Sorensen claims GP Beghelli

Felline, Rabottini on podium in Monteveglio

Nicki Sorensen (Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) ended his season on a high with victory at the Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli in Italy.

The hardworking 37-year-old Dane beat young Italians Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) and Matteo Rabottini (Farnese Vini-Selle Italia) with a late solo attack after a four-rider move went clear on the last time up the Zappolino climb.

The Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli is the final race of the Italian season.

”It was the perfect closure of the season. The whole team did an amazing job out there throughout the race and in the finale when the four of us created the gap, my teammates were there to make sure any new moves from the field were neutralized," Sorensen in a press release from the team.

"On the final kilometers, we took turns attacking each other and I knew that Rabottini (Farnese Vini) was the strongest rival but when I finally jumped away, I knew that they couldn't close the gap. Of course, it provides me with a feeling of great satisfaction to finish off the season like this."

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Nicki Sörensen (Den) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 4:31:21  
2 Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:12  
3 Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
4 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - ISD    
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
6 Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:17  
7 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
8 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
9 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
10 Andrea Palini (Ita) Team Idea    
11 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
12 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team    
13 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
14 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Katusha Team    
15 Frederico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
16 Claudio Corioni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
17 Omar Bertazzo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
18 Alexander Zdanov (Rus) Team Nippo    
19 Milan Kadlec (Cze) ASC Dukla Praha    
20 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
21 Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
22 Xabier Zandio Echaide (Spa) Sky Procycling    
23 Gianluca Maggiore (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
24 Cristian Cominelli (Ita) Team Idea    
25 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
26 Luis Felipe Laverde Jimenez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
27 Chris Anker Sörensen (Den) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
28 Henry Frusto (Ita) Team Nippo    
29 Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) Lampre - ISD    
30 Cristiano Monguzzi (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
31 Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:23  
32 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:26  
33 Alessandro Proni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
34 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox 0:00:30  
35 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha Team    
36 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Utensilnord Named 0:00:43  
37 Juan Pablo Valencia (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes 0:00:55  
38 Marco Benfatto (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
39 Jonathon Perdiguero (Spa) Androni Giocattoli    
40 Troels Ronning Vinther (Den) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
41 Martin Hacecky (Cze) ASC Dukla Praha    
42 Javier Gonzalez Barrera (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
43 Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox 0:00:59  
44 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar    
45 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
46 Patxi Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Utensilnord Named 0:01:59  
47 Niv Libner (Isr) Amore & Vita 0:02:13  
48 Vincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar 0:03:19  
49 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Idea    
50 Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
51 Benjamin Noval Gonzalez (Spa) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank    
52 Umberto Nardecchia (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
53 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Team Europcar    
54 Mathieu Teychenne (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
55 Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
56 Guillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
57 Danny Pate (USA) Sky Procycling    
58 Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale    
59 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
60 Marco Marzano (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
61 Marco Coledan (Ita) Colnago - Csf Inox    
62 Matthew Lloyd (Aus) Lampre - ISD    
63 Diego Caccia (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
64 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
65 Wilson Alexander Marentes Torres (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes 0:08:04  
66 Fabio Piscopiello (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
67 Aristide Ratti (Ita) Team Idea    

Related Articles

Back to top