First win of the season for Vantornout in Ardooie

Nys, Albert trail behind Sunweb-Revor rider

Klaas Vantornout scored his first win of the season in the muddy Kermiscross in Ardooie.

The Sunweb-Revor rider was part of a leading trio that formed early in the race with Belgian champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) and world champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus).

Vantornout attacked in the final lap of the heavy course, which played into his running strength, and stormed away from Nys to take the victory. Albert trailed in half a minute later, while Bart Wellens and Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea) rounded out the top five after a race-long chase.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 1:02:15 
2Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL 0:0:13 
3Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus 0:0:40 
4Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:1:03 
5Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:2:58 
6Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team 0:3:27 
7Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept 0:3:29 
8Toon Aerts (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL 0:4:02 
9Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:4:20 
10Romain Lejeune (Fra) 0:4:31 
11Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept 0:4:48 
12Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet-Fidea 0:4:54 
13Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor 0:5:42 
14Bart Hofman (Bel) Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV-VZW 0:5:49 
15Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:6:32 
16Micky van Empel (Ned) Landbouwkrediet-KDL  
17Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL  
18Floris De Tier (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL  
19Matthias Bossuyt (Bel) Sunweb-Revor  
20Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel) Hargroves Cycles-Specialized  
21Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea  
22Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel)  
23Bjorn Rondelez (Bel) Lingier Versluys Beachbikers Team Vzw  
24Diether Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL  
25Kenneth Hansen (Den) Christina Watches-Onfone  
26Kristof Cop (Bel) Cycling Team Kessel  
27Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Sunweb-Revor  
28Alexander Revell (NZl) Revolution Bicycles  
29Hendrik Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL  
Back to top