Gavazzi wins Giro della Toscana

Italian beats Rovny and Phinney

Mattia Gavazzi (Androni Venezuela) won the Giro della Toscana after he out-sprinted Ivan Rovny (Ceramica-Flaminia) and Taylor Phinney (BMC) in Arezzo. It was the Italian’s second victory of the 2013 campaign after he won the final stage of the Tour de San Luis in January. 

The undulating race was run off at an average speed in excess of 42.5kph with nobody succeeding in breaking clear of the sizable front group on the finishing circuit and it all came down to a bunch finish.

Taylor Phinney opened his effort from distance after shutting down a late attack, but although he forced Gavazzi to open his sprint earlier than he had planned, the Androni-Venezuela man had enough in the tank to grab the win.

“Giairo Ermeti was my last man and his lead-out was anticipated so I was forced to go for a long sprint,” Gavazzi said. “But I’m feeling good and I’m hanging on well on the climbs too. At the Giro d’Italia, I want to win a stage and get to the finish in Brescia.”

For his part, Phinney was able to draw positives from his performances on the exacting course just one week shy of the Giro d’Italia. “I closed a bit of a gap to a guy who went early, with about 300 meters to go. I came around him with about 100 meters to go, but unfortunately, I didn't quite have enough gas to hold off Gavazzi and Rovny,” he said. “It's a really nice feeling to be back at the front of a race like that, though, especially since it was full gas all day, up and down."

Danilo Di Luca finished 6th in his second race with Vini Fantini-Selle Italia, for whom he signed last week after sitting out the early part of the season. Di Luca, who served a suspension for a positive test for CERA in 2009 is set to line up at the Giro d’Italia.

Full Results
1Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli4:42:03 
2Ivan Rovny (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
3Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team  
4Matej Mugerli (Slo) Adria Mobil  
5Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
6Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
7Sergey Klimov (Rus) RusVelo  
8Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
9Federico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord  
10Marco Zamparella (Ita) Utensilnord  
11Oscar Gatto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
12Omar Bertazzo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
13Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
14Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Sharp  
15Matteo Fedi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
16Peter Kusztor (Hun) Utensilnord  
17Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Adria Mobil  
18Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodriges (Rus) Lokosphinx  
19Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Meridiana Kamen Team  
20Olivier Pardini (Bel) Verandas Willems  
21Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa  
22Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) MTN-Qhubeka  
23Sergey Firsanov (Rus) RusVelo  
24Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia  
25Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) RusVelo  
26Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
27Antonio Santoro (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
28Sergio Ferrari (Bel) Verandas Willems  
29Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia  
30Caleb Fairly (USA) Garmin-Sharp  
31Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka  
32Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia  
33Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil  
34Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Accent Jobs-Wanty  
35Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
36Thomas Dekker (Ned) Garmin-Sharp  
37Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
38Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:45 
39Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
40Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox0:01:01 
41Jean-Albert Carnevali (Bel) Verandas Willems0:01:11 
42Meron Russom (Eri) MTN-Qhubeka  
43Emanuel Kiserlovski (Cro) Meridiana Kamen Team  
44Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Utensilnord  
45Floris Smeyers (Bel) Verandas Willems  
46Koldo Fernandez (Spa) Garmin-Sharp  
47Marco Corti (Ita) Colombia  
48Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa  
49Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) Team Nippo-De Rosa  
50Christopher Deguelle (Bel) Verandas Willems  
51Mikhail Antonov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
52Ilya Gorodnichev (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
53Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa  
54Enrico Rossi (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team  
55Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
56Alessandro Mazzi (Ita) Utensilnord  
57Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
58Robbie Squire (USA) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest0:01:43 
59Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore & Vita0:01:51 
60Alessandro Proni (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia0:02:21 
61Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty  
62Anton Mikailov (Isr) Amore & Vita  
63Igor Boev (Rus) RusVelo  
64Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka  
65Sergei Pomoshnikov (Rus) RusVelo  
66Simone Campagnaro (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa  
67Alexander Serov (Rus) RusVelo  
68Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team0:04:02 
69Carlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia  
70Songezo Jim (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka0:04:25 
71Francesco Failli (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
72Fabio Taborre (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia  
73Juan Pablo Suarez Suarez (Col) Colombia  
74Thomas Degand (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty  
75Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
76Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
77Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
78Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox  
79Kouhei Uchima (Jpn) Team Nippo-De Rosa  
80Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil  
81Johann Van Zyl (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka  
82Antonio Testa (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team  
83Evgeny Shalunov (Rus) Lokosphinx0:06:02 
84Jaroslaw Dabrowski (Pol) Amore & Vita  
85David Boily (Can) Amore & Vita  
86Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin-Sharp  
87Alex Rasmussen (Den) Garmin-Sharp  
88Nicola Dal Santo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest  
89Will Routley (Can) Accent Jobs-Wanty  
90Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team  
91Jacob Rathe (USA) Garmin-Sharp  
Back to top