Uran wins Gran Piemonte

Paolini and Verdugo complete the podium in Italy

Rigoberto Uran (Team Sky) won the Gran Piemonte race in Italy with a late attack that allowed him to cross the line alone and savour his second victory of 2012.

Uran surged clear with Gorka Verdugo (Euskaltel-Euskaltel) on the last climb of the race but dropped the Basque rider to win by six seconds. Luca Paolini (Katusha Team) also caught and beat Verdugo to take second, with Uran's teammate and compatriot Sergio Henao finishing fourth.

Uran won a stage at the Volta a Catalunya in the spring and won the best young rider's white jersey at the Giro d'Italia. However he's better remembered for finishing second behind Alexandre Vinokourov in the Olympic road race in August. He dismissed the idea that this win was revenge for missing out on a gold medal.

“All the races are important and I always respect them. Then, you know, winning is always very complicated and this is why I believe it's very important and beautiful when you achieve a victory,” he said in the winner's press conference.

“Along with Sergio [Henao], we tried to attack on the final lap before the finish. I was able to get away with Verdugo over the top of the climb but we did not have a big gap to the riders behind. We managed to stay clear and we gave it everything on the descent back to the finish. We agreed to collaborate until 500 metres to go. We saw that Paolini was coming towards us and he’s very fast. So at 300 metres to go, when I saw him getting closer, I sprinted."

Uran showed that he is on form after riding the Vuelta a Espana and will lead Team Sky at Il Lombardia on Saturday.

“I have come out of the Vuelta with some really good fitness. The world championships was some good preparation looking ahead towards Lombardy and today was also another good warm-up. I really like the race and I and very motivated for Saturday,” he said.

Paolini had to be content with second place. He was part of the attack that formed on the second climb to Favaro along with Uran, Verdugo, Henao, Carlos Betancur (Acqua&Sapone) and Mauro Santambrogio (BMC Racing Team). However, Verdugo blew the group apart with an attack and Uran was able to get across to him before going clear to win.

"I'm satisfied with my performance," said Paolini. "I missed the win and I'm a little disappointed about that, but it's still a good result and my form is pretty good. I thought I had good chance to win in a sprint, but Uran did a great attack. We tried to chase him but he was already too far. At that point I decided to fight for second place and I managed to get it." 

Full Results
1 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling 4:30:21  
2 Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha Team 0:00:06  
3 Gorka Verdugo Marcotegui (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:00:07  
4 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling 0:00:11  
5 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Acqua & Sapone    
6 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) BMC Racing Team    
7 Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan 0:00:27  
8 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team    
9 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team    
10 Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team    
11 Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
12 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Sharp    
13 Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Argos - Shimano    
14 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
15 Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
16 Miguel Minguez Ayala (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi    
17 Alessandro Proni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
18 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
19 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Katusha Team    
20 Francesco Failli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
21 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
22 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Sky Procycling    
23 Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi    
24 Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Katusha Team    
25 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
26 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team    
27 Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
28 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team    
29 Alexsandr Dyachenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team    
30 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha Team    
31 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
32 Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin - Sharp    
33 Alfredo Balloni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
34 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin - Sharp 0:00:42  
35 Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack-Nissan 0:00:48  
36 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone 0:01:07  
37 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
38 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:01:17  
39 Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin - Sharp 0:01:32  
40 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Argos - Shimano    
41 Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
42 Amets Txurruka (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi    
43 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) RadioShack-Nissan    
44 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team    
45 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi    
46 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
47 Bruno Pires (Por) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
48 Anders Lund (Den) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
49 Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Argos - Shimano    
50 Dalivier Ospina Navarro (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes 0:01:58  
51 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Team Argos - Shimano 0:02:05  
52 Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:02:37  
53 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
54 Manuele Boaro (Ita) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
55 Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
56 Yury Trofimov (Rus) Katusha Team    
57 Denys Kostyuk (Ukr) Lampre - ISD 0:04:32  
58 Steve Morabito (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
59 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox 0:04:48  
60 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:04:58  
61 Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) Sky Procycling    
62 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team    
63 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi    
64 Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Sky Procycling    
65 Cayetano José Sarmiento Tunarrosa (Col) Liquigas-Cannondale    
66 Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone    
67 Nicki Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
68 Peio Bilbao (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:06:27  
69 Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia 0:06:29  
70 José Ivan Gutierrez Palacios (Spa) Movistar Team 0:08:27  
71 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
72 Wilson Alexander Marentes Torres (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
73 Jeffry Johan Romero Corredor (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
74 Edoardo Girardi (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
75 Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi    
76 Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
77 Thomas Rohregger (Aut) RadioShack-Nissan    
78 Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack-Nissan    
79 Thierry Hupond (Fra) Team Argos - Shimano    
80 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
81 Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
82 Javier Gonzalez Barrera (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
83 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin - Sharp    
84 Mads Christensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
85 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
86 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team    
87 Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team    
88 Oliver Zaugg (Swi) RadioShack-Nissan    
89 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) BMC Racing Team    
90 Roberto Giacobazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
91 Gianluca Maggiore (Ita) Utensilnord Named    
92 Morris Possoni (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
93 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
94 Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre - ISD    
95 Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
96 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
97 Daniele Ratto (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
98 Troels Ronning Vinther (Den) Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
99 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli    
100 Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Katusha Team    
101 Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
102 Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia - Coldeportes    
103 Danny Pate (USA) Sky Procycling    

Related Articles

Back to top