Moreno wins Gran Piemonte

Katusha rider wins final sprint ahead of break companions

Dani Moreno (Katusha) scored a fine victory at Gran Piemonte, as he came home ahead of Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) and teammate Luca Paolini in a small group finish in Novi Ligure.

The Spaniard slipped clear of the decisive 14-man break inside the final kilometre with the aid of the canny Paolini. Moreno had Paolini locked on his wheel on the last descent of the race, and when the Italian cleverly allowed a gap to develop, he was able to open a telling advantage over the group behind.

In spite of Vincenzo Nibali’s (Liquigas-Cannondale) late attempt to shut down the move, Moreno had enough in hand to hold on for the win, while a frustrated Van Avermaet took the sprint for second just behind.

“Paolini left a gap to Moreno on the last decent to the finish," Van Avermaet explained. "Nibali tried to close the gap and with 400 metres to go I went full out, but couldn't close the gap to him anymore."

A rapid start in Piasco

The winning break had its genesis in a 31-rider move that formed 85km into the race, after a searing beginning to proceedings in Piasco. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), Nibali and Daniele Bennati (Leopard Trek) were among their number, but neither the resurgent Filippo Pozzato (Katusha) nor defending champion Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) succeeded in making the cut.

By that point, world champion Mark Cavendish (HTC-Highroad) had already left the race, the Briton abandoning after just 69km.

With such a strong collection of riders and wide spread of teams, the break quickly built up what would turn out to be an insurmountable lead. With 75km to go, they were 7:35 ahead of the peloton, and it was clear that they would divide the spoils between them, even if a small chase group including Daniel Lloyd (Garmin-Cervélo) and Fabio Felline (Geox-TMC) battled gamely to close the gap.

Though the finale featured no standout climb, the terrain was rolling throughout, and inside the final 30km, the strongmen of the lead group came to the fore. Under impetus from Thomas Löfkvist (Sky), 14 riders forced their way clear and the Swede was joined by Moreno, Rodriguez, Paolini (Katusha), Van Avermaet, Matthias Frank, Ivan Santaromita (BMC), Nibali, Oliver Zaugg, Bennati (Leopard Trek), Nicolas Roche (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Thomas Voeckler (Europcar), Przemysław Niemiec (Lampre-ISD) and André Steensen (Saxo Bank-Sungard).

Katusha and BMC worked to keep the group together on the run-in to the finish, and in spite of the best efforts Roche and Voeckler to force another selection, it all came down to a 14-man sprint.

While Van Avermaet was the man on form in the wake of his Paris-Tours victory, Katusha’s strength won out, with Paolini expertly piloting Moreno in the finishing straight. For good measure, the veteran Italian held off Voeckler and Roche to claim the third place on the podium.

Full Results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha4:45:16 
2Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Pro Cycling  
3Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha  
4Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar  
5Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale  
6Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre - ISD  
7Daniele Bennati (Ita) Leopard - Trek  
8André Steensen (Den) Saxo Bank - SunGard  
9Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
10Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Sky Pro Cycling  
11Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Leopard - Trek  
12Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Pro Cycling0:00:34 
13Ivan Santaromita (Ita) BMC Pro Cycling0:00:48 
14Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha0:00:58 
15Leonardo Giordani (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli0:02:05 
16Daniele Colli (Ita) Geox - TMC0:02:11 
17Vitaliy Buts (Ukr) Lampre - ISD  
18Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli  
19Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua ASA Sapone  
20Amets Txurruka (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi  
21Vincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar  
22Guillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
23Alexandre Pichot (Fra) Team Europcar  
24Manuele Boaro (Ita) Saxo Bank - SunGard  
25Jurgen Van De Walle (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto  
26Michael Rogers (Aus) Sky Pro Cycling  
27Alan Marangoni (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale0:08:37 
28Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Pro Cycling  
29Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale  
30Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua ASA Sapone0:09:39 
31David Gutierrez Gutierrez (Spa) Geox - TMC  
32Fabio Felline (Ita) Geox - TMC  
33Davide Ricci Bitti (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli0:09:43 
34Maurizio Gorato (Ita) Geox - TMC  
35Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
36Daniel Lloyd (GBr) Garmin - Cervelo  
37Filippo Savini (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:18:53 
38Daniel Summerhill (USA) Garmin - Cervelo  
39Petr Ignatenko (Rus) Katusha  
40Luca Solari (Ita) Andalucia Caja Granada  
41Omar Bertazzo (Ita) Andalucia Caja Granada  
42Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua ASA Sapone  
43Arkimedes Arguelyes Rodriges (Rus) Katusha  
44Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Andalucia Caja Granada  
45Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Saxo Bank - SunGard  
46Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
47Marco Corti (Ita) Geox - TMC  
48Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
49Dominik Nerz (Ger) Liquigas - Cannondale  
50Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
51Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
52Oleksandr Kvachuk (Ukr) Lampre - ISD  
53Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Pro Cycling  
54Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
55Maxime Vantomme (Bel) Katusha  
56Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Liquigas - Cannondale  
57Rafai Chtioui (Tun) Acqua ASA Sapone  
58Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Leopard - Trek  
59Alan Perez Lezaun (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi  
60Francis De Greef (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto  
61Mikel Astarloza Chaurreau (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi  
62Claudio Corioni (Ita) Acqua ASA Sapone  
63Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi  
64Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
65Zakkari Dempster (Aus) HTC - Highroad  
66Bruno Pires (Por) Leopard - Trek  
67Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC - Highroad  
68Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale  
69Dario David Cioni (Ita) Sky Pro Cycling  
70Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Pro Cycling  
71Brian Vandborg (Den) Saxo Bank - SunGard  
72G. Luca Mirenda (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli  
73Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Garmin - Cervelo  
74Gert Dockx (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto  
75Morris Possoni (Ita) Sky Pro Cycling  
76Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli  
77Elia Favilli (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli  
78Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo Bank - SunGard  
79Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) Saxo Bank - SunGard  
80Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha  
81Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua ASA Sapone  
82Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
83Diego Caccia (Ita) Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli  
84Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Garmin - Cervelo  
85Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin - Cervelo  
86Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Omega Pharma - Lotto  
87Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) Sky Pro Cycling  
88Stephen Cummings (GBr) Sky Pro Cycling  
89Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
90Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
91Andrea Piechele (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
92Alberto Contoli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
93Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
94Marco Marzano (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
95Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) Andalucia Caja Granada0:19:04 

Related Articles

Back to top