Shaw takes classic in two man sprint

Jory settles for second place

 Ballarat cyclist Patrick Shaw overcame the most testing challenge of his burgeoning career with an outstanding victory in the gruelling Launceston to New Norfolk Classic today. Shaw won the 208km last-man-standing affair narrowly from breakaway partners Chris Jory, of NSW, and the gutsy New Zealander Eliot Crowther.

Sixty one riders started the classic at Country Club Tasmania in Prospect Vale and only 27 pedalled into New Norfolk in brown’s cows fashion to complete the race, founded only last year as a replacement event for the 82-year-old Launceston to Hobart Classic.

“I never knew much about this event until today but, boy, it’s one of the best bike races in Australia,” Shaw exclaimed after crossing the line. “The course is so tough.”

Shaw, who competed in Europe for the last two years and contemplated retirement upon his return to Australia in January, is enjoying a remarkable domestic season, winning the Tour of Gippsland then finishing second in the Tour of Geelong.

The Virgin Blue-RBS Morgans rider enjoys an unassailable lead in the 2010 Scody Cup series which concludes with the Caterpillar Underground Mining Tour of Tasmania which starts in Strahan on Thursday.

Shaw’s father Dennis won the 1978 Melbourne to Warrnambool Classic – a fact not lost on Patrick as he celebrated his victory today.

“This is the closest thing to emulating my dad’s win in the ‘Warrnambool’,” Patrick said. “This is so exciting for me. To win a race like this really is special.”

The stumbling block to most riders in the classic was the 10km climb up the 1052- metre Poatina mountain which came only 59kms into the race.

Shaw and a small breakaway group of Jory, and New Zealanders Crowther, Shem Rogers and Jason Christie were more than seven minutes clear of their rivals at the top of the mountain and, with the exception of Christie who finished ninth, that’s where they stayed.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pat Shaw (Aus) Ballarat/Sebastopol C C5:30:25 
2Chris Jory (Aus) Southern Cross CC  
3Eliot Crowther (NZl) New Zealand0:00:05 
4Shem Rodger (NZl) New Zealand0:00:21 
5Cam Peterson (Aus) Peloton Sports Inc.0:06:17 
6Brendan Brooks (Aus) Murwillumbah Cycle Club  
7James Williamson (NZl) New Zealand0:06:28 
8Darren Rolfe (Aus) Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.  
9Jason Christie (NZl) New Zealand0:06:29 
10George Bennett (NZl) New Zealand  
11Matthew Marshall (NZl) New Zealand  
12Andrew Roe (Aus) Norwood C.C.0:06:33 
13Ben Dyball (Aus) Caravello CC0:06:41 
14Elmer Tim (Aus) Launceston City CC0:07:36 
15Matthew Opperman (Aus) Mt Gambier Cycling &Triathlon0:27:46 
16Scott Nolan (Aus) Southern Tasmanian Veterans0:29:07 
17Johnathon White (Aus) Mersey Valley Devonport CC0:32:31 
18Jim Moore (Aus) Sutherland Shire CC0:38:58 
19Russell Leary (Aus) Gold Coast Goldstars C C0:48:03 
20Dean Wilson (Aus) Mersey Valley Devonport CC0:48:12 
21Tom Sallai (Aus) Launceston City CC0:48:15 
22Glenn Myler (Aus) Northern Districts CC0:48:27 
23Tom Mcdonough (Aus) Coburg Cycling Club Inc0:52:08 
24Nathan White (Aus) Hobart Wheelers  
25Michael Stevens (Aus) Sydney CC0:53:17 
26David Fulton (Aus) Echuca/Moama Cycling Club0:53:32 
DNFGillett Rhys (Aus) Ballarat/Sebastopol C C  
DNFTaylor Gunman (NZl) New Zealand  
DNFMatthew Rice (Aus) Launceston City CC  
DNFMatthew Bishop (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC  
DNFRowan Dever (Aus) Blackburn Cycling Club Inc  
DNFLuke Padgett (Aus) Launceston City CC  
DNFMichael Smith (Aus) Launceston City CC  
DNFJason Chisholm (Aus) Tasmania  
DNFJonathon Smith (Aus) Tasmania  
DNFCridland Luke (Aus) Southern Cross CC  
DNSMitch Pearson (Aus) Eurobodalla Cyclists Club Inc.  
DNSHarrif Saleh (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSAdiq Othman (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSAmir Rusli (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSFallanie Ali (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSFakhrullah Alias (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSShahrul Amin (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSGhazali Hamid (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSZamri Saleh (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSYusrizal Usoff (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSAkmal Amrun (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSYong Li (Mal) Malaysia  
DNSBen Cutajar (Aus) Gold Coast CATS Cycling Clu  
DNSMatthew Benson (Aus) Riverland C.C.  


Back to top