Andersen wins espoir Liège - Bastogne - Liège

Boswell, Berry make two Americans on podium

Bontrager-Livestrong's Ian Boswell and Chipotle Development Team's Josh Berry overcame extreme weather conditions to finish second and third Saturday at the U23 Liege-Bastogne-Liege race in Belgium. Denmark's Michael Andersen (Glud & Marstrand) soloed in for the win.

Saturday’s weather, which included snow flurries, helped whittle the field of 198 starters to just 56 by the finish of the 180.8km U23 race that runs prior to this weekend's ProTour event. Boswell attacked the peloton with about 20 kilometers remaining and bridged to a seven-rider chase group, including Berry.

The leaders hunted down Andersen’s leading trio, which had escaped the peloton with about 70km remaining. Andersen attacked the lead group with just over 10km remaining in the race and set off for the finish on his own. At the top of the last climb of St. Nicholas with about 7 km to go, he led Boswell, Berry and the two former riders from his lead group by about 31 seconds.

The chase group swelled to 10 riders before Boswell attacked one more time at 5km. Berry also jumped away from that group, and the two Americans set off in search of the lone Dane at the head of the race. But Boswell soon ran out of race course, and Andersen finished about 15 seconds ahead of Boswell and then Berry at about 52 seconds in arrears. Team USA's Larry Warbasse, who finished fifth last year, was 24th.

The podium finish marks Boswell's best in three tries and the best-ever by an American. Berry, who was riding his first race for the US national team, told the local press that his upbringing in Idaho's Sun Valley prepared him well for the harsh conditions.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Glud & Marstrand 4:35:48  
2 Ian Boswell (USA) Bontrager Livestrong Team 0:00:15  
3 Joshua Berry (USA) Chipotle - First Solar 0:00:52  
4 Dieter Bouvry (Bel) EFC - OmegaPharma - Quick.Step 0:00:58  
5 Jimmy Turgis (Fra) Cc Nogent-sur-oise    
6 Samuel Spokes (Aus) EFC - OmegaPharma - Quick.Step 0:01:02  
7 Ethan Kimmince (Aus) EFC - OmegaPharma - Quick.Step 0:01:04  
8 Daan Olivier (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team    
9 Pierre-Henri Lecuisinier (Fra) Vendée U 0:01:07  
10 Kristian Dyrnes (Nor) Oster Hus - Ridley    
11 Jay Mccarthy (Aus) Team Jayco Skins    
12 Dimitri Peyskens (Bel) Vl Technics Abutriek    
13 Petr Vakoc (Cze) CC Etupes Le Doubs    
14 Sander Helven (Bel) Ovyta - Eijssen Acrog    
15 Gert-Jan Devos (Bel) Geox Fuji Test Team 0:01:10  
16 Warren Barguil (Fra) CC Etupes Le Doubs 0:02:02  
17 Axel Domont (Fra)    
18 Sean De Bie (Bel) Ovyta - Eijssen Acrog 0:02:40  
19 Gerry Druyts (Bel) EFC - OmegaPharma - Quick.Step    
20 Ludwig De Winter (Bel) Vérandas Willems - Cc Chevigny    
21 Yann Botrel (Fra)    
22 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto - Ridley Espoirs    
23 Ruben Zepuntke (Ger) Rabobank Continental Team    
24 Lawrence Warbasse (USA) BMC - Hincapie Sportswear Team    
25 Laurent Evrard (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles - Crédit Agricole    
26 Frederik Backaert (Bel) United Cycling Team Sint Truiden    
27 Axel Gremelpont (Bel) T.Palm - Pôle Continental Wallon    
28 Diego Van Looy (Bel) Geox Fuji Test Team 0:03:24  
29 Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team 0:03:28  
30 Antoine Demoitie (Bel) Idemasport - Biowanze    
31 Patrick Clausen (Den) Glud & Marstrand    
32 Campbell Flakemore (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers    
33 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Bontrager Livestrong Team    
34 Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Lotto - Ridley Espoirs    
35 Dylan Teuns (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht    
36 Antoine Warnier (Bel) Ucs Crabbé Performance VOO    
37 Bryan Kouwenbergh (Bel) Vl Technics Abutriek    
38 Thomas Vanbesien (Bel) Lotto - Ridley Espoirs    
39 Bram Van Broekhoven (Bel) Apk Quality Team    
40 Niels Tooth (Bel) Melbotech - Prorace Cycling Team    
41 Fredrik S Galta (Nor) Oster Hus - Ridley    
42 Jeremy Cornu (Fra) Vendée U    
43 Lawson Craddock (USA) Bontrager Livestrong Team    
44 Stig Broeckx (Bel) Lotto - Ridley Espoirs 0:04:53  
45 Kenzie Boutté (Bel) Soenens-Construkt Glas 0:10:24  
46 Gilles Loncin (Bel) EFC - OmegaPharma - Quick.Step    
47 James Oram (NZl) Bontrager Livestrong Team 0:11:34  
48 Quentin Borcy (Bel) Vérandas Willems - Cc Chevigny    
49 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team    
50 Janis Dakteris (Lat) T.Palm - Pôle Continental Wallon    
51 Jens Van Bijlen (Bel) United Cycling Team Sint Truiden    
52 Daniel Klemme (Ger)    
53 Jens Wallays (Bel) EFC - OmegaPharma - Quick.Step    
54 Phillip Müller (Ger)    
55 Brecht Ruyters (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht    
56 Arnaud Geronboux (Bel) Idemasport - Biowanze    
57 Niels Vandyck (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht    


Back to top