An Italian won the opening stage of this year's Giro

Stage 1

Saturday, May 7 2011
Venaria Reale - Turin 19.3 km
Marco Pinotti (HTC-Highroad)

Stage 2

Sunday, May 8 2011
Alba - Parma 244 km
Mark Cavendish stays out of the sun before his day in the maglia rosa.

Stage 3

Monday, May 9 2011
Reggio Emilia - Rapallo 173 km
Leopard Trek was allowed to cross the line first in memory of their fallen teammate Wouter Weylandt.

Stage 4

Tuesday, May 10 2011
Genova Quarto dei Mille - Livorno 216 km
The start of stage five.

Stage 5

Wednesday, May 11 2011
Piombino - Orvieto 191 km
The start in Orvieto

Stage 6

Thursday, May 12 2011
Orvieto - Fiuggi 216 km
Scarponi leads the chase

Stage 7

Friday, May 13 2011
Maddaloni - Montevergine di Mercogliano 110 km
Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli) celebrates winning stage 8 of the Giro d'Italia.

Stage 8

Saturday, May 14 2011
Sapri - Tropea 217 km
Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) at the start

Stage 9

Sunday, May 15 2011
Messina - Etna 169 km
Mark Cavendish (HTC-Highroad) at the finish

Stage 10

Tuesday, May 17 2011
Termoli - Teramo 159 km
Race leader Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank)

Stage 11

Wednesday, May 18 2011
Tortoreto - Castelfidardo 142 km
The final dash to the line

Stage 12

Thursday, May 19 2011
Castelfidardo - Ravenna 184 km
Jose' Rujano (Androni Giocattoli)

Stage 13

Friday, May 20 2011
Spilimbergo - Grossglockner 167 km
Igor Anton (Euskaltel-Euskadi) on the Zoncolan.

Stage 14

Saturday, May 21 2011
Lienz - Monte Zoncolan 210 km
Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel-Euskadi) crosses the line on stage 15 of the Giro d'Italia.

Stage 15

Sunday, May 22 2011
Conegliano - Gardeccia-Val di Fassa 229 km
Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank Sungard) powers uphill through a corridor of noise.

Stage 16

Tuesday, May 24 2011
Belluno - Nevegal 12.7 km
Giovanni Visconti felt Ulissi pushed him into the barriers.

Stage 17

Wednesday, May 25 2011
Feltre - Tirano 230 km
Eros Capecchi broke Liquigas-Cannondale's winless run in the Giro d'Italia

Stage 18

Thursday, May 26 2011
Morbegno - San Pellegrino Terme 151 km
Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) wins at Macugnaga.

Stage 19

Friday, May 27 2011
Bergamo - Macugnaga 209 km
The peloton rolls out

Stage 20

Saturday, May 28 2011
Verbania - Sestriere 242 km
2011 Giro d'Italia champion Alberto Contador.

Stage 21

Sunday, May 29 2011
Milan - Milan 26 km
Back to top