Eneco Tour 2010

August 17-24, 2010, Steenwijk (Ned), Various, Road - UPT (ProTour)

Complete Live Report

Live commentary by:
Stephen Farrand

Hello and welcome to the Cyclingnews live coverage of the Eneco Tour.  The weeklong Protour races begins with a 5.2km prologue time trial around the Dutch town of Steenwijk.

  1. 15:27:05 CEST

    The weather in Holland is terrible today with strong winds and pouring rain.

  2. 15:30:26 CEST

    The fastest rider so far is local favourite Larsm Boom (Rabobank). He blasted around the 5.2km course in a time of  6:24. Maarten Tjallingii (Omega Pharma-Lotto) just went close to beating him but was 11th hundredths of a second slower.

  3. 15:35:04 CEST

    Gert Steegmans (RadioShack) is now out on the course. After a difficult season and move to RadioShack he will be hoping to score some results in the second part of the season.

  4. 15:36:22 CEST

    Steegmans sets a time of 6:34, that's the eighth fastest time so far.

  5. 15:38:11 CEST

    Leigh Howard (HTC-Columbia) sets a time of 6:34 and just edges ahead of Steegmans. The Australian track rider apparently slipped on the start ramp but still put up a good ride.

  6. 15:46:55 CEST

    The street circuit twists and turns aruond the streets of Steenwijk, with speed bumps and traffic furniture to negotiate.

  7. 15:47:24 CEST

    Jack Bobridge (Garmin-Transitions) is not on the course. Can he beat Boom?

  8. 15:48:42 CEST

    The course is all about taking risk on the wet corners and then powering back up to speed.

  9. 15:51:36 CEST

    Here's Andrei Greipel (HTC-Columbia). He will be looking to ride well and then fight for the time bonuses on the sprint stages.

  10. 15:54:16 CEST

    Jack Bobridge (Garmin-Transitions) comes home and sets a time of 6:35. That puts him in ninth place for now.

  11. 16:00:27 CEST

    Greipel sets a time of 6:32. A solid ride.

  12. 16:02:12 CEST

    Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) could be the next rider to threaten Lars Boom. 

  13. 16:03:32 CEST

    Here comes Tour de France revelatioon Jurgen Van den Broeck )Omega Pharma-Lotto). He sets a time of 6:38.

  14. 16:04:54 CEST

    Joost Posthuma (Rabobank) clocks 6:35.

  15. 16:06:24 CEST

    A good ride by Geraint Thomas (Team sky). He sets a time of 6:25.59 and is third, just one second behind Lars Boom (rabobank).

  16. 16:08:51 CEST

    Aussie Cameron Meyey (GArmin-Transitions) is out on the course now. He willbe looking to use his track pursuit skills on this technical but  very fast course. 

  17. 16:09:50 CEST

    Meyer is covered in green and gold as Australian TT champion.

  18. 16:14:15 CEST

    Mark Renshaw (HTC-Columbia), Jens Voigt (Saxo Bank), and 2009 winner Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) are riders who could challenge Boom.

  19. 16:14:42 CEST

    Cameron Meyer was a little off the best pace, setting a time of 6:35.

  20. 16:15:37 CEST

    Romain Sicard (Euskaltel-Euskadi) is the next to finish. The promising Basque rider sets a time of 6:40.

  21. 16:17:20 CEST

    Other names to watxch for are Andreas Kloden (RadioShack), Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions), Richie Porte (Saxo Bank) and new Belgian TT champion Stijn Devolder (Quick Step).

  22. 16:19:41 CEST

    Renshaw sets a time of 6:33. That's just over 10 seconds slower than Lars Boom.

  23. 16:22:09 CEST

    Here's Jens Voigt. He's fighting the bike but he's not that fast. He sets 6:42.

  24. 16:24:05 CEST

    Some of the prologue seems to be on a bike path and twists and turns on wet roads. 

  25. 16:26:09 CEST

    Belgian TT expert Dominique Cornu (Skil-Shimano) is now out there fighting the bike out of every corner.

  26. 16:27:01 CEST

    Greg Henderson (Team Sky) sets a time of 6:30.

  27. 16:27:45 CEST

    Belgian TT champion Stijn Devolder (Quick Step) sets off in his new national champion's jersey. 

  28. 16:29:04 CEST

    Dominque Cornu sets 6:31 for ninth place.

  29. 16:29:28 CEST

    Svein Tuft off next.


  30. 16:30:34 CEST

    Devolder looks fast and has an excellent TT position.

  31. 16:32:20 CEST

    Christian Knees (Milram) puts up a good time: 6:29 for sixth place so far.

  32. 16:34:57 CEST

    Devolder sets a time of 6:41. He perhaps is better for longer time trials and still must be one of the favourites for overall success.

  33. 16:37:27 CEST

    Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions) is the new leader. He sets a new time of 6:18.55. That is fast!

  34. 16:38:59 CEST

    Tuft is Canadian national champion and showed it with that ride. Can anyone beat him? It will be difficult. 

  35. 16:40:23 CEST

    Here's Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia). He sets 6:25.99. Good but still six seconds slower than Tuft. 

  36. 16:41:04 CEST

    Eddy Boasson Hagen sets off wearing his Norwegian TT champion's jersey.

  37. 16:42:00 CEST

    Richie Porte (Saxo Bank) is due in soon.

  38. 16:43:15 CEST

    Porte sets a time of 6:27.

  39. 16:45:41 CEST

    Boasson Hagen is fighting the bike and trying to gain time. 

  40. 16:46:41 CEST

    Jos Van Emden (Rabobank) takes second place with 6:23.  

  41. 16:59:47 CEST

    Edvald Boasson Hagen( Team sky) takes fifth with a time of 6:25. He's close and in contention for overall victory.

  42. 17:01:01 CEST

    Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions) seals victory in the opening prologue time trial. With Dan Martin winning the Tre Valli Varesine race in Italy, it's a double success day for the US team.

  43. 17:01:56 CEST

    Provisional top five:

    1 Svien Tuft (Can) Garmin-Transitions 00:06:18
    2 Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank 00:00:05
    3 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank) 00:00:07
    4 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Omega Pharma-Lotto 00:00:07
    5 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky 00:00:07

  44. 17:03:11 CEST

    Tuft will wear the race leader's jersey during Wednesday's 178km first road stage from Steenwijk to Rhenen.

  45. 17:04:43 CEST

    That's all today from our live coverage. Joins us again on Wednesday for more action from the Eneco Tour. We'll be covering the last two hours live, with all the action and race insight.

Back to top