TechPowered By

More tech

UCI Track World Championships 2012

Date range:
April 4- 8, 2012

April 04, Men's Scratch Race: 15km

Swift prevails in men's scratch race

Jane Aubrey
April 04, 2012, 13:24 BST,
April 04, 2012, 16:49 BST

Hoffman dives for silver, Stroetinga takes the bronze

An ecstatic Ben Swift (Great Britain) celebrates his world championship in the scratch race.

An ecstatic Ben Swift (Great Britain) celebrates his world championship in the scratch race.

view thumbnail gallery

Ben Swift won Great Britain's second gold of the opening night of competition, his first ever world title in a gutsy victory in the men's scratch race. Swift held off a late surge by South Africa's Nolan Hoffman to win the men's 15-kilometer scratch race. Wim Stroetinga of the Netherlands finished third.

Swift chased down Austria Andreas Mueller and Italy's Elia Viviano who had surged ahead of the field with seven laps remaining.

With one lap to go, and with his escape companions tiring, Swift surged ahead with a margin just enough to hold off the remnants of the field.

"I knew somebody was going to attack in the finish, and just tried to play it cool and make other people chase. It's definitely the hardest I've ever had to work for a track cycling race," Swift said.

Hoffman explained that his result was somewhat of a breakthrough.

"I've been to all the world cups and I've struggled a bit and I always thought the world champs is going to be hard," Hoffman said.

Scratch Race Finals
1 Ben Swift (Great Britain)    
2 Nolan Hoffman (South Africa)    
3 Wim Stroetinga (Netherlands)    
4 Alex Frame (New Zealand)    
5 Martin Blaha (Czech Republic)    
6 Lucas Liß (Germany)    
7 Sunjae Jang (Korea)    
8 Angel Dario Colla (Argentina)    
9 Pablo Aitor Bernal Rosique (Spain)    
10 Vivien Brisse (France)    
11 Edison Bravo (Chile)    
12 Franco Marvulli (Switzerland)    
13 Pavel Gatskiy (Kazakhstan)    
14 Andreas Mueller (Austria)    
15 Ivan Savitsky (Russian Federation)    
16 Alexander Edmondson (Australia)    
17 Hariff Salleh (Malaysia)    
18 Aliaksandr Lisouski (Belarus)    
19 Moreno De Pauw (Belgium)    
20 Bobby Lea (United States of America)    
21 Elia Viviani (Italy)