack-Nissan    
33 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Radioshack-Nissan    
34 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
35 George Bennett (NZl) Radioshack-Nissan    
36 Alessandro Proni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
37 Luca Dodi (Ita) Team Idea    
38 Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
39 Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
40 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Garmin-Sharp    
41 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
42 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat    
43 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
44 Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
45 Patxi Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Utensilnord Named    
46 Tanel Kangert (Est) Pro Team Astana    
47 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
48 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
49 Francesco Failli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
50 Alfredo Balloni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
51 Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
52 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ-Big Mat    
53 Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
54 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
55 Roberto Giacobazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
56 Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
57 Matthew Lloyd (Aus) Lampre - ISD    
58 Ben Hermans (Bel) Radioshack-Nissan    
59 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Idea    
60 Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
61 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quickstep    
62 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Katusha Team    
63 Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Katusha Team    
64 Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha Team    
65 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha Team    
66 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
67 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
68 Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
69 Fabio Piscopiello (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
70 Serge Pauwels (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quickstep    
71 Michael Rodriguez Galindo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
72 Bruno Pires (Por) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
73 Simone Ponzi (Ita) Pro Team Astana    
74 Cristian Cominelli (Ita) Team Idea    
75 Mads Christensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
76 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
77 Sergio Lagana (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
78 Thierry Hupond (Fra) Argos - Shimano    
79 Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
80 Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat    
81 Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
82 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat    
83 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat    
84 Michal Golas (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quickstep    
85 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Argos - Shimano    
86 Thomas Damuseau (Fra) Argos - Shimano    
87 Aristide Ratti (Ita) Team Idea    
88 Sylvain Georges (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
89 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
90 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
91 Warren Barguil (Fra) Argos - Shimano    
92 Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat    
93 Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Argos - Shimano    
94 Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
95 Stiven Fanelli (Ita) Utensilnord Named    

Related Articles

Back to top