Powers dominates Kona rivals

Trebon, Wicks fill the podium

Jeremy Powers (CyclocrossWorld/Cannondale) won the Cyclo Stampede, the opener of this year’s Cincinnati UCI3 Cyclocross Festival, by a wide margin but it was mother nature that provided the real talking point. Off-camber straights and gravity combined with wet conditions to challenge the riders more than their rivals would.

Ryan Trebon (Kona) pronounced the soggy, slippery course to be “burly” and said the one portion of asphalt golf cart path was “terrifying” before the men’s race commenced. That very portion of the course would have a big outcome on the finish of the race.

A lead trio of Powers and Kona team-mates Trebon and Barry Wicks pulled away from the field soon after the start. Danish National Champion Joachim Parbo (CCV Leopard Cycles) meanwhile began a battle with Mark Lalonde (Planet Bike) that would last most of the race.

“It was the kind of race where you just waited for somebody to make a mistake,” said Powers.

Trebon led Powers across the line three laps in, while Wicks had been gapped by about 10 bike lengths. Not long after, on a grass-to-pavement transition, Trebon flatted his front tire and had to run over half a lap. Powers never looked back and Wicks was never able to close the gap. Behind them, Parbo used his immense experience to gut-out a third place.

Full Results

1Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/CycloCrossWorld.com0:58:27 
2Barry Wicks (USA) Kona0:00:17 
3Joachim Parbo (Den) CCV Leopard Cycles0:01:25 
4Mark LaLonde (USA) Planet Bike0:01:50 
5Ryan Trebon (USA) KONA0:02:36 
6Molly Cameron (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio0:04:01 
7Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:05:00 
8Brian Matter (USA) Team Geargrinder0:05:19 
9Greg Wittwer (USA) ALAN North America Cycling Team0:07:22 
10Weston Schempf (USA) C3 Sollay.com/Athletes Serving Athletes0:07:24 
11Ryan Knapp (USA) Panther/RGF p/b Felt Bicycles  
12Dave Weaver (USA) Alan North America Cycling Team  
13Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Sollay.com  
14Mike Sherer (USA) Alderfer Bergen  
15Andrew Messer (USA) DRT Racing  
16Stephen Cummings (USA) Indiana Regional Medical Center  
17Scott McLaughlin (USA) SRAM FACTORY  
18Mitchell Kersting (USA) Rapid Transit Racing  
19Ben Popper (USA) HRS / Rock Lobster  
20Robert Kendall (USA) Barbasol  
21Noah Metzler (USA) Team Globalbike  
22Zachary Edwards (USA) DRT Racing  
23Matthew Weeks (USA) Team Lake Effect  
24Andrew Reardon (USA) Starbrite Carwash / MOAB  
25Michael Kennedy (USA) Barbasol/ Rapid Transit  
26Eric Wondergem (USA) Hup United  
27Joshua Whitmore (USA) Team Globalbike  
28Brandon Jessop (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport  
29Jacob Virostko (USA) BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing  
30Dustin Greer (USA) Ohio Valley Velo/Maxxis  
31Marcus Moran (USA) Bob's Red Mill/Rocky Mountain  
32Katsuhiro Tanda (USA) Team Athens p/b KT Prototype  
Back to top