Modolo sprints to victory at Coppa Agostoni

Italian beats Ponzi and Gatto in Lissone

Sacha Modolo (Colnago-CSF Inox) won the Coppa Agostoni with a well-executed sprint on Wednesday. The young Italian has reaped a rich seam of form in recent weeks, and he had too much for Simone Ponzi (Liquigas-Cannondale) and Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli) in the group finish in Lissone.

Modolo was at the front end of the peloton when the race split on the Madonna del Ghisallo after just 60km, and remained part of the decisive 35-man group which formed in the final 80km. Davide Torasantucci (D'Angelo & Antenucci – Nippo) and Daniel Oss (Liquigas-Cannondale) broke clear in the closing stages of the race, but were swallowed up in the finale, and the scene was set for Modolo’s winning sprint. 

Full Results
1Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox5:01:15 
2Simone Ponzi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
3Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
4Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha Team  
5Simon Clarke (Aus) Pro Team Astana  
6Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale  
7Daniele Ratto (Ita) Geox-TMC  
8Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
9Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
10Michel Kreder (Ned) Team Garmin-Cervelo  
11Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
12Davide Rebellin (Ita) Miche - Guerciotti  
13Fortunato Baliani (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
14Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
15Fabio Taborre (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
16Edoardo Girardi (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
17Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
18Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
19Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Pro Team Astana  
20Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ  
21Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
22Francesco Masciarelli (Ita) Pro Team Astana  
23Egor Silin (Rus) Katusha Team  
24Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
25Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
26Davide Torosantucci (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo0:00:11 
27Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:00:15 
28Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale0:00:17 
29Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:22 
30Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha Team0:00:26 
31Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone0:03:15 
Back to top