Gavazzi wins Giro della Toscana

Italian beats Rovny and Phinney

Mattia Gavazzi (Androni Venezuela) won the Giro della Toscana after he out-sprinted Ivan Rovny (Ceramica-Flaminia) and Taylor Phinney (BMC) in Arezzo. It was the Italian’s second victory of the 2013 campaign after he won the final stage of the Tour de San Luis in January. 

The undulating race was run off at an average speed in excess of 42.5kph with nobody succeeding in breaking clear of the sizable front group on the finishing circuit and it all came down to a bunch finish.

Taylor Phinney opened his effort from distance after shutting down a late attack, but although he forced Gavazzi to open his sprint earlier than he had planned, the Androni-Venezuela man had enough in the tank to grab the win.

“Giairo Ermeti was my last man and his lead-out was anticipated so I was forced to go for a long sprint,” Gavazzi said. “But I’m feeling good and I’m hanging on well on the climbs too. At the Giro d’Italia, I want to win a stage and get to the finish in Brescia.”

For his part, Phinney was able to draw positives from his performances on the exacting course just one week shy of the Giro d’Italia. “I closed a bit of a gap to a guy who went early, with about 300 meters to go. I came around him with about 100 meters to go, but unfortunately, I didn't quite have enough gas to hold off Gavazzi and Rovny,” he said. “It's a really nice feeling to be back at the front of a race like that, though, especially since it was full gas all day, up and down."

Danilo Di Luca finished 6th in his second race with Vini Fantini-Selle Italia, for whom he signed last week after sitting out the early part of the season. Di Luca, who served a suspension for a positive test for CERA in 2009 is set to line up at the Giro d’Italia.

Full Results
1 Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 4:42:03  
2 Ivan Rovny (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
3 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team    
4 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Adria Mobil    
5 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
6 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
7 Sergey Klimov (Rus) RusVelo    
8 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
9 Federico Rocchetti (Ita) Utensilnord    
10 Marco Zamparella (Ita) Utensilnord    
11 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
12 Omar Bertazzo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
13 Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
14 Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Sharp    
15 Matteo Fedi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
16 Peter Kusztor (Hun) Utensilnord    
17 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Adria Mobil    
18 Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodriges (Rus) Lokosphinx    
19 Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Meridiana Kamen Team    
20 Olivier Pardini (Bel) Verandas Willems    
21 Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
22 Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) MTN-Qhubeka    
23 Sergey Firsanov (Rus) RusVelo    
24 Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia    
25 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) RusVelo    
26 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
27 Antonio Santoro (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
28 Sergio Ferrari (Bel) Verandas Willems    
29 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia    
30 Caleb Fairly (USA) Garmin-Sharp    
31 Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka    
32 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia    
33 Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil    
34 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Accent Jobs-Wanty    
35 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
36 Thomas Dekker (Ned) Garmin-Sharp    
37 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
38 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:45  
39 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
40 Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox 0:01:01  
41 Jean-Albert Carnevali (Bel) Verandas Willems 0:01:11  
42 Meron Russom (Eri) MTN-Qhubeka    
43 Emanuel Kiserlovski (Cro) Meridiana Kamen Team    
44 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Utensilnord    
45 Floris Smeyers (Bel) Verandas Willems    
46 Koldo Fernandez (Spa) Garmin-Sharp    
47 Marco Corti (Ita) Colombia    
48 Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
49 Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
50 Christopher Deguelle (Bel) Verandas Willems    
51 Mikhail Antonov (Rus) Lokosphinx    
52 Ilya Gorodnichev (Rus) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
53 Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
54 Enrico Rossi (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
55 Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
56 Alessandro Mazzi (Ita) Utensilnord    
57 Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
58 Robbie Squire (USA) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest 0:01:43  
59 Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore & Vita 0:01:51  
60 Alessandro Proni (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia 0:02:21  
61 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty    
62 Anton Mikailov (Isr) Amore & Vita    
63 Igor Boev (Rus) RusVelo    
64 Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka    
65 Sergei Pomoshnikov (Rus) RusVelo    
66 Simone Campagnaro (Ita) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
67 Alexander Serov (Rus) RusVelo    
68 Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:04:02  
69 Carlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia    
70 Songezo Jim (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka 0:04:25  
71 Francesco Failli (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
72 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia    
73 Juan Pablo Suarez Suarez (Col) Colombia    
74 Thomas Degand (Bel) Accent Jobs-Wanty    
75 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli    
76 Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
77 Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
78 Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox    
79 Kouhei Uchima (Jpn) Team Nippo-De Rosa    
80 Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil    
81 Johann Van Zyl (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka    
82 Antonio Testa (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
83 Evgeny Shalunov (Rus) Lokosphinx 0:06:02  
84 Jaroslaw Dabrowski (Pol) Amore & Vita    
85 David Boily (Can) Amore & Vita    
86 Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin-Sharp    
87 Alex Rasmussen (Den) Garmin-Sharp    
88 Nicola Dal Santo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Fondriest    
89 Will Routley (Can) Accent Jobs-Wanty    
90 Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team    
91 Jacob Rathe (USA) Garmin-Sharp    
Back to top