Gateway Cross Cup: Driscoll wins on day 1

Zaveta wins women's race

Competitors at the 2014 Gateway Cross Cup in St. Louis, Missouri saw an entirely new course from years past and unseasonably warm temperatures that sought to test the rider’s limits and provide dynamic racing to both the men’s and women’s fields.

The men’s field leapt off the line at blistering speeds and took to the hilly, undulating course with a fury meant to break the race to pieces as quickly as possible. The opening laps saw a driving pace at the front due to the efforts of Cody Kaiser, Troy Wells, Zach McDonald and the Raleigh Clement duo of Ben Berden and Jamey Driscoll.The relentless pace forced many riders off the back as a group of fifteen pried themselves loose in the early stages of the race.

With the fast dry conditions, Wells sensed the need for an attack and surged to the front in the fourth lap, whittling the lead group down to five with McDonald, the Raleigh riders and Brian Matter hanging on. A couple of laps later, Driscoll and Berden set a pace that pulled them clear of the break and it looked like they would ride together for a Raleigh Clement one-two.

Berden ultimately lost the front and was caught by Matter while Driscoll built a commanding lead. Berden held on for second with a late surge, as Matter took third. McDonald appeared to wilt in the heat and dropped down the lead group, eventually finishing 11th.

Zaveta secures solo victory

As explosive as the men’s race was, the women’s race was as much a war of attrition as the top of the field fought the gruelling course and searing heat.

Courtney McFadden and Nicole Duke both drove the pace early on and split the field into groups from the start. A lead group of five formed with last year’s winner Amanda Miller, Duke, McFadden, Erica Zaveta and Samantha Schneider of IS-Corp all in the mix.

Dangling just behind, Caroline Mani of Raleigh Clement tried to keep the leaders in sight while local rider Sunny Gilbert of Michelob Ultra Big Shark hung gamely between.

As the lead group fragmented and faded, the steady diesel approach of Gilbert and Mani paid off as both made contact with the front group and put themselves into podium position. Gilbert took the lead for half a lap before being overtaken by Zaveta who soloed in for the win ahead of Gilbert and Mani.

The Gateway Cross Cup continues tomorrow with day two at Queeny Park in St. Louis. If day one was any indication, the field will have as much competition from the course and the unseasonable heat as from their competitors.

Elite men's results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh / Clement1:01:51 
2Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh / Clement0:00:15 
3Brian Matter (USA) Team Wisconsin / Clif Bar0:00:29 
4Travis Livermon (USA) Mock Orange Pro CX0:01:07 
5Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:01:26 
6Tristan Uhl 787 Racing(USA)0:01:31 
7Mitchell Hoke (USA) The Pro's Closet CX0:01:45 
8Jake Wells (USA) Stan's Notubes Elite CX  
9Lewis Gaffney (USA) American Classic Pro Cyclocross Team0:01:56 
10Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) Team Clif Bar0:02:30 
11Zach Mcdonald (USA) KCCX0:03:04 
12Christopher Jones (USA) The Athletic0:03:10 
13Adam York (USA) Cyclocross Network Racing0:03:25 
14Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro Team0:03:38 
15Steve Fisher (USA) Raleigh/Fsa CX0:03:46 
16Maxx Chance (USA) The Pro's Closet CX0:03:58 
17Nicholas Lemke (USA) Hifi/Thefeed/Crafthairstudio0:04:24 
18Ian Mcphearson (USA) The Pro's Closet CX0:04:37 
19Ian Haupt (USA) Milwaukee Bicycle Company0:04:38 
20Cody Kaiser (USA) Langetwins/Specialized0:05:23 
21Braden Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar0:05:33 
22Spencer Downing (USA) Hoke Racing Llc0:05:36 
23Andrew Reardon (USA) Sonic Cycling0:05:38 
24Kyle Russ (USA) Brazen Dropouts0:05:58 
25Gabriel Varela (USA) Vertical Earth0:05:59 
26Michael Dutczak (USA) South Chicago Wheelman0:07:23 
27Gerald Drummond (USA) De Pijp Racing  
28Zachary Carlson (USA) Rbm/Matrix  
29Joshua Johnson (USA) Michelob Ultra - Big Shark Racing  
30Alex Ryan (USA) Mock Orange Bikes Pro CX Team  
31Travis Braun (USA) Revolution Cycles  
32Josh Bauer (USA) Twin Six  
33Maxwell Ackermann (USA) Iscorp Cycling Team  
34Mark Norton (USA) Ks Energy Services/Team Wisconsin  
35Taylor Squillaci (USA) Get Out!  
36David Reyes (USA) Heritage Race Club  
37Jay Strothman (USA) Off The Front Racing  
38Craig Wohlschlaeger (USA) Giant Southwest Racing  
39Kailin Waterman (USA) Voler/Hrs/Rocklobster  
40Adam Finck (USA) Team Velocity Bike Shop  
41Andrew Giniat (USA) On The Route  
42Brett Heuring (USA) Dogfish Racing/Team Noah  
43Michael Saunders (USA) Dogfish  
44Nathan Brown (USA) Cycleton  
45Matthew Kelley (USA) Quantum Mesa Cycles  
46Kevin Bradford-Parish (USA) Set Coaching/Specialized  
47Dylan Postier (USA) Evoke Racing  
48Jim Wood (USA) Alki/Rubicon Racing  
49Travis Werts (USA)  
DNFEric Thompson (USA) Mt. Borah Epic Team  
DNFJp Brocket (USA) Ethos Racing  
DNFIsaac Neff (USA)  
DNFSkyler Mackey (USA) Soundpony  
DNFJacob Lasley (USA) Team Soundpony  
DNFTyler Cloutier (USA) Cutaway P/B Blackhand Coffee Co  
DNSRyan Knapp (USA) Pony Shop Cyclocross  

Elite women's results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Erica Zaveta (USA) Amy D. Racing1:46:20 
2Sunny Gilbert (USA) Michelob Ultra/Big Shark0:00:21 
3Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh / Clement0:01:02 
4Amanda Miller (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport/Yogaglo0:01:20 
5Nicole Duke (USA) Marin Bikes/Spy0:01:50 
6Emily Kachorek (USA) Squid0:02:12 
7Amanda Carey (USA) Team Rhino Rush0:02:53 
8Carol Jeane Sansome (USA) County Cycles Masters CX P/B Trek0:03:16 
9Samantha Schneider (USA) Iscorp0:04:00 
10Katherine Kelter (USA) Team Colavita/Parisi Coffee0:04:12 
11Ksenia Lepikhina (USA) Sdg-Bellwether P.B. Krema Peanut Butter0:04:22 
12Jennifer Nichols (USA) Birmingham Velo/Infinity Racing0:04:27 
13Samantha Runnels (USA) Atc Racing  
14Mackenzie Woodring (USA) Foundry Cycles0:05:16 
15Nicole Brandt (USA) La Grange0:05:27 
16Laurel Rathbun (USA) Raleigh / Clement0:06:26 
17Rachel Dobrozsi (USA) Red Zone Elite U230:06:34 
18Sarah Szefi (USA) Psimet Racing0:07:08 
19Katie Isermann (USA) Psimet Racing0:07:28 
20Katherine Santos (USA) Red Zone Elite U230:07:38 
21Mackenzie Green (USA) Red Zone Elite U230:07:54 
22Heidi Wood (USA)0:08:19 
DNFElizabeth So (USA)  
DNFCourtenay Mcfadden (USA) GE Capital/American Classic  
DNSLindsay Zucco (USA) Psimet Racing  


Back to top