Albert on top in Leuven

Pauwels bests Nys for runner-up

World Champion Niels Albert showed his stripes with a dominant performance in the C1 'cross in Leuven. The BKCP-Powerplus rider stormed away from the field in the second lap and soloed to the win by almost a minute over Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor) and Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet).

As Albert put on his one-man show, Pauwels emerged alone from the chasing group about halfway through the race, but never threatened the lead of Albert.

Nys, who suffered a slow start, eventually put the rest behind him in pursuit of the podium, beating out the Telenet-Fidea riders Rob Peeters and Tom Meeusen.

The only bit of drama in the race was a frightening face-plant by Bart Wellens on the barriers. The former world champion stood dazed for a moment, but despite having pain in his head and neck he continued, finishing in 10th place.

Full Results

1 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus 0:59:15  
2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:00:30  
3 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony 0:00:52  
4 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:00:54  
5 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:00:58  
6 Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cyclocross Team    
7 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus    
8 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony    
9 Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus 0:01:06  
10 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:01:12  
11 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 0:01:19  
12 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:01:37  
13 Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cyclocross Team 0:01:41  
14 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus 0:01:54  
15 Marcel Meisen (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus 0:02:11  
16 Aurelien Duval (Fra) UV Aube 0:02:25  
17 Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team 0:02:45  
18 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet - Fidea 0:02:53  
19 Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team 0:02:58  
20 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:03:10  
21 Jonathan Page (USA)    
22 Wout van Aert (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 0:03:15  
23 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL    
24 Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:03:37  
25 Diether Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL    
26 Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Landbouwkrediet-KDL 0:04:40  
27 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco 0:04:58  
28 Toon Aerts (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL 0:05:15  
29 Daan Soete (Bel) Telenet-Fidea    
30 Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet - Fidea    
31 Bart De Vocht (Bel) 0:06:25  
32 (-1 lap) Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet - Fidea    
33 Patrick Gaudy (Bel)    
34 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony    
35 Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) Telenet - Fidea    
36 (-2 laps) Hendrik Sweeck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL    
37 Davy Commeyne (Bel)    
38 (-3 laps) Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel)    
39 Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel)    
40 Aaron Schooler (Can) Norco Bicycles - SRI Importing    
41 Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)    
42 (-4 laps) Niels Koyen (Bel)    
43 Lorenzo Pepermans (Bel)    
44 Alexander Revell (NZl) Revolution Bicycles    
Back to top