Jungels wins GP Nobili Rubinetterie

Luxembourger solos to victory in Stresa

Bob Jungels handed his RadioShack team its second victory of 2013 in the GP Nobili Runinetterie after a spectacular solo ride in the final 15km.

The Luxembourger was part of a four-man breakaway that escaped just 11km into the 187.5km course together with Marco Haller (Katusha), Eloy Teruel (Movistar) and Edwin Avila (Colombia), but attacked on the final climb with 25km to go, leaving the other three behind.

He pulled out enough of an advantage that even with a pan-flat final 15km, he was able to stay clear of the chasing peloton, which was led to the line 52 seconds later by Daniele Bennati (Saxo-Tinkoff).

 “It was a really hard day. Everyone on the team kept trying to go in the breakaways and I finally made it with Haller (Katusha), Teruel (Movistar) and Avila (Colombia). We worked well together most of the day and got over nine minutes. When we went on the climb the first time we still had seven minutes and I saw that I was the strongest in the group. We were three guys by the second time on the climb and I attacked at the bottom. That was my only chance so I time trialed to the finish against a strong headwind. I kept hearing Kim’s voice in my ear piece and I couldn’t believe how long those 15k felt.

“This was a race where we had no real leader so (director) Kim [Andersen] told us to try something. It’s an amazing feeling. I was hoping to have a win some time this year but I never expected this. I am overwhelmed. It’s good for the team and I am so happy.”

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bob Jungels (Lux) Radioshack Leopard4:33:04 
2Daniele Bennati (Ita) Team Saxo-Tinkoff0:00:52 
3Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
4Marco Zamparella (Ita) Utensilnord  
5Francisco Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movisstar Team  
6Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
7Simone Campagnaro (Ita) Team Nippo - De Rosa  
8Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ  
9Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team  
10Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
11Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
12Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  
13Leonardo Fabio Duque (Col) Colombia  
14Kirill Sveshnikov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
15Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
16Alessandro Proni (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
17David Boily (Can) Amore Amore & Vita Vita  
18Alexey Tcatevitch (Rus) Katusha  
19Miguel Minguez Ayala (Spa) Euskaltel Euskadi  
20Matteo Fedi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia - Fondriest.  
21Dmitry Kozontchuk (Rus) Katusha  
22Nicolas Baldo (Fra) Atlas Personal - Jakroo  
23Ricardo Garcia Ambroa (Spa) Euskaltel Euskadi  
24George Bennett (NZl) Radioshack Leopard  
25Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra) FDJ  
26Ben Hermans (Bel) Radioshack Leopard  
27Jonathan Monsalve (Ven) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
28Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team  
29Egoi Martinez De Esteban (Spa) Euskaltel Euskadi  
30Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Movistar Team  
31Frederico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord  
32Davide Rebellin (Ita) Ccc Polsat Polkowice  
33Thomas Rohregger (Aut) Radioshack Leopard  
34Ivan Rovny (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia - Fondriest  
35Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
36Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
37Matthew Busche (USA) Radioshack Leopard  
38Filippo Savini (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia - Fondriest  
39Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  
40Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Movistar Team  
41Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
42Fabio Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia  
43Carlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia  
44Edwin Avila Vanegas (Col) Colombia  
45Manuele Boaro (Ita) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  
46Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  
47Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia  
48Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha  
49Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spa) Movistar Team  
50Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
51Sacha Modolo (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
52Filippo Fortin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
53Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ  
54Alexander Porsev (Rus) Katusha  
55Zsolt Der (Hun) Utensilnord  
56Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
57Filippo Baggio (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia - Fondriest  
58Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
59Omar Lombardi (Ita) Utensilnord  
60Marco Zanotti (Ita) Utensilnord  
61Mattia Pozzo (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
62Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
63Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha  
64Evgeny Shalunov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
65Jorge Azanza Soto (Spa) Euskaltel Euskadi  
66Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Euskaltel Euskadi  
67Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Utensilnord  
68Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
69Javier Megias Leal (Spa) Team Novo Nordisk  
70Tomas Gil Martinez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela  
71Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Katusha  
72Laurent Didier (Lux) Radioshack Leopard  
73Benjamin King (USA) Radioshack Leopard  
74Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  
75Michael Morkov (Den) Team Saxo-Tinkoff  
76William Bonnet (Fra) FDJ  
77Yoann Offredo (Fra) FDJ  
78Ioannis Tamouridis (Gre) Euskaltel Euskadi  
79Robert Vrecer (Slo) Euskaltel Euskadi  
80Nikolay Mihaylov (Bul) Ccc Polsat Polkowice  
81Adrian Honkisz (Pol) Ccc Polsat Polkowice  
82Lukasz Owsian (Pol) Ccc Polsat Polkowice  
83Rafael Andriato (Bra) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
84Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
85Oscar Gatto (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
86Fabio Taborre (Ita) Vini Fantini - Selle Italia  
87Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
88Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
89Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  
90Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia  
91Jeffry Romero Corredor (Col) Colombia  
92Giorgio Brambilla (Ita) Atlas Personal - Jakroo  
93Kanstantsin Klimiankou (Blr) Atlas Personal - Jakroo  
94Oleksandr Polivoda (Ukr) Atlas Personal - Jakroo  
95Alessio Camilli (Ita) Team Nippo - De Rosa  
96Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Nippo - De Rosa  
97Kohei Uchima (Jpn) Team Nippo - De Rosa  
98Mikhail Antonov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
99Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodriges (Rus) Lokosphinx  
100Dmitry Sokolov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
101Fabio Calabria (Aus) Team Novo Nordisk  
102Alessandro Mazzi (Ita) Utensilnord  
103Aleksey Rybalkin (Rus) Lokosphinx  
104Artem Topchyanuyk (Ukr) Amore Amore & Vita Vita  
105Boris Shpilevsky (Rus) Lokosphinx  
106Marco Corti (Ita) Colombia  
107Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore Amore & Vita Vita  
108Manabu Ishibashi (Jpn) Team Nippo - De Rosa  
109Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team  


Related Articles

Back to top