Bos wins Dutch Food Valley Classic

Sagan, Renshaw on the podium

Theo Bos (Rabobank) claimed a repeat victory in the Dutch Food Valley Classic in Veenendaal ahead of Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) and teammate Mark Renshaw.

It was the fifth win of the season for the Dutch rider, who last won a stage in the Eneco Tour, two stages of the Presidential Tour of Turkey and the Dwars door Drenthe.

As defending champion, Bos admitted he felt some pressure to win. "At the start of a race, you're relaxed but alert, and as you close in on the finale, you get more nervous. But that's the healthy kind of nervousness that you need in order to get a top finish. But I'm on form right now and that paid off in a nice victory. I am very happy with this," Bos said.

"We dominated here last year and Theo just showed in the Eneco Tour that he's on form," said Rabobank director Nico Verhoeven. "So then you're the top rider of the day and everyone watches you closely. Winning's easier said than done. And Sagan's no pushover. But it worked out. Everyone on the team did his job outstandingly and it all went according to plan. And a podium with Theo at the top, flanked by Sagan and Mark? Now, that's a nice podium."

Bos will now head to the Vattenfall Cyclassic in Hamburg. "I've never ridden the race, but I reckon it'll be a more difficult race than you think," Bos said. "But we've got Michael Matthews on the squad. I think it's a better race for someone like him. But it's all going well for me, and you never know. We'll just have to see on Sunday!"

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Theo Bos (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 4:35:32  
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale    
3 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team    
4 Tom Veelers (Ned) Argos-Shimano    
5 Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
6 Blaz Jarc (Slo) Team NetApp    
7 Frederique Robert (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team    
8 Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
9 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
10 Sven Vandousselaere (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
11 Kenny De Haes (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team    
12 Jonas Ahlstrand (Swe)    
13 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony    
14 Remco Te Brake (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
15 Thomas Vernaeckt (Bel) Geofco - Ville d'Alger    
16 Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
17 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
18 Jesper Asselman (Ned) Raiko Stölting    
19 Alexander Schmitt (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
20 Jacob Fiedler (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
21 Luc Hagenaars (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam    
22 Tom Vermeer (Ned) Nutrixxion Abus    
23 Mats Boeve (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
24 Peter Schulting (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
25 Mike Teunissen (Ned)    
26 René Hooghiemster (Ned) Team NSP - Ghost    
27 Bart Van Haaren (Ned) Koga Cycling Team    
28 Johim Ariesen (Ned) Koga Cycling Team    
29 Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
30 Jim Van Den Berg (Ned) Koga Cycling Team    
31 Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
32 Sean Van De Waeter (Bel) Geofco - Ville d'Alger    
33 Dirk Müller (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
34 Daniel Abraham (Eri) Marco Polo Cycling Team    
35 Eliot Lietaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
36 Jake Tanner (GBr) Geofco - Ville d'Alger    
37 Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
38 Mark Schreurs (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
39 Jasper Ockeloen (Ned)    
40 Artur Ershov (Rus) RusVelo    
41 Daan Meijers (Ned)    
42 Sjoerd Kouwenhoven (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
43 Bert De Backer (Bel) Argos-Shimano    
44 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
45 Steven Lammertink (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
46 Kristijan Koren (Slo) Liquigas-Cannondale    
47 Maarten Neyens (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team 0:00:09  
48 Mehdi Sohrabi (IRI) Lotto Belisol Team    
49 Huub Duyn (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
50 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
51 Roy Curvers (Ned) Argos-Shimano    
52 Wesley Kreder (Ned)    
53 Federico Canuti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:14  
54 Jacek Morajko (Pol) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
55 Yannick Janssen (Ned)    
56 Lars Vierbergen (Ned) Koga Cycling Team 0:00:17  
57 Floris Goesinnen (Ned) Drapac Cycling    
58 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team    
59 Michael Schweizer (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
60 Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
61 Sjors Roosen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
62 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)    
63 Jelle Wallays (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
64 Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:00:19  
65 Juraj Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale    
66 Sebastian Forke (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
67 Jeroen Boelen (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke    
68 Sierk De Haan (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
69 Sergej Fuchs (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
70 James Spragg (GBr) Geofco - Ville d'Alger    
71 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team NetApp    
72 Gaetan Bille (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team    
73 Peter Koning (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam    
74 Dominik Nerz (Ger) Liquigas-Cannondale    
75 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
76 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Argos-Shimano    
77 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:30  
78 Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Team NetApp 0:00:34  
79 Flavio Pasquino (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam 0:00:45  
80 Albert Timmer (Ned) Argos-Shimano 0:01:04  
81 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:01:11  
82 Jurrien Bosters (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam 0:01:18  
83 Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale    
84 Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Team NetApp 0:01:36  
85 Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:01:54  
86 Dries Hollanders (Bel) Metec Continental Cyclingteam 0:01:59  
87 Sven De Weerdt (Bel) Marco Polo Cycling Team    
88 Matt Green (GBr) Marco Polo Cycling Team    
89 Peter Schep (Ned) Koga Cycling Team 0:02:01  
90 Wim Stroetinga (Ned) Koga Cycling Team    
91 Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
92 Rens Te Stroet (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
93 Paul Moerland (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam 0:02:48  
94 Holger Burkhardt (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus 0:03:26  
95 Jonas Vangenechten (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team 0:03:53  
96 Brian Bulgac (Ned) Lotto Belisol Team 0:04:17  
97 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator 0:04:40  
98 Alexey Markov (Rus) RusVelo 0:05:24  
99 Jesper Schipper (Ned) Cyclingteam De Rijke 0:05:40  
100 Sander Oostlander (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
101 Kieran Hambrook (NZl) Marco Polo Cycling Team 0:05:55  
102 Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
103 Matheus Pronk (Ned) Marco Polo Cycling Team 0:06:06  
104 Bram De Kort (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels    
105 Tom Stamsnijder (Ned) Argos-Shimano 0:07:17  
106 Robin Chaigneau (Ned) Koga Cycling Team    
107 Joey Van Rhee (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam    
108 Sven Forberger (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
109 Jonas Schmeiser (Ger) Team NSP - Ghost    
110 André Schulze (Ger) Team NetApp    
111 Chris Bartlett (GBr) Marco Polo Cycling Team 0:10:57  
112 Cameron Karwowski (NZl) Marco Polo Cycling Team    
113 Benjamin Sydlik (Ger) Nutrixxion Abus    
114 Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team    
115 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
116 Quentin Tanis (Fra) Geofco - Ville d'Alger    
117 Dennis Smit (Ned) Metec Continental Cyclingteam    


Related Articles

Back to top