Vos nabs first road win of 2013 in Drentse 8

Bronzini, Johansson fill out podium

World Champion Marianne Vos (Rabo Women) claimed her first win of the 2013 road season, on Thursday at Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo, the warm-up to Saturday's first World Cup race.

Vos sprinted ahead of her rivals at the end of the figure-eight course to win easily over Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda) and Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS), the Swede's second consecutive third place this season.

The 141.2km course, heavy with traffic furniture, narrow roads and a cobbled section, was testing for the 180-rider peloton and it was not surprising that a number of crashes marred the race with Ina Teutenberg (Specialized-lululemon) the worst casualty, taken to hospital with facial injuries. Chantal Blaak (Tibco-To The Top) was also hospitalised, but was later cleared of a suspected fractured collarbone. Valentina Scandolara (MCipollini-Giordana) was another non-finisher.

On the final lap of the three, Lauren Kitchen (Rabo Women) Maaike Polspoel (Sengers Ladies) and Ilona Hoeksma (Parkhotel) hit the front of the race but never gained more than 45 seconds, with the teams of Orica-AIS, and Vos controlling the bunch.

Rabo Women sports director Koos Moerenhout was impressed with Vos' victory.


"The course was quite closed," he said. "There was an attack by three riders, but they took no more than forty seconds. That was never dangerous. We knew that we Marianne in the mass sprint. Shortly before the finish there's a cobblestone strip, but the team, especially Megan Guarnier, did very good work."

Having prevailed at last week's Cyprus Sunshine Cup Afxentia mountain bike stage race, Vos clearly had no trouble re-adapting to the road.

"Well, she continues," said Mourenhout. "Cross, mountain bike or on the road. There is nothing she can't do."

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant 3:26:50  
2 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda    
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS    
4 Shelley Olds (USA) Team TIBCO-To The Top    
5 Elena Cecchini (Ita) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team    
6 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Specialized-lululemon    
7 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products UCK    
8 Lucy Garner (GBr) Argos-Shimano    
9 Megan Guarnier (USA) Rabobank Liv/Giant    
10 Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus) RusVelo    
11 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized-lululemon    
12 Kelly Markus (Ned) Argos-Shimano    
13 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) France    
14 Carmen Small (USA) Specialized-lululemon    
15 Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Cyclelive Plus-Zannata    
16 Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
17 Nina Kessler (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
18 Emilie Moberg (Nor) Hitec Products UCK    
19 Laura Van Der Kamp (Ned) Team Polaris    
20 Evelyn Arys (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
21 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Cyclelive Plus-Zannata    
22 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant    
23 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Wiggle Honda    
24 Jade Wilcoxson (USA) US National Team    
25 Kimberly Buyl (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
26 Simona Frapporti (Ita) BePink    
27 Aizhan Zhaparova (Rus) RusVelo    
28 Emily Collins (NZl) Wiggle Honda 0:00:04  
29 Veerle Goossens (Ned)    
30 Roxane Fournier (Fra) France    
31 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Team Polaris    
32 Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) RusVelo    
33 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)    
34 Anouska Koster (Ned) Team Polaris    
35 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Orica-AIS    
36 Ana Bianca Schnitzmeier (Ger) Wiggle Honda    
37 Loren Rowney (Aus) Specialized-lululemon    
38 Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica-AIS 0:00:08  
39 Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team 0:00:09  
40 Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant    
41 Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) Team Polaris 0:00:12  
42 Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team    
43 Lucy Martin (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
44 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Orica-AIS    
45 Claudia Häusler (Ger) Team TIBCO-To The Top    
46 Elena Valentini (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 0:00:17  
47 Geerike Schreurs (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
48 Francesca Cauz (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
49 Jennifer Fiori (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
50 Larisa Pankova (Rus) RusVelo    
51 Daniela Levi (Isr) BePink    
52 Jasmin Glaesser (Can) Team TIBCO-To The Top 0:00:28  
53 Ilona Hoeksma (Ned)    
54 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Rabobank Liv/Giant    
55 Susanna Zorzi (Ita) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team    
56 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
57 Sara Mustonen (Swe) Faren-Let's Go Finland Team    
58 Corine Van Der Zijden (Ned)    
59 Jermaine Post (Ned)    
60 Liisi Rist (Est) S.C. Michela Fanini-Rox    
61 Amélie Rivat (Fra) France    
62 Lotte Van Hoek (Ned)    
63 Edwige Pitel (Fra) S.C. Michela Fanini-Rox    
64 Judith Bloem (Ned)    
65 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Team TIBCO-To The Top    
66 Gabriele Jankute (Ltu) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
67 Lucie Pader (Fra) France    
68 Inge Klep (Ned)    
69 Henriette Woering (Ned)    
70 Sarah-Lena Hofmann (Ger) Team Polaris    
71 Mélanie Bravard (Fra) France    
72 Katsiaryna Barazna (Blr) S.C. Michela Fanini-Rox    
73 Lara Vieceli (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini-Rox    
74 Miriam Bjørnsrud (Nor) Hitec Products UCK    
75 Marissa Otten (Ned) Cyclelive Plus-Zannata    
76 Kim De Baat (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
77 Judith Jelsma (Ned)    
78 Valentina Carretta (Ita) MCipollini Giordana    
79 Tatiana Antoshina (Rus) MCipollini Giordana    
80 Julia Soek (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
81 Aafke Eshuis (Ned)    
82 Annelies Dom (Bel) Cyclelive Plus-Zannata    
83 Irene Bitto (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 0:00:38  
84 Shara Gillow (Aus) Orica-AIS    
85 Samantha Schneider (USA) Team TIBCO-To The Top    
86 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Specialized-lululemon    
87 Martine Bras (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team    
88 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini Giordana 0:01:25  
89 Mayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Wiggle Honda 0:01:28  
90 Winanda Spoor (Ned)    
91 Aagtje Dijkman (Ned) 0:01:31  
92 Natasja Nieuwenhuizen (Ned) 0:03:17  
93 Irene Tesink (Ned) 0:03:19  
94 Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor) Hitec Products UCK 0:03:33  
95 Georgia Williams (NZl) BePink    
96 Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo    
97 Mirthe Wagenaar (Ned) Team Polaris    
98 Silke Kogelman (Ned)    
99 Mireia Epelde Bikendi (Spa) S.C. Michela Fanini-Rox    
100 Esra Tromp (Ned) Argos-Shimano 0:03:36  
101 Latoya Brulee (Bel) Cyclelive Plus-Zannata    
102 Kelly Gambier (Fra) France 0:03:40  
103 Simone Van Der Star (Ned) 0:03:42  
104 Willeke Knol (Ned) Argos-Shimano 0:06:56  
105 Lauren De Crescendo (USA) 0:25:07  

Related Articles

Back to top