Vos victorious at Durango-Durango Emakumeen Saria

World champion prevails from four-rider break

World champion Marianne Vos (Rabobank Liv/Giant) triumphed at Durango-Durango Emakumeen Saria for the third time in her career today, winning the hilly Basque Country race from a four-rider breakaway. Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) finished second in the same time as Vos while Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-lululemon), fresh off of winning the Philly Cycling Classic on Sunday in the United States, completed the podium in third at two seconds. Elisa Longo Borghini (Hitec Products UCK) finished fourth in the same time as Stevens.

The 113km one-day race in Durango features four laps of a shorter circuit followed by a final large lap of 32km to the northwest which includes two steep climbs, the Alto deo Montekalbo and Alto de Muniketagane, usually decisive in determining the event's outcome. The summit of the final climb, the Alto de Muniketagane, is situated just 9.1km from the finish, with the remainder of the race a technical descent back into Durango.

The peloton hit the penultimate climb of the Alto deo Montekalbo together, but the field soon splintered into multiple groups on the ascent. Longo Borghini was the first across the summit, situated 25.1km from the finish, followed by Stevens and Ashleigh Moolman (Lotto Belisol Ladies) in a lead group of approximately 20 riders.

On the descent and run-in to the Alto de Muniketagane the lead group increased in size to approximately 40 riders, but when the parcours tilted upwards the field split once again.

Midway up the day's final climb, what remained of the peloton shattered under the impetus of Stevens with the front of the race eventually whittled down to six riders: Vos, Johansson, Stevens, Longo Borghini, Moolman and Alena Amialiusik (BePink).

Stevens continued to apply pressure and this front group would cross the Alto de Muniketagane one at a time, with Longo Borghini and Johansson following the Specialized-lululemon rider over the summit.

Vos crested the climb 30 seconds down, but on the technical descent the Dutchwoman would bridge to Stevens, Longo Borghini and Johansson at the head of the race with two kilometres remaining. Moolman had been with the leaders, but a slow puncture caused her to lose contact.

Both Longo Borghini and Stevens would launch solo attacks in the run-in to the finish, but both moves were quickly neutralised. Johansson led-out the sprint, but Vos came around the Swedish rider to claim the Durango-Durango Emakumeen Saria title for the third time in four years.

"I knew I could beat Elisa and Evie in a sprint, so I was focused on how I could beat Marianne," said Johansson. "If I let her jump first, I wouldn't be able to match her acceleration, so I had to open the sprint. I went at the 250 metre mark.

"Maybe I went too early, it's hard to say. Looking back, it's the only thing I might have done differently."

Full Results
1Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant2:56:53 
2Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS  
3Evelyn Stevens (USA) Specialized-lululemon0:00:02 
4Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products UCK  
5Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) Lotto Belisol Ladies0:00:21 
6Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant0:00:28 
7Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon0:00:29 
8Rossella Ratto (Ita) Hitec Products UCK  
9Alena Amialiusik (Blr) BePink  
10Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica-AIS  
11Belen Lopez Morales (Spa) Lointek  
12Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabobank Liv/Giant  
13Lucinda Brand (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant  
14Shara Gillow (Aus) Orica-AIS  
15Francesca Cauz (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
16Anna Sanchis Chafer (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
17Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
18Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
19Jessie Daams (Bel) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
20Noemi Cantele (Ita) BePink0:00:37 
21Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team  
22Amy Pieters (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano0:00:52 
23Megan Guarnier (USA) Rabobank Liv/Giant  
24Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team  
25Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
26Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Orica-AIS  
27Adrie Visser (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
28Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
29Elke Gebhardt (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano  
30Eider Merino Cortazar (Spa) Lointek  
31Marijn De Vries (Ned) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
32Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
33Carlee Taylor (Aus) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
34Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
35Anna Ramirez Bauxel (Spa)  
36Joanne Hogan (Aus) Bizkaia-Durango0:01:21 
37Cecilie Gotaas Johnsen (Nor) Hitec Products UCK0:01:36 
38Jennifer Fiori (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
39Madelene Olsson (Swe) Cramo Go:Green0:03:18 
40Sharon Laws (GBr) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
41Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant0:04:22 
42Christine Majerus (Lux) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team0:05:09 
43Emma Crum (NZl) Lointek0:05:18 
44Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo0:05:20 
45Irene Bitto (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo0:06:20 
46Evelyn Arys (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
47Patricia Schwager (Swi) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team  
48Willeke Knol (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano  
49Sandra Santanyes Murillo (Spa)  
50Irene San Sebastian Lasa (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
51Katie Colclough (GBr) Specialized-lululemon  
52Mayalen Noriega (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
53Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized-lululemon  
54Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
55Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized-lululemon  
56Loren Rowney (Aus) Specialized-lululemon  
57Dorleta Eskamendi Gil (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
58Kaat Hannes (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
59Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team  
60Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) BePink  
61Alexia Muffat (Fra) Lointek  
62Fanny Riberot (Fra) Lointek0:06:42 
63Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Lointek  
64Elena Valentini (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
65Geerike Schreurs (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team  
66Esra Tromp (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano  
67Hanna Nilsson (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
68Sara Mustonen (Swe) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team  
69Annette Edmondson (Aus) Orica-AIS  
70Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Hitec Products UCK  
71Chiara Pierobon (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
72Ana Usabiaga Balerdi (Spa) Lointek  
73Simona Frapporti (Ita) BePink  
74Martine Bras (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
75Jessica Kihlbom (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
76Ainara El Busto Arteaga (Spa)  
77Céline Van Severen (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies0:06:52 
DNFJanneke Kanis (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano  
DNFMaría Solera (Spa)  
DNFAmanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS  
DNFRachel Neylan (Aus) Hitec Products UCK  
DNFMaría Casanova (Spa)  
DNFVeronique Anselmo (Por)  
DNFSandra Antón (Spa)  
DNFAriadna Amaya Martioda (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
DNFDaniela Levi (Isr) BePink  
DNFAlice Algisi (Ita) BePink  
DNFAinhoa Candi (Spa)  
DNFIrati Ochoteco Arlegui (Spa)  
DNFMirella Ehrin (Swe) Cramo Go:Green  
DNFOlatz Ferran Zubilaga (Spa)  
DNFAlba Agudo Sarraga (Spa)  
DNSKelly Markus (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano  
Back to top