Hosking sprints to victory in Drentse 8

Australian out-paces world champion Bronzini, Vos

Chloe Hosking (Specialized-lululemon) won Drentse 8 today in a field sprint victory ahead of reigning world champion Giorgia Bronzini (Diadora - Pasta Zara) and 2011 world championship silver medalist Marianne Vos (Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team).

Hosking's win in the 141.2km Dutch race was the first on European soil for the Specialized-lululemon squad and the 21-year-old Australian was ecstatic with the result.

"The girls were really fantastic today," said Hosking. "I couldn't have asked for more. They were always at the front of the race and covering moves that were going.

"Emilia [Fahlin] and Trixi [Worrack] did such a fantastic job setting me up in the last two kilometres and I'm absolutely stoked to have pulled off the win and delivered after all their hard work."

The world champion and runner-up Giorgia Bronzini's sprint didn't go quite according to plan, but she nonetheless managed to secure a podium finish.

"It was a hectic sprint," said Bronzini. "I was blocked in the crucial moment and then I had to re-start [my sprint]. The team was fantastic, they worked so hard. This is demonstrated by the fact that almost all of us we were in the group that raced to win. It remains a bit of a regret that I could not win, however it was important to demonstrate that the team is highly competitive internationally."

On Saturday, much of the women's peloton that competed in the Drentse 8 will line up for the Ronde van Drenthe, the opening round of the women's World Cup with Marianne Vos returning as the defending champion.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chloe Hosking (Aus) Team Specialized - Lululemon3:41:15 
2Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Diadora - Pasta Zara  
3Marianne Vos (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
4Monia Baccaille (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini  
5Emma Johansson (Swe) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team  
6Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope  
7Belinda Goss (Aus) Abus Nutrixxion  
8Giada Borgato (Ita) Diadora - Pasta Zara  
9Sarah Düster (Ger) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
10Megan Guarnier (USA) Tibco - To The Top  
11Trixi Worrack (Ger) Team Specialized - Lululemon  
12Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Greenedge - Ais  
13Audrey Cordon (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:00:10 
14Romy Kasper (Ger) RusVelo0:00:11 
15Daniela Gass (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion  
16Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
17Julia Martisova (Rus) Be Pink  
18Sharon Laws (GBr) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team  
19Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto  
20Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Diadora - Pasta Zara  
21Emilie Moberg (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team  
22Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Skil 1t4i  
23Alessandra D'ettorre (Ita) Diadora - Pasta Zara  
24Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox  
25Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion  
26Jennifer Purcell (USA) Tibco - To The Top  
27Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini  
28Josien Van Wingerden (Ned) SRAM  
29Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Greenedge - Ais  
30Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Team Specialized - Lululemon  
31Martina Corazza (Ita) Kleo Ladies Team  
32Judith Arndt (Ger) Greenedge - Ais  
33Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) SRAM0:00:16 
34Anna Sanchis Chafer (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango  
35Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam  
36Willeke Knol (Ned)  
37Madeleine Sandig (Ger)  
38Edita Janeliunaite (Ltu) Diadora - Pasta Zara  
39Jennifer Hohl (Swi) Faren Honda Team  
40Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team  
41Julia Soek (Ned)  
42Gloria Presti (Ita) Be Pink  
43Lise Nöstvold (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team  
44Charlotte Becker (Ger) Team Specialized - Lululemon  
45Carmen Mcnellis Small (USA) USA National Team  
46Madeleine Olsson (Swe) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team  
47Marta Bastianelli (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini  
48Marijn De Vries (Ned) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team  
49Kelly Markus (Ned) Skil 1t4i  
50Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne Futuroscope  
51Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Team Specialized - Lululemon  
52Janneke Kanis (Ned) Skil 1t4i  
53Iris Slappendel (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
54Sandra Van Veghel (Ned) SRAM  
55Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team  
56Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team  
57Andrea Dvorak (USA) USA National Team  
58Irina Molicheva (Rus) RusVelo  
59Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini  
60Alessandra Borchi (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini  
61Valentina Carretta (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini0:00:36 
62Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) USA National Team0:01:03 
63Samantha Schneider (USA) Tibco - To The Top0:04:42 
64Agne Silinyte (Ltu) Diadora - Pasta Zara  
65Ashlynn Van Baarle (Ned)  
66Anouska Koster (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam  
67Jessie Daams (Bel) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team  
68Ymke Stegink (Ned)  
69Ilona Hoeksma (Ned)  
70Sione Jongstra (Ned)  
71Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) DPD - Pakketservice  
72Manon Klomp (Ned)  
73Martina Ruzickova (Cze) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox  
74Judith Bloem (Ned)  
75Alina Bondarenko (Rus) RusVelo  
76Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Be Pink  
77Henriette Woering (Ned)  
78Silke Kogelman (Ned)  
79Anne De Wildt (Ned) Skil 1t4i  
80Elena Utrobina (Rus) Faren Honda Team  
81Robin Farina (USA) USA National Team  
82Petra Dijkman (Ned) Kleo Ladies Team  
83Elena Berlato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto  
84Francesca Cauz (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto  
85Jacquelyn Crowell (USA) USA National Team  
86Mélanie Bravard (Fra) Team GSD Gestion  
87Jessie Maclean (Aus) Greenedge - Ais  
88Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux) Kleo Ladies Team  
89Winanda Spoor (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam  
90Marissa Otten (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam  
91Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Faren Honda Team  
92Jennifer Wheeler (USA) Tibco - To The Top  
93Giuseppina Grassi Herrera (Mex) Faren Honda Team  
94Simona Frapporti (Ita) Be Pink  
95Giulia Ronchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto  
96Amélie Rivat (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope  
97Rowena Fry (Aus) Greenedge - Ais  
98Lina-Kristin Schink (Ger) Team GSD Gestion  
99Carlee Taylor (Aus) Vienne Futuroscope  
100Lauren Hall (USA) Tibco - To The Top  
101Nathaly Van Wesdonk (Ned)  
102Amanda Miller (USA) Tibco - To The Top  
103Annalisa Cucinotta (Ita) Kleo Ladies Team  
104Valentina Scandolara (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox  
105Anne Heijkoop (Ned)  
106Martina Thomasson (Swe) DPD - Pakketservice  
107Stephanie Pohl (Ger)  
108Joanne Hogan (Aus) Bizkaia - Durango  
109Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam  
110Marielle Kerste (Ned)  
111Marie Lindberg (Swe) Kleo Ladies Team  
112Evgeniya Romanyuta (Rus) RusVelo  
113Evelyn Arys (Bel) Kleo Ladies Team0:05:19 
114Juliette Wigbold (Ned) SRAM  
115Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
Back to top