Frattini fabulous in Baltimore

Van Gilder stamps her mark on womens race

Sunny skies, dry, fast racing and a technical parcours greeted 1,200 Champion System MAC racers for the Charm City Cross Weekend held at historic Druid Hill Park in the heart of Baltimore, Maryland. The park, one of the oldest in America, is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year, and the Charm City Cross weekend has become one of its largest annual events.

Charm City Cross winners from day one Davide Frattini (Hudz-Suburu) and Laura Van Gilder, of the promoting team C3-Athletes Serving Athletes, looked to repeat their results.

The UCI Men’s race had a very similar story as Davide Frattini (Hudz-Suburu) didn't want to allow the young guns from Cyfac-Champion System in Valentin Scherz and Anthony Grand to hang around too long. Separating himself from the duo, Frattini rode dominantly to claim his second victory in as many days. The Cyfac Champion system teammates worked together holding off the remainder of the field as Scherz took second and Grand took third.

Unlike Saturday, where Van Gilder traded jabs with Team CF's Kristen Gavin for the bulk of UCI Women’s race before gaining the victory, Van Gilder launched from the start like a woman on a mission. She opened a small gap and continued to leverage it to close off with a comfortable win. The battle of the day was for the second spot on the podium as Kristen Gavin outlasted Van Gilder's C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes teammate Arley Kemmerer, who finished third.

Elite men
1Davide Frattini (Ita) Team Hudz/Subaru0:59:42 
2Valentin Scherz (Swi) Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks0:00:35 
3Anthony Grand (Swi) Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks  
4Bryan Fawley (USA) Park Place Dealerships0:00:51 
5Travis Livermon (USA) Mock Orange Racing  
6Ryan Knapp (USA) BikeReg.com0:01:11 
7Jared Nieters (USA) Haymarket Bicycles / SEAVS0:01:22 
8Scott Frederick (USA) Inland Construction  
9Mike Sherer (USA) The Pony Shop0:01:35 
10Alec Donahue (USA) Wheelhouse / NCC  
11Ryan Leach (USA)0:01:56 
12Ryan Dewald (USA) Haymarket Bicycles / SEAVS0:02:05 
13Greg Wittwer (USA) ALAN North America Cycling Team  
14Stephen Cummings (USA) Haymarket Bicycles / SEAVS0:02:17 
15Weston Schempf (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes0:02:21 
16Mitchell Kersting (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Focus Bikes0:03:03 
17Nathan Wyatt (USA) Carolina Fatz pb Industry Nine0:03:07 
18Joshua Snead (USA) Bay 101/HRS/Rock Lobster  
19Aaron O'Dell (USA) Bay 101/HRS/Rock Lobster0:03:54 
20Michael Mihalik (USA) Freddie Fu Cycling Team0:04:27 
21David Weaver (USA) ALAN North America Cycling Team0:04:37 
22Zachary Adams (USA)0:04:48 
23Mukunda Feldman (USA) Wheelhouse / NCC0:05:13 
24Shawn Harshman (USA) Konig Racing pb Harshman Wealth0:05:30 
25Timothy Rugg (USA) Battley Harley-Davidson/Sonoma Restaurant/Teaism0:05:45 
26Patrick Blair (USA) Adventures For the Cure0:06:05 
27Christopher Consorto (USA) Louis Garneau/Team TBB0:06:14 
28Timothy Brown (USA) Battley Harley-Davidson/Sonoma Restaurant/Teaism0:06:45 
29Michael Runnals (USA) JRVS/Casey Auto Group0:06:56 
30Mark Broadwater (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes0:07:14 
31Mike Stubna (USA)0:07:42 
32Matt Spohn (USA) Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks  
33Callum Ingram (USA)  
34Zach Lail (USA) Mock Orange Racing  
35Michael Jenks (USA) Highland Park Hermes p/b Kim's Bike Shop  
36Charles Hanlon (USA) Guy's Racing Club  
37Patrick Bradley (USA) Rutgers University - Raleigh - Kim's Bike Shop  
38David Sommerville (USA) Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks  
Elite women
1Laura Van Gilder (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:36:25 
2Kristin Gavin (USA) Team CF0:00:36 
3Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:00:52 
4Deidre Winfield (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:01:22 
5Nikki Thiemann (USA) Team CF0:01:49 
6Katrina Dowidchuk (USA) Team TBB/Deep Blue0:02:04 
7Erin Silliman (USA) Fruit66/Artemis  
8Lenore Pipes (USA) The Wistar Institute  
9Jennifer Maxwell (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team p/b Sterke Meiden0:02:14 
10Erica Yozell Miller (USA) PAValleys.com0:02:27 
11Frances Morrison (USA) Wheelhouse / NCC0:02:59 
12Kristine Church (USA) Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon0:03:13 
13Lauri Webber (USA) Secret Henry's Team0:03:31 
14Evie Boswell-Vilt (USA) Performance Bicycle Racing0:03:50 
15Emily Shields (USA) Carolina Masters Cycling0:04:04 
16Katherine Shields (USA) Carolina Masters Cycling0:04:15 
17Amy Cutler (USA) Team EPS/CSS p/b Brielle Cyclery0:04:20 
18Patricia Burkle (USA)  
19Elizabeth Harlow (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes0:04:44 
20Cara Applegate (USA) Performance Bicycle Racing0:05:10 
21Lisa Most (USA) Wissahickon/Engin Cycles0:05:30 
22Kathrin Schumacher (USA) Guy's Racing0:05:55 
Back to top